We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in fantstic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #118 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on 17 & 18 February. Selected the hotel based on other reviews on tripadvisor. Surpassed our expectations. Location is brilliant. Central to everything. 1 block from Raffles. 2 blocks front riverfront. Easy walk to Marina bay and only 2 minutes from MRT station. Hotel room was very nice with view to Singapore cricket club so green outlook with good city views. Rates were good value (around A$195 on Agoda.com). Breakfast included was also a good meal. Will definitely go back nexy time in Singapore.

Room Tip: Ask for city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Great place to stay, small hotel that is part of the sports club. Only has about 20 rooms so you won't get lost.

Food was good though the resturant felt a bit drab - not a problem though as I spent all my time sight seeing

Main benefit is the location and price are excellent. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Acwtall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed here from 4 - 7 February 2012, and had a lovely room, which was well-serviced, clean and welcoming. The staff were lovely, and couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The only downside is the area where the breakfast is served: adjacent to the swimming pool, and really smelling of chlorine. The room really could do with a refit, or just a repositioning as it spoils the breakfast. Other than that, a really lovely hotel, and excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Claire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is the third hotel we have stayed in in Singapore,cheaper than TheQuincy and almost the same price as Grand Copthorne Waterfront..it's position on the Padang makes it an easy stroll to Raffles,Raffles City,MRT and into the city,especially Boat Quay.We had to direct the taxi driver from he airport and he did deduct the cost of his missing the turn in and going round the roads twice.As an extension of an historic building our room had great city skyline views...rooms 313 to 326 have this view...the room was compact,the shower area situated three steps higher than the room floor...careful during nihtime visits!....breakfast was a massive disappointment,held in the swimming pool area,not much more than a cafe bar with redundant gaming machines sitting sadly in the corner,poor selection,rarely refilled,coffee machine temperamental,plastic plates...just depressing....hardly set me alight to go out in the city.....the club retains a large local membership so losing a hotel feel in lieu of a sports club/gym atmosphere....we really wished,after going on the cruise later,that e had gone to Copthorne from the start....comparable price,massive rooms,proper breakfasts....oh well,we learn by our mistakes

Room Tip: Rooms 313to 326 face The Padang. Others face a busy rod
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel and really liked if for numerous reasons. Firstly, it was small (27 rooms or so) very personal and more importantly, very quiet , an oasis in a busy city. Very well situated overlooking a lovely big park so you did not feel like you were smothered in a concrete jungle and what was so nice was your room opens out onto a communal terrace which I had read in a review a customer did not like because anyone could walk past your roo. This was no problem at all, in our time there we only saw 2 other people sitting quietly outside their own room and we enjoyed the views and outdoor space both nights after touring the city. The buffet breakfast was great and suits both the european and local tastebuds! We will definitely pick this hotel to stay in should we return to Singapore! Bar prices were so much more affordable than other establishments in the area!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park and cricket ground are peacful, others face busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is in a perfect location, very close to restaurants, shopping, sights and most importantly the MRT. The hotel can be easily missed but has to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed and is value for money. We arrived very early with a young baby and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They arranged an early check in and a baby cot in our room within minutes - this was fantastic as our little man was definitely ready for a nap. The room and bathroom were spacious, plenty of room to leave our buggy and cases. The room, service, facilties and breakfast exceeded all our expectations. This is a little hidden gem that could be missed, we would definitely recommend to our friends and family and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rupa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Previous reviews on this site convinced me to book and stay at this hotel. It was really very good! I've stayed in Singapore many times but this was the best experience I have had and I think one of the key factors is the warmth of the staff. They were all very personable, helpful, and warm. The hotel itself is small, just one level of the recreation club's building. Also the reception is on level 3, not the entry level. But none of these things are really important when you think of the great central location, the reasonable (for Singapore) cost, and the ability to use all the club's facilities (swimming pool, 10-pin bowling, cafes and bars). My kids loved the pool and the breakfast buffet, and after a day out sightseeing we often ate at the excellent poolside cafe rather than have to go out again for dinner. The meals were decent and cheap. It's worth bearing in mind that if you wish to use the club facilities on levels 1 and 2 there is a dress code in place. No such dress code for the other floors though. Nice clean rooms, and very close to the City Hall MRT station. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#133 of 319 in Singapore
590 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#47 of 319 in Singapore
6,133 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#39 of 319 in Singapore
22,996 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 319 in Singapore
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#97 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing