We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent space and service!”
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #11 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Not only the artistic space that suits my preferred choice, the service from the front dest to the manager at the front desk was like a gentle breeze that sooths the melting heat of the hot weather. I was arranged to stay at one the only 2 balcony rooms with very spacious and comfortable settings , and the pillow menu was a luxury treat for light sleeper like me, i personally recommend the aloe vera pillow, it makes me doze off in split seconds. For a intimate or even romantic drinking space , there is Halo that provides live band and great varieties of cocktail , spectacular view over looking both the city and the green heritage of Outram and Tiong Bahru area. A great choice for newly weds, young couples or even business travellers that seeks high quality business trip stay at a 5 star boutique hotel!

Room Tip: look out for the local art pieces that was tastefully selected in different space as well as all lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JIUJIAN1MOROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear JIUJIAN1MOROUND,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am very happy to read of your positive experience and appreciate the many compliments you have showered for the hotel facilities and amenities and the team’s service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to WANGZ Hotel should you be around the vicinity.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way back from the UK to Oz and it was a perfect stop-over hotel. It was perfectly located for us as we like to get out and about and explore more than the standard tourist spots; and was also located well for a short walk to the bus stop for the tourist City Tour Bus.
Right from the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome and the reception staff and bellboy were only too happy to assist us with recommendations on things to do and see. Our room was on the sixth floor and although not at the front of the hotel was perfect because it was a bit quieter with street noise. The room itself was clean and fresh and had everything we needed including the free minibar (soft drinks). The room was modern and comfortable. After a short siesta we headed out and made our way around no problem and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The rooftop bar (seventh floor) was very chilled out and has a fabulous cocktail list and live music a couple of nights a week. The bar snacks were also very tasty.
The brekkie is included in the tariff and has loads on offer. The waiting staff (Dianne) was great and very attentive - all our dietary requirements were met. Perfect hotel for short stays and very efficient service. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scozzieaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear scozzieaussie,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and highly recommending our hotel.

We are glad to have met your expectations during your stay and thank you for the many positive comments for the service, hotel design and amenities. It is also great you had an opportunity to enjoy the rooftop lounge and yes, we do offer live music on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Once again, we appreciate your support and all of us at WANGZ Hotel look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A really lovely boutique hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms were well appointed with very comfortable beds. I especially loved the fact that they have installed multi country power outlets. The rain shower is also great. The breakfast buffet was great. There was enough variety to keep everyone happy and I enjoyed the fact that the hot food was changed daily. Bad points (and only minor issues) - there is no pool to take a dip and renew after touring around in the heat and the rooftop bar snacks were not fantastic and a little expensive but I did note that the menu had changed on our last day, including lower prices and it looked a lot better. So keep this in mind. Drinks are much cheaper elsewhere if not drinking during happy hour which runs for four hours. We walked to china town a fair bit whilst there, about 20 minutes and found the location whilst a little out of the way nicely located away from the hustle and bustle. Great place and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Nic H,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. Your compliments for the team’s service and the hotel facilities and breakfast offering are truly appreciated.

On the other hand, I am sorry that the snacks at Halo were disappointing but yes, we have just launched a new tapas menu this week and the feedback received so far has been positive. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay at WANGZ Hotel again and please do try the new items at Halo rooftop lounge when your travels bring you back to Singapore.

We wish you well.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely new, modern Hotel in a peaceful neighbourhood, close to transport, only a short walk away to MRT. Very friendly staff with a personal approach to their guests. Steven at the Nectar restaurant went out of his way to accommodate our needs, Rasa was very attentive and lovely serving at the table and last but not least was Gaya who made my b-day celebration special with a drink voucher for the Halo Bar and the other personnel who send me a birthday cake to the room. Just one thing as a guide to other prospective guests to this hotel I did my google "walk" to find the way to direct the taxi driver as some reviewers mentioned that the drivers did not know their way to it.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor was perfect, quiet no traffic noise despite being on a busy intersection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Barbara W,

Thank you taking time to write this positive review. We are honoured to have you celebrate your special day with us and are glad you went home with many pleasant memories.

Your compliments for the individual team members are much appreciated and all of us look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Singapore in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel, I have never encountered a hotel that was so friendly and the staff so happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible. If you are feeling bored with the large jaded hotel chains please try the wangz it's like a breath of fresh air . The staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble and they always have a smile which is genuine. The rooms are modern with a very comfortable bed and all the normal gadgets including iPod docking station for those of us that like to listen to our own music. Our package included free soft drinks in the mini bar, molton brown goodies and great wifi connection.
On our last day we got a late check out till 8pm which was great for our late flight home. Unfortunately I wasn't feeling well and the staff sent up a lovely fruit basket with their best wishes. Will definetly stay at the Wangz the next time I'm in Singapore .

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Michj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Michj1,

Thank you for singing such high praise for the team’s service in this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation experience in our boutique property and departed with such fond memories. We are also glad to have been able to accommodate your late check-out for a half-day charge to ease your travel arrangements.

All of us at WANGZ Hotel hope you have fully recovered and eagerly look forward to your return visit very soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The second time we have stayed here in transit through Singapore and it was even better than the first time. All the staff, from the porter who took our bags (sorry didn't get the name), Gustin (?) at reception and Rasa (?) at breakfast were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early morning and received apologies that our room was not quite ready! we didn't expect it to be at that time of day. We were offered breakfast while our room was being made ready which was very welcome as I had missed breakfast on the plane from Europe. Gustin kept us informed about our room and when it was ready our luggage was already there. This would never happen in a large hotel where we have often waited over 30 minutes for the bags to arrive in the room. Our room was large and very clean, the bathroom very spacious with toiletries replaced daily and the bed was comfortable. Didn't have any noise issues from the traffic.We were greeted by name each morning as we went to breakfast which was a good selection and very well presented. Rasa always with a smiling face. Also visited the rooftop bar for Happy hour and it was a pleasant place to sit and enjoy a couple of drinks. We really like this hotel because it is small, friendly and more personal that the large chain hotels in the city centre. Only a short walk to the MRT and Chinatown and to the river in the evening where there are plentiful dining options. We didn't have a meal in the restaurant in the evening but intend to do so on our next visit in October. Absolutely recommend this hotel. Good value too as breakfast included in room rate.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babsfromtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear babsfromtas,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again on this return visit to Singapore. I am delighted to hear that this return experience exceeded your last and appreciate your many positive comments for the team’s service and personal touches.

All of us at WANGZ Hotel look forward to your next visit in October. In the meantime, we wish you both well.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I booked Wangz based on the fantastic reviews on this site and also because it was the only hotel that allowed us and our two young children (6 and 3) to stay in one room at no extra charge. Boy did they not disappoint!
We were supposed to spend 2 nights in Singapore in transit to Europe but on the first night my daughter got a raging temperature. We spent the next two days back and forth between the hospital and the hotel and the staff at Wangz could not do enough to assist us. They lent my son (who wasn't sick) the Xbox 360 to keep him entertained while we looked after our daughter and myself (we both had acute ear and sinus infections). As we were unable to fly, our trip was extended by 5 days. There was no issue in extending, no room changes, the staff dealt directly with our insurance to take care of payment, they sent complimentary fruit platters to our room and a get well card. They were incredibly accommodating in catering for my son's fussy eating and went out of their way to interact and chat to all four of us.
My son's birthday was during our stay and we were supposed to spend it with family but now had to try and make his birthday special in Singapore. My son had mentioned he wanted a games console for his birthday and one of the fantastic staff members (Khairi) searched online for the best shop to buy it from and offered to go and get it for us. On his birthday they had a surprise birthday cake with a card signed from all the staff and they made his birthday so special. It was like spending it with family.
I simply cannot speak highly enough of the staff at Wangz. They made our stay immensely pleasurable and relaxing despite the circumstances. They always have a smile on their faces, have a great rapport together and really seem to enjoy their work.
The hotel itself is lovely: boutique and small enough to really have a family feel. The location is fantastic; in the old heritage area of Singapore which is fast becoming fashionable and chic. Right outside the hotel is a strip of restaurants the locals frequent that really comes alive at night and where we ate the best szechuan food we've ever had. The room was always fresh and clean and basically we highly recommend this hotel! A big thank you to all the staff; we all miss you and Luke says he had the best birthday ever thanks to you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ph004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Ph004,

Thank you for sharing this heart warming review. We fully understand the challenges with travelling with young children which escalates significantly should unexpected misfortunes occur. Thus, we made it our duty to render as much assistance as possible when you and your daughter fell ill at the same time.

It has been an honour celebrating your son’s special day with the family and we are especially touched that he will always carry fond memories from this birthday with him. Your generous compliments for the team’s service and rapport are also appreciated and affirm the commitment we, as a boutique hotel, have towards our guests.

We sincerely hope all is well with the entire family and all the staff who meet your family treasure the close bond formed in this short period of time. Looking forward to your next trip back home to WANGZ in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#16 of 317 in Singapore
1,263 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
8,037 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#24 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £107 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing