We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed for Raffles and access to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #126 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is the third hotel we have stayed in in Singapore,cheaper than TheQuincy and almost the same price as Grand Copthorne Waterfront..it's position on the Padang makes it an easy stroll to Raffles,Raffles City,MRT and into the city,especially Boat Quay.We had to direct the taxi driver from he airport and he did deduct the cost of his missing the turn in and going round the roads twice.As an extension of an historic building our room had great city skyline views...rooms 313 to 326 have this view...the room was compact,the shower area situated three steps higher than the room floor...careful during nihtime visits!....breakfast was a massive disappointment,held in the swimming pool area,not much more than a cafe bar with redundant gaming machines sitting sadly in the corner,poor selection,rarely refilled,coffee machine temperamental,plastic plates...just depressing....hardly set me alight to go out in the city.....the club retains a large local membership so losing a hotel feel in lieu of a sports club/gym atmosphere....we really wished,after going on the cruise later,that e had gone to Copthorne from the start....comparable price,massive rooms,proper breakfasts....oh well,we learn by our mistakes

Room Tip: Rooms 313to 326 face The Padang. Others face a busy rod
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel and really liked if for numerous reasons. Firstly, it was small (27 rooms or so) very personal and more importantly, very quiet , an oasis in a busy city. Very well situated overlooking a lovely big park so you did not feel like you were smothered in a concrete jungle and what was so nice was your room opens out onto a communal terrace which I had read in a review a customer did not like because anyone could walk past your roo. This was no problem at all, in our time there we only saw 2 other people sitting quietly outside their own room and we enjoyed the views and outdoor space both nights after touring the city. The buffet breakfast was great and suits both the european and local tastebuds! We will definitely pick this hotel to stay in should we return to Singapore! Bar prices were so much more affordable than other establishments in the area!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park and cricket ground are peacful, others face busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is in a perfect location, very close to restaurants, shopping, sights and most importantly the MRT. The hotel can be easily missed but has to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed and is value for money. We arrived very early with a young baby and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They arranged an early check in and a baby cot in our room within minutes - this was fantastic as our little man was definitely ready for a nap. The room and bathroom were spacious, plenty of room to leave our buggy and cases. The room, service, facilties and breakfast exceeded all our expectations. This is a little hidden gem that could be missed, we would definitely recommend to our friends and family and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rupa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Previous reviews on this site convinced me to book and stay at this hotel. It was really very good! I've stayed in Singapore many times but this was the best experience I have had and I think one of the key factors is the warmth of the staff. They were all very personable, helpful, and warm. The hotel itself is small, just one level of the recreation club's building. Also the reception is on level 3, not the entry level. But none of these things are really important when you think of the great central location, the reasonable (for Singapore) cost, and the ability to use all the club's facilities (swimming pool, 10-pin bowling, cafes and bars). My kids loved the pool and the breakfast buffet, and after a day out sightseeing we often ate at the excellent poolside cafe rather than have to go out again for dinner. The meals were decent and cheap. It's worth bearing in mind that if you wish to use the club facilities on levels 1 and 2 there is a dress code in place. No such dress code for the other floors though. Nice clean rooms, and very close to the City Hall MRT station. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This place seems to be a well kept secret so I'm glad I found it on Tripadvisor. Its not a hotel as such, you stay in rooms on the top floor of what I can only describe as a private club. When you first walk in, especially if you're a bit crumpled and jet-lagged like we were, it is a bit intimidating. However, despite the dress code in the rest of the club or any discomfort you might have with the exclusivity, it is worth it!

The rooms are lovely, very clean and comfortable. Ours overlooked the Padang, so we had a great view of the surrounding colonial district. Its not too far to alot of the main tourist attractions and there is an MRT station over the road. Also, in the basement there is a swimming pool and jacuzzi. So nice to go for a swim after a sticky day sightseeing! The breakfast was nice too, good range and you could even pick what kinds of eggs you wanted (omelette, scrambled etc.) The price is good too, still expensive but a bit of a bargain compared to some other accommodation in Singapore.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The residence is a little hidden gem in a perfect location, there are so many hotels to choose from in Singapore it is difficult to pick one unless you have been before. My partner and I stopped over for 2 nights on our way back from Lombok, we arrived late and caught the MRT from the Airport which was really easy and very safe, the hotel is right opposite the MRT station at City Hall, they only have a few rooms but they were clean , spacious and ours had a great view of the Singapore skyline, I would defiantly stay there again, great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I have to say, i almost feel reluctant to write a review, as I would love this hotel to be my secret place in Singapore...
Ok, bad things first. I hate CLUBS, British Clubs, and their snobby feeling. And certainly when you get to the reception, you are very tempted to walk out. It's super outdated, super in need of some tidying up and it really feels like you landed in a true nightmare place. But how come then everybody loves this place?
Simple: the rooms are amazing. they are very clean, very spacious, and quite modern. The water from the shower actually works!!!
And secondly, the location. It's not far from the airport, it's not far from the city. It's right where you want to be if you like shopping. At least, it's where I shop when in Singapore and it's very easy to get to.
Basically, close your eyes, till you are inside the bedroom. Would stay always there!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank satori99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#45 of 317 in Singapore
6,313 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
8,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Singapore
#103 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing