We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest detailed Review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Bugis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Ranked #117 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honest detailed Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Ok so its about 7min walk from train station. Price was ok. We stayed on the fourth floor balcony room, Warning very small they call it the superior room i think JUST big enough for two, wall paper stained,very small bar fridge, you do get door beeping and banging,talking at night from other ppl, bed and pillows where nice and firm, bath towels where old and fraying,air con and tv where good, pool on roof small but refreshing. Hotel cleaner VERY Nice,one of the two concierge was nice and friendly, Reception staff where friendly most of the time. restaurant meals not the best and the free breakfast was hit and miss catering mainly for Asian/indian tourists. The restaurant is quite small

Room Tip: The hotel is not terrible. We did enjoy it and you will too, its a good budget hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay a memorable. We appreciate your feedback and will make improvement as we always take our guest's comment seriously. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    457
    244
    69
    35
See reviews for
287
325
82
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a windowless room in the basement and it suited us fine for a one-night stopover. The service desk and breakfast staff were very helpful and we found the location made it easy to walk to little india, and a quick bus trip to Marina Sands. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Indeed, our location are easily accessible with MRT, Arab street and attractions just a stone throw away. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you are on budget here in SG, this hotel is highly recommended! The food, the service, the room ( although small still great) it exceeded our expectation. We will surely go back here! Highly highly recommended!!!

Thank you hotel staff for providing quality service. Felt like where in a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerEms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay a memorable. We will definitely share your positive feedback to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I've been staying in Santa Grand Bugis Hotel for only 1 (one) night. I made reservation through booking.com. I was booking for the cheapest room : twin bed without window.
I arrived in Singapore around 10.00am and go directly to hotel. I was afraid that I can't do check-in.. but surprised, they allowed me to check-in and also upgraded my room become Queen size bed with window. *thank you so much.. :D
The reception and other staffs were nice and helpful.. WiFi connection was great.. room was clean.. water heater was working well..
This hotel also located in strategic Bugis area.. you can easily find anything you need.. souvenir, food, fashion, even hospital :D
Breakfast was good.. After check-out time, we allowed to put our luggage in the hotel until our flights time. Thanks to all staff.. I love to stay here, and definitely will come back again..
PS : I was staying in room no. 217 - 2nd floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesiJulinasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay a memorable. We will definitely share your positive comment to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

My family and I stayed at Santa Grand Bugis Hotel in Singapore for the second time trip. The 1st trip was okay, thought their rooms on the main building was actually fine and comfy that is why we decided for us to stay again for the second time around. However, this time they put us in the old building so that my family and I can fit in the room. It's our first time staying in the old building and we didn't really know they even existed. So when we got in the room, it look fine to me. It was actually bigger than the other building. It really fit my families needs. A couple of days had passed, We encountered a visitor in our bedroom. It's little cockroaches crawling into our bed while we are laying down. Yuk! I immediately called the front desk and told them the problem. They sent in the housekeeper to clean but they tried to spray and they got out even more. The next day I asked to have the whole entire room clean from top to bottom and when we got in the room it was still dirty. They said that the other housekeeper didn't say that it needs to be cleaned but I physically went to the front desk and told them that our room needs to be cleaned and they did nothing about it. At this time, I'm beginning to really get irritated because it seems to me that they are not paying attention to my complaint or my concern.

Well, I don't want to stay here anymore until I know that they have done something right about their rooms. It's nice and convenient but if you end up getting sick and ruin your vacation, then it's not worth a stay. Their staff of the Hotel needs to improve on customer service concerns, they need to pay attention and care more for their guest. I don't know if they value their guest opinions but if I were the management, I would do something about it.

They all need to be trained as friendly, accommodating, courteous, more caring and more importantly, paying more attention to their guest.

So if I were you; I would not stay here until I do a real research about this place...

Room Tip: I would not stay here anymore... By the way, I took a picture of the little roaches that was hauntin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our management’s attention. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet you expectation during your stay with us.

All our hotels are contracted with a pest control company to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment, and we have since stepped up the pest control activities. As regards of services, we have counselled our front desk staff on better service and retraining program has been provided. We shall continue to strive for better customer service and relations.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Pros:
- Location, near city center, 5 mins walk to MRT station, 1 min walk to bus stop.
- Room size is acceptable.
- Food prepared for breakfast is not bad.
- Staffs are friendly, good service, fast check-in.
- Free private carpark is available but limited (4 lots only).
- Free WiFi is available in room & common area.

Cons:
- Assigned to non-smoking room but the next day can smell cigarette smokes.
- Dining cafe for breakfast is small, go early to avoid being too packed / full.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvintt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Indeed, our location are easily accessible with MRT, Arab street and attractions just a stone throw away. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

As regards of the cigarette smelt, we do not have smoking room as we are a smoke-free hotel. Smoking is strictly prohibited in the premises. If anyone found smoking in our hotels would be imposed a fine and there are designated area for smoking in Singapore. However, we have notified hotel operation to take note about it.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a nice stay at this hotel during our 4-days trip in Singapore. First, the check-in was fast and simple, the front desk and concierge staff was friendly and helpful. We got room no.411 on the 4th floor - same floor as the pool (although it's quite small but clean and look out a cool view of green park and quiet neighbors. The room itself is not huge, but quite big compare to normal hotel rooms in Singapore at the same price. And it was also very clean and neat, we felt very comfortable during our stay. The housekeeper was nice. The breakfast, yes, is limited, but tasted okay and enough for a new day to me (rice, baked beans, eggs, soup, toast, jam, butter, fruit, coffee, milk, orange juice). The location is great, about 200m from 7/11-convenient store, 500m between both Bugis and Lavender Underground station. It's on the green line (East West line - Airport line of Underground system in Singapore. From Changi Airport, go to Terminal 2 and catch a train to Bugis, around 20 mins, walk another 500m, you can get to the hotel). You should discover the surrondings, lots of massages, cafe, restaurants, bars nearby. As well as a Mosque. For those who like shopping, you can check out the Bugis street (market style) or Bugis Junction opposite of Bugis Station. And don't forget a small alley nearby - Haji Lane - the vintage fashion trends setting in Singapore. All in all, there's still things to improve but to me, it all comes well under that price so don't expect too much and just enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeySu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Indeed, our location are easily accessible with MRT, Arab street and attractions just a stone throw away. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
#110 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Hotel YAN
#52 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#90 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Boss
#136 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Strand Hotel
#152 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Bugis

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Address: No. 8 Jalan Kubor Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, Singapore 199207, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Bugis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, operating since November 2009, has a swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, cafe and business centre. Located on the fringes of the Little India District and a few hundred metres from the Malay Heritage Centre this hotel makes the most of an area rich in history. Just down the road is Bugis Street, now featuring a teeming street market and collection of roadside stalls which is a must see for leisure or shopping guest visiting Singapore. Also, conveniently nearby are an Indian temple and one of Singapore's best known Buddhist Temples. Besides sightseeing, guest can visit Sim Lim Square, which is only 10-minutes stroll away and it houses Singapore's biggest collection of IT and computer stores. Completing the attractiveness of Santa Grand Hotel Bugis is its accessibility to public transport such as taxis, buses, and Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) to various places in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing