We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Nearby Hotels
US$449
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$342
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$901
US$637
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$456
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$297
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$358
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$271
US$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$135
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveller rating
185
501
253
77
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
501
253
77
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarab streetlittle indiavictoria streetbus stopraffles hospitalsultan mosquenoodlesbudget hotelhaji lanekampong glamhalal foodfamily roomrooftop poolnice hotelmrt stationfree wifiwalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great place to stay for the budget minded traveler. Singapore in general is quite expensive and the Santa Grand Bugis is good value for money and an easy walk (maybe 10 mins) to the Bugis MRT station. It is on the same line as the airport as well which makes it easy to get to from Changi. The breakfast is a little limited but filling. The room is very clean and has a good shower. We stayed in a Deluxe room and was worth the extra money for a window. We got the hotel to organise a taxi for us back to the airport (as we had to leave early before the MRT started) and was not a problem at all. Would stay here again as it was so convenient and good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Jen R,

Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear that our team were friendly and helpful and provided you with attentive service that made your stay a memorable one! We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and yes indeed, it is an easy walk to Bugis MRT Station.

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, we hope to welcome you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a really good hotel and reasonably priced. The position is good, it feels relaxing for a city hotel, we had a verandah in the trees. Breakfast is good and staff attended to any issues we had quickly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VioletAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear VioletAustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the amenities it had to offer. Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, we are happy to have hosted your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I spent there last April 09, 2014. Every time we visit Singapore we stay in Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, it is our third time to stay there. Great service, clean rooms always and friendly staff. I love their free breakfast specially the fried rice and the beans. Good location to all travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rogue_032001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear rogue_032001,

Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear that our team provided you with prompt and attentive service that made your first stay a memorable one and that you have subsequently always chose Santa Grand Hotel Bugis every time you visit Singapore!

Thank you for constantly choosing Santa Grand Hotel Bugis and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Santa Grand Bugis on our recent Singapore Holiday.

I discovered when we were seeking accommodation that it can be quite difficult to find a hotel that has rooms suited to two adults, a small child and a baby without booking two rooms as so the range of properties we could choose from were limited, particularly since we wanted to stay close to Bugis.

Location

It is a little disingenuous for the hotel to describe its location as Bugis, since it is more accurately in Kampong Glam. This isn't a problem, as such, but it is worth noting. We like Kampong Glam and I think that it has a great vibe with small cafes and bars with a combination of Middle Eastern and South-East Asian aesthetic.

The hotel is located about 500 meters walk from Bugis Junction and the Bugis markets. It is an easy walk down Victoria street (although the traffic lights are annoying) and therefore access to the MRT is easy. Bugis Junction has a nice collection of shops and food outlets and the new(isn) Bugis+ is quite nice.

Accommodation

The room we stayed in (411) was on the top floor and was quite large. It was described as a family room and contained a king size and single bed. The beds were comfortable, but both beds were quite short. At 189 cm my feet and ankles dangled over the end of the bed. We wanted to have a cot (crib) for our baby, but the hotel was not able to supply this and so we brought our travel cot along (something else to carry). A number of other hotels have this same issue, so I don't fault the Santa Grand per se.

While not exactly dirty, the room was not totally clean. The tiled floor felt a little gritty and, when I was looking for something I dropped on the floor, I noticed dust and dirt under the beds. The walls were scuffed and marked and the grout in the bathroom was brown in patches.

The bathroom was adequate, but the shower/bath configuration was very poor. While the room had a rain shower it was not working and so we had to use a hand held shower that due to some fault pulsated. There was no working method to switch the bath taps on and so to fill the bath for our children we had to use the shower. However, the plug leaked and so we never got the bath filled to the desirable level and had to leave the shower running.

Amenities

We discovered on arrival that the pool was closed. From what I could ascertain one of the glass panels in the fence had broken and so the pool needed to be drained and cleaned and the panel replaced. Obviously this was out of the hotels hands, but it was disappointing.

Our room included breakfast and this consisted of a small buffet with juice, coffee, scrambled eggs, chicken bacon, noodles, rice, cereal and toast. It was perfectly adequate and the noodles were really very nice. It was nothing like the type of buffet one might expect in a five star hotel, but it was a great way to start the day.

Staff

One highlight of the hotel were the friendly and amenable staff. They were polite, helpful and very pleasant to deal with.

Overall

This is the fifth hotel we have stayed at in Singapore and the least costly. Knowing the price of hotels in Singapore it can be argued that the hotel represents good value for money and as a base it is very good. Similarly priced hotels are generally out of the "core" and therefore make getting around very hard.

I think that the need for maintenance in the rooms and barely acceptable cleanliness let down what is otherwise a nice place to stay. We will not stay here again as is, but were a little money to be spent on minor improvements I would reconsider it.

Room Tip: I think that the rooms facing out with a balcony might be nice. The top floor is the place to be.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Andrew U,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review! We are pleased to hear that our team provided you with prompt and attentive service that made your stay a memorable one! We are happy to have hosted you stay and your concerns and feedback will be shared to the team for immediate action.

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Bugis and we look forward to your continued patronage!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had stayed at this Hotel in 2013 and decided to stay again in 2014 with our 2 children because of the Swimming Pool and having somewhere to have time out and relax. We searched other Hotels with Swimming Pools but knew what to expect at Santa Grand so made the booking. When we checked in the Swimming Pool was closed for maintenance no care factor from staff absolutely disgusted !!!
We should of been notified prior to our booking and given the option to change our accomodation. False advertising !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BlackPearl051171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear BlackPearl051171,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are sorry to hear of your encounter over the swimming pool. A glass panel at the swimming pool shattered and for safety reasons we had to close the pool, and drain the water in order to fix and replace the glass panel.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and look forward to your continued patronage!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews