We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice Hotel, very helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #10 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice Hotel, very helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

My partner and I stayed in this Hotel for one night recently. The staff were friendly, helpful and inviting. Our room on the 3rd floor was somewhat compact as was the bathroom. The fan in the bathroom didn't seem to work and the room filled up with steam. My partner's feet hung over the edge of the bed which, although comfortable, was quite short. The rooms are not overly soundproof. Guests arrivng and leaving via the lifts woke us up as well as the sound of doors closing. Breakfast was o.k. Location is a 15-20 min walk to China Town. As per most Hotels in Singapore, this one was somewhat overpriced. Recommend happy hour at the roof top bar. Nice to get some fresh air, a very welcome change from constant air conditioning!

Room Tip: a room far from the lifts if you don't want to hear other guests coming and going!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear theweather,

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

I am sorry that the fan in your bathroom did not seem to work and have informed the Maintenance team to look into the rooms on the third floor to ensure all fans are in good order.

Due to space constraint in the rooms, our beds are slightly shorter than the standard King-sized beds. However, we do provide a bed extension for taller guests which may be requested through the Front Desk. On a positive note, I am happy to know you enjoyed your experience at our rooftop lounge.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    355
    77
    12
    5
See reviews for
151
615
94
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Everything from the time I checked in until I checked out was perfect. The staff were wonderful and helpful. The rooms were large and very comfortable. Food was never a problem as there were ample amounts of restaurants around the hotel. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Omar F,

Thank you for choosing to stay with WANGZ Hotel during your recent business trip and rewarding us with these positive comments.

It has been our pleasure serving you and all of us look forward to your return visit in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife and I booked the Wangz for our three-day stopover in Singapore and are delighted that we did so. Our room was quiet, despite the traffic passing below, the bed was the most comfortable we encountered during an 18-night holiday and the walk-in shower was simply heavenly. No wonder the hotel staff were smiling whenever they dealt with us... they have plenty to be happy about. Everyone seemed pleased to help us, whether it was booking a taxi, offering advice on places to go or just asking what we would like for breakfast. The Wangz is ideally situated about 5 mins from Outram Park MRT station and a 15-minute walk from Chinatown. Taxis were cheap, the metro efficient, but we still chose to walk everywhere... much to the smiling amusement of the staff. Down side? Well the hotel looks from the outside like an inverted waste bin. Appearances can be deceptive!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear FunkyAl,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am happy you enjoyed the hotel facilities and amenities. The staff are also honoured to read of your generous compliments on their constant smiles and friendly assistance.

It has been a pleasure having you and your husband with us recently and All of us at WANGZ Hotel look forward to your return visit soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here on our way home from Perth. Due to a late alteration in our flight we arrived much too early for check in but the staff couldn't have been nicer. Our luggage was whisked away to be placed in our room when ready and we were encouraged to avail of breakfast and given a map of the local area to explore while waiting for room. We returned at 12 to find room ready, luggage sent up and soothing music on stereo system. Our room was perfect with the quietest air con I've ever come across. Modern with beautiful bathroom and toiletries. Our room was turned over every day which was fabulous - the place felt cool and fresh after the heat of Singapore.
Breakfast was fabulous - loads of choice, fresh tea and coffee ad lib. One thing which really impressed me was the fact that breakfast was available at 5.45 am the morning we checked out. We had asked for a taxi for 6 and it was ready when we went to checkout at 5.40. The hotel staff insisted that we sit and have breakfast which really made a huge difference given that we were facing into a 13 hour flight. It was such a lovely civilised start to what could have been a stressful morning. Top marks to Wangz here.
We headed to the rooftop bar twice - fabulous views, helpful staff who pointed out the special offers. We availed of the tapas menu one night - very generous portion of wedges went well with chicken skewers. The one for one drinks offer made this a very reasonably priced end to our day!
We were very pleased with the location - just five minutes from Outram underground station which allowed us very easy access to everywhere we wanted to go. A three day pass for underground (this also covers bus) for $30 each allowed us to hop on the train as often as we liked - the tap and go card was a dream to use - very quick and so handy not to have to buy ticket every time we used the train.
Overall Wangz Hotel was perfect - well done to every member of staff that we met. They were unfailingly helpful and friendly while maintaining the highest standard of service. I would love to go back and will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Singapore.

Room Tip: The higher the better to avail of views over city. Lift is quiet and quick and we never had to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear May S,

Thank you for taking time to write this detailed review and showering the team with so many compliments and affirming their high level of service. I am glad you enjoyed both the room ambience and the experience at our rooftop lounge.

Additionally, it was wonderful you had an opportunity to explore the neighbouring area on your arrival morning and kudos for travelling around the city like a true-blue local! The Breakfast Chef Steven appreciates your acknowledgment for his effort in preparing a simple breakfast upon your early departure, knowing a long flight was ahead.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel and all of us look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I booked Wangz hotel under its staycation package "Wake up with Wangz." Although the stay was short, but it was truly rejuvenating, the rooms were clean and modernized plus there was ample space to walk about for a boutique hotel. The package had also offered complimentary breakfast and a high tea set which included a few pieces of sweet and savoury. Though it was not much but it was perfect for a staycation and definitely worth the value! However, a slight disappointing point was that the room were not sound-proofed, we stayed on the highest floor and noises from the bar above could be heard. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and would come back again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruipingsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Ruipingsoh,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on our new weekend staycation package. We are encouraged that you enjoyed the overall experience together with the complimentary afternoon tea set amongst other inclusions in this package.

I am sorry you encountered noise disturbances from the rooftop lounge and will remind the F&B team to maintain volumes within a certain level during the night.

Once again, we appreciate your support and hope to welcome you and your friends back to WANGZ Hotel in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Small but really nice boutique hotel. I stayed at Canopy room. When i entered the room, there was a music that really made me relax. For me, the best part of staying at Wangz was their bath salt toiletries. The aroma of Bein Douche Marin Tonifiant was really nice and relaxing. The breakfast also really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevy_elysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear nevy_elysa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you had an opportunity to relax despite this being a business trip and appreciate your compliments for the design and Molton Brown bath amenities provided.

All of us at WANGZ Hotel hope to welcome you back again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wangz Hotel may be slightly strangely-named, but there's nothing strange about the nicely-appointed rooms or wonderful location in the middle of a nostalgic area. I booked a canopy room with my husband for a weekend staycation in July and the room was beautiful - done up in a modern style with ingenious lighting and decorating choices. The room was also larger than the typical hotel room, and boasts a really comfortable bed - one of the most important things about hotel rooms for me. There's not much of a view, but once you're out of the hotel and start to walk around you realise you're in the heart of one of Singapore's most lovely and historic estates.

The hotel is right next to the famous Tiong Bahru Pau shop and in front of the Tiong Bahru Market, as well as walking distance from Yong Siak Street and Seng Poh Lane, both full of interesting cafes, new hipster shops and gorgeous old flats that have been preserved. Take a pamphlet on Tiong Bahru from the hotel reception and go have a walk around all the old neighbourhoods, get something delicious to eat at Tiong Bahru Market and enjoy the sights. It's really old and new Singapore rolled into one estate and it's beautiful.

The hotel's service was really good and attentive - staff are clearly well-trained if a little frazzled during breakfast [but supervisors and older staff are admirable in their service]. It's not particularly cheap [cheaper if I'd chosen one of the more normal/smaller rooms] but it won't break the bank and I think it's worth it to use as a base to explore a part of Singapore that you may not have the chance or time to do unless you live somewhere nearby, or [if you're a tourist] your guidebooks eschew the normal tourist attractions and focus on the heartlands. The hotel provides a helpful map to guide you around the area as the many small roads can get a little confusing. A good experience I would recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Choose the canopy room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Helen S,

Thank you for taking time to write this detailed review. I am very happy to know you and your husband had an enjoyable weekend getaway and took the opportunity to explore the rich heritage, food haven and unique charm of Tiong Bahru. It is definitely a neighbourhood we have grown even fonder of over the years and we do agree - a highly recommended area for tourists to explore.

Your compliments for the sleep experience, service and overall ambience of the hotel are also appreciated. We will review your feedback to ensure consistent service standards for all staff to deliver a perfect experience to our guests.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel and all of us look forward to your return visit in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#11 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,865 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#12 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Property: Wangz Hotel
Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing