We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
klapsons, The Boutique Hotel
Ranked #181 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice, but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, well informed and helpful. Also changing of the room was not a problem. But it is obviously that the rooms need a renovation. Maybe they were stylish 3 years ago, but now the management should think of a improvement (shower with mildow, iphone4-radio...)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank michi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I have shared your kind words with our staff and they are extremely happy they made your stay a memorable one. We will also look into more improvements to make your future stays more pleasant. Once again, thank you for choosing klapsons & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    64
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
6
72
23
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very chic hotel. Nice and helpful staff. We had an executive suite on the second floor with a balcony. Love that room but wifi signal was weak. And It was a little noisy but it's ok. The air conditioning is very cold and we couldn't figure out how to adjust it properly. Located near tanjong pagar MRT station and the area is close to many adorable restaurant and Chinatown. It's also very close to many office buildings. We are very happy with the stay. However it would be nice to have other hotel facility such as fitness room, sauna, swimming pool, etc. that were not available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It is extremely encouraging when guests acknowledge the good work of our team & that we made your stay a memorable one. All of us at klapsons are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel is located out of city centre but only 5 min walk to nearest metro station and 10 min walk to the start of china town. The rooms are great, but a bit of style over substance and they can be noisy There is lack of info at the hotel, ie no info on meal times or where the bar is (17th floor access via car park and closed on Sat and Sun). The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your kind compliments. I have shared your valuable feedback with our team and we will work harder to meet your expectations. Once again, thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel decor with the silver ball in the lobby gave a good first impression. As mentioned by others the hotel was well situated in a central location within the business district. Shortly after the check-in, there was a strong scent of cooking and food in the Suite. It was rather disappointing but the housekeeping responded positively with their prompt attention to our concerns. There was a note on the fridge indicating that the hotel provide sandwiches on the house during wee hours. To our disappointment, the reception staff told us otherwise and there would be a room service charge on top of the sandwiches. We felt the hotel should take note and improve on the finer details such as providing two bottles of mineral water, wider selection of food during breakfast and to correct the misleading perception of the free sandwiches.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zlifeisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for your compliments. All of us at klapsons are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your feedback & will further improve ourselves to meet your expectations. With regards to the late night snacks, our hotel does provide complimentary milk & cookies or a hot bowl of noodles after our f & b outlets are closed for the day. Your kind suggestion of including sandwiches is a fantastic one & we will definitely consider that option. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

It was a last minute booking to klapsons hotel on my birthday. The hotel room is beyond my expectation. Love the coffee machine in the room and this hotel is kinky to the maximum, a shower see through cyclinder right in the middle of the room with spotlight on top. So its really recommended for couples that just want to have an intimate staycation.

The bed and the pillows are so comfy and they give out colgate brand of toothbrush and toothbrush. I had a slice of birthday cake and complimetary late check out at 2pm. Definitely a place if u just wanna chill out and have movie night for a staycation. Its right at tanjong pagar about 10 minutes walk from the mrt station and about 20 mins to cityhall by foot. Breakfast is minimum but filling.

Staffs were friendly and the receptionist even brought us up into the room personally.

Pricing wise abit on the high side, but expectant, its singapore afterall. Do not have very high expectation on this hotel for the cost that you pay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfileen1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for the positive comments. All of us at klapsons are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy Birthday from all of us at klapsons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed here twice on business with a short trip to KL in between visits, one two night stay was from a Kayak.com/Hotels.com booking and another stay from Jetsetter.com. During my initial stay where I arrived in the morning from a red-eye flight, the shower hot water did not work, after taking a cold shower water would somehow leak and wet the hallway carpet floor, and the AC fan had a loud whine -- later, I had to sleep with it off. I spoke with the staff who apologized for the problems. Maintenance wasn't able to resolve anything while I was at work either of the two nights. During my second stay I was in a nicer larger room, the hot water was working and the AC didn't make any noise in this room. However, water from a shower also leaked the hallway carpet in this room too. After wetting a few pairs of socks I learned to walk barefoot or wear shoes. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was good throughout. The service staff in the restaurant were excellent and most of the hotel staff is nice as well but one of the hotel managers has a bit of an attitude.

CHECK YOUR CREDIT CARD STATEMENTS FOR A FEW MONTHS AFTER YOU STAY WITH THEM. Over a month after my stay, they erroneously billed my credit card for the first stay (which was already paid via Kayak.com/Hotels.com directly) using the corporate credit card I provided for incidentals. The issue is pending. I'm not overly concerned as I have saved my receipts and credit card statements, but I want to let others know to be careful in dealing with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We have noted your feedback & will further improve ourselves to meet your expectations & make your stay the most memorable one. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

the room had quite a number of issue, air-con not working right, the shower would leak through onto the carpet. when we first checked in, i found stains on the bed and a hair-clip(didn't do a proper clean up??)

breakfast was really a disappointing experience. little choices with even lesser amount left to pick off. Breakfast timing was 7am - 11am. We got there at 9.45 and was only presented with a buffet consisting of 6 piece of cheese , 3 slices ham, 4 sasuages, 5 hard boil eggs and a small fruits platter(or at least what's left of it) . oh did i mention, this was for the entire breakfast crowd. now just for me....... The rest(basic toast bread, fruit juice) was also looking like they could really use a re-fill. i waited for 30 mins, hoping they would re-fill on the food as i was looking forward for a good breakfast. at 10.30am, still no re-fill was done. i felt bad for the guy who walked in at 10.38 and was offered just a selection of bread, butter, juices and fruits. so much for a buffet....

nevertheless, the counter staff was friendly. but i would highly recommend people to look else where for the price.

Room Tip: somewhere else would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exojaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klapsons_Gilbert, Manager at klapsons, The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. At klapsons, we're always listening & I have shared your comments with the respective teams so we can make your future stay with us a more memorable one. If you’d like to contact me directly, I am most glad to receive your call. Once again, thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Majestic Hotel
#90 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#95 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#171 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to klapsons, The Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about klapsons, The Boutique Hotel

Property: klapsons, The Boutique Hotel
Address: 15 Hoe Chang Road | #01-01 Tower 15, Singapore 089316, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — klapsons, The Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the southern fringe of the Central Business District, klapsons, The Boutique Hotel affords quiet sophistication, refined luxury and functionality. Passionately crafted by William Sawaya of contemporary design forerunner Sawaya & Moroni, guests luxuriate in a practical yet innovative alternative to mainstream perceptions of a hotel stay. Each guestroom is individually characterised such that no two rooms are alike. Boasting over 750sqm of event space with superlative views of the Singapore Port and the heritage of the Tanjong Pagar residential estate, klapsons is the first boutique hotel in Singapore to offer three intimate yet distinct venues for corporate seminars, meetings, social engagements and weddings.The Sleeping Rhino is the hotel's bistro-styled restaurant that conjures wholesome casual dining at Lobby Level; Lucas Deli serves up gourmet and takeaway bites; while the sky-terrace bar, Fabrika, perched on 17th floor was opened in August 2010. To ensure that we continuously provide a pleasant environment for all our guest, the hotel reserve the right to levy a surcharge for any gatherings consisting of more than two person per guest room without further notice. External food and drinks are not permitted within the hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your klapsons, The Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klapsons, The Boutique Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing