We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located 'Boutique' hotel in the heart of Singapore and yards from some of the best locations in the city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #116 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Residence is actually located on the top floor (3rd) of the Singapore Recreation Club which is on the Padang with the Singapore Cricket Club at the other end. The Club is also in the middle of the F1 circuit when the grand prix is on and the lights for the race , held in September, are already being erected (June14).
The hotel has 26 smallish rooms , with a 4 of them a little larger than average being called premier rooms or suites.
The hotel is part of a club, and that is important as the hotel works around the club and its members so quiet often facilities maybe ‘booked’ for functions by members.
Has a Chinese restaurant on site (didn’t use it as there are 1000’s in the city) as well as the poolside cafe (in the basement) which is used for all other meals. Cafe is just that, a cafe and has a well presented but limited range of food available and is also the pace for breakfast.
Barkers is the club bar / lounge and can be a bit hit and miss although it does have great prices with a beer at S$8 and a Gin Sling at S$13 as well (its $32 at Raffles two blocks away!) as the full range of bar drinks and cocktails. Entertainment is provided via a 3 piece live band on certain nights of the week although not on the weekend .
Service is very good and the staff are really helpful and approachable. Duncan (Hotel Manager) is very helpful and always on hand for any little problems that crop up and his staff are great.
Bear in mind, this is a hotel built as an add on to a sports club established in 1883, it’s not a "Brass and Glass Palace" and there are loads of those around Singapore. If thats what you are looking for the residence is not for you. If you want a small intimate central location with loads of history great facilities (Pool, Serious exercise room, field sports and more) and good prices (for Singapore) then this is a great venue with a central location.
City Hall MRT is 50 m away and lets you whizz around Singapore for a few dollars. Clarke Quay is two stops and S$1.30…can’t fault that…or you could walk it in 20 mins although you’ll need to think about taking a clean shirt with you as its very humid here for walking about!
Raffles City , likewise is 50M away and full of food places in the basement and every type of shopping in the Mall…and I mean every type…LV, Rolex, etc.. etc… as well as the other ‘normal everyday’ stores over about 5 floors.
Decor is a little dated although Duncan assures me that a refurb is planned for October (post F1).
One final note, like any club there are the odd few club members who aren’t always ‘friendly’. I encountered a couple of ‘grouches’ in the bar one night who were very loud even though the band was playing but then you do get these types world over…just be aware. By and large most of the users of the bar are members and friendly and most hotel guests are out and about jn the 1000’s of bars and food locations in the city so its not really an issue.
I was there for 12 days and enjoyed the location while attending 2 conferences. It has great rates, good wifi that is free and fast, it has great bar prices and plenty of underground parking if you have a car (most don’t) and if you’re heading here for the F1…this is the place!

Room Tip: Hotel is well located but book one of the larger premier rooms (also called suites but they are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srcsingapore, Manager at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Duncan Roberts
The Residence @ SRC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Residence is actually located on the top floor (3rd) of the Singapore Recreation Club which is on the Padang with the Singapore Cricket Club at the other end. The Club is also in the middle of the F1 circuit when the grand prix is on and the lights for the race , held in September, are already being erected (June14).
The hotel has 26 smallish rooms , with a 4 of them a little larger than average being called premier rooms or suites.
The hotel is part of a club, and that is important as the hotel works around the club and its members so quiet often facilities maybe ‘booked’ for functions by members.
Has a Chinese restaurant on site (didn’t use it as there are 1000’s in the city) as well as the poolside cafe (in the basement) which is used for all other meals. Cafe is just that, a cafe and has a well presented but limited range of food available.
Barkers is the club bar / lounge and can be a bit hit and miss although it does have great process with a beer at S$8 and a Gin Sling at S$13 as well (its $32 at Raffles two blocks away!) as the full range of bar drinks and cocktails. Entertainment is provided via a 3 piece live band on certain nights of the week although not on the weekend .
Service is very good and the staff are really helpful and approachable. Duncan (Hotel Manager) is very helpful and always on hand for any little problems that crop up and his staff are great.
Bear in mind, this is a hotel built as an add on to a sports club established in 1883, it’s not a "Brass and Glass Palace" and there are loads of those around Singapore. If thats what you are looking for the residence is not for you. If you want a small intimate central location with loads of history great facilities (Pool, Serious exercise room, field sports and more) and good prices (for Singapore) then this is a great venue with a central location.
City Hall MRT is 50 m away and lets you whizz around Singapore for a few dollars. Clarke Quay is two stops and S$1.30…can’t fault that…or you could walk it in 20 mins although you’ll need to think about taking a clean shirt with you as its very humid here for walking about!
Raffles City , likewise is 50M away and full of food places in the basement and every type of shopping in the Mall…and I mean every type…LV, Rolex, etc.. etc… as well as the other ‘normal everyday’ stores over about 5 floors.
Decor is a little dated although Duncan assures me that a refurb is planned for October (post F1).
One final note, like any club there are the odd few club members who aren’t always ‘friendly’. I encountered a couple of ‘grouches’ in the bar one night who were very loud even though the band was playing but then you do get these types world over…just be aware. By and large most of the users of the bar are members and friendly and most hotel guests are out and about jn the 1000’s of bars and food locations in the city so its not really an issue.
I was there for 12 days and enjoyed the location while attending 2 conferences. It has great rates, good wifi that is free and fast, it has great bar prices and plenty of underground parking if you have a car (most don’t) and if you’re heading here for the F1…this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for the larger premier rooms or suites overlong the Padang (Cricket Green). These are more like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srcsingapore, Manager at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Duncan Roberts
The Residence @ SRC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Due to our early arrival into Changi Airport, 1:40a.m. from the U.S., it is best to go to the taxi queue and pay S$25 than wait for a while for the S$9pp shuttle to take to the Residence. You have to wait until the shuttle fills up and you might not all go to the same areas and could be dropped off 1st or last. Let your taxi driver know you need to be dropped off at the "SRC," Singapore Recreation Club, not "Cricket Club," which is on the opposite end of the field. Tipping the driver is not required, but he took us quickly to the SRC, so a couple S$ is appreciated once you get to the SRC.

When you get there, there is a door bell you can ring to have the security let you in, but the door was unlocked when the security met us at the door. Go to the elevator and go to the 3rd floor. The elevator is clearly marked what is at the SRC. Exit elevator and you'll see the front desk on the right. The front desk person was informative and nice, which was great after traveling 30+ hours. However, the front desk doesn't have all the beverages cold that are displayed for purchase. We opted to get soda, wine and beer at the 7-11 down at the MRT and stock our fridge.

Our room was attached to the shared balcony, which was nice to hang out on and watch the games, check out the city skyline or chill and have a drink. We used the fridge for our food/drinks and used the in room safe. It was modern and clean, but they need to fix the cracks on the wall and provide face towels. There's a station behind the t.v. that has a USB port, if you need to charge your phones so don't forget to bring that cable. There's also an I-Pod docking station as well. A tea/coffee kettle is provided and 2 complimentary water bottles. The bathroom is covered by frosted glass. Be aware that there are shades in the shower to put up/down for modesty's sake because you can be seen from the bedroom. There were a couple of tiny flying insects in the shower. They stayed in the upper corner of the shower and didn't bother us. You can hear everything in the hall from your room. The maid service does hit the floor running at 8a.m.. Some reviewed that the walls are thin, but we didn't hear anyone, just people who were on the shared balcony. We did go to breakfast at the Pool Cafe and it did smell of chlorine. We didn't mind. They had an espresso/coffee machine, juice and hot tea. If you don't like boiled eggs, you can request any eggs your way. Many guests had a poached egg on dry toast or egg whites. Must have been the Herbal life convention going on in the city. We liked the variety of western style and asian/indian style breakfast served. When our water bottles were empty, I went to the gym next the the Pool Cafe and refilled them at the water cooler after breakfast for our trek in the hot and humid city. For S$4/ hour, we tried the Billiards Room. It was fun listening to the locals. If you have time to explore the city before you leave for the Changi airport, you leave your luggage by the front desk and they give you a luggage ticket to turn in once you get back. Everybody at The Residence and SRC were friendly and professional.

Location was great. MRT's- City Hall, Esplanade and Raffles City in walking distance. AND they are all connected underground. A miniature city with shops, restaurants, etc.. Try the Sushi Express. Fun experience and all selections are S$1.50 each! My husband and I ate good sushi/salad and had green tea for S$15! With Singapore being very expensive, such a deal. Also, go to the food courts and hawker food centers. Good variety. We walked everywhere. Just hydrate and be aware of the weather. Storms pop up.

Room Tip: Request a room with the shared balcony. Great to take in the sights. Be aware that all outside areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Passport07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srcsingapore, Senior Sales and Marketing Executive at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel/rooms are on the 3rd floor of this old colonial building. The rooms are spacious and refurbished with modern facilities. Its the location of the building, its all within walking distances to shopping areas, MRT.

Room Tip: Not much to choose from, only has abvout 26 rooms all within the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WFun1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srcsingapore, Senior Sales and Marketing Executive at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is not a typical hotel but rather a special type of club. It is reminiscent of a mix of old style country club mixed with olde English pub. But along with these styles are a very modern gym and indoor pool. Altogether a very interesting mix and the club has a fascinating history.
The Singapore Sling served in the traditional bar was really great and the service was excellent.
The restaurant was really good and the food in both here and the pool cafe just excellent.
The location is really handy being just a short walk from the metro.
If you are looking for a 5star impersonal hotel do not book here. The room we stayed in was comfortable but was showing signs of wear and looked quite tired.
This is a club obviously very popular with the locals and offers a great experience for the visitor willing to try something outside the regular hotel stay. Certainly we will stay again if we return to Singapore.
Jim and Chris Ferster

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimchrisferster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srcsingapore, Senior Sales and Marketing Executive at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

very good location clean and theres a smoking area too. the recepcionist is very friendly.. near mrt and merlion and marina bay sands . itis very recomended for you who wants to travel to singapore.keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hasan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srcsingapore, Senior Sales and Marketing Executive at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Residence.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the presidential suite for three nights. Room is the most spacious you can find at this club but it is not big. Room is clean but it is very old. It took us almost an hour to check in though the staff was very friendly. We had our shower drain blocked on our second day of stay (Horrible!!! All those dirty sewerage coming out all over our entire bathroom) It took few hours to clean them up. One star rating is only given for the friendly staffs there not other parts in the club. NOTE: this is not a hotel.

Room Tip: There other better hotels for this kind of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srcsingapore, Senior Sales and Marketing Executive at The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest of The Residence,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay . With your comments, we can work on improving our service to all our guests which is of great importance to us.

Once again, thank you for your time on writing us a feedback on trip advisor.

Best Regards,

Lita Vardeleon - Liquicia
The Residence @ SRC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#54 of 317 in Singapore
2,499 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#17 of 317 in Singapore
2,305 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#50 of 317 in Singapore
6,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#19 of 317 in Singapore
6,141 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#115 of 317 in Singapore
4,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#96 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing