We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Ranked #118 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is our second time to stay here and here are my thoughts.
The Hotel:
Really fast and good customer service. English is spoken by the staff and their accents are so so to understand. Has a swimming pool on the roof deck. The internet is fast and accessible via wifi. Site of the hotel is on a main road so cabs can be hailed and they will stop in front of the hotel. The type of stay we had came with breakfast. Breakfast menu serves your basic baked beans with ham or sausage and eggs. Bee hon noodles is also served for the non-continental breakfast eating clientèle. The coffee though is just pure sadness. You're slightly better off with the sachets of coffee that's replenished in your room. The bottled water is replenished daily and is part of what you paid for with the room. The rooms are cleaned really well and they don't leave it smelling of very strong cleaning solutions or bleach. There is also a small safe and a small refrigerator and a water pot in case you need hot water for drinking. Should you have rented internet at the airport or bought a Singapore sim card, the 4g signal pierces through the walls of the hotel with reliability.
The Location:
The best part of the hotel is its location. It is within walking distance of the mrt and bus stations. It is within walking distance to the Raffles Hospital. It is within walking distance of many malls e.g. Sim Lim - the gadgets mall. The Bugis Junction mall, and a bazaar type of 'mall', the Bugis Village, where you can buy you souvenirs for cheap. For those shy in trying new food these malls have familiar Western fast food joints.
Around the hotel you will find lovely architecture and a Mosque. Around the Mosque you can find a textile district and more laces to dine if you are into food exploration. There is a quaint strip of artsy shops behind the hotel. And there are a couple of art gallery cafés right next to the hotel, too.
I would recommend first time tourists to stay at this hotel it is just so convenient, just skip drinking their coffee.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kikaytrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Kikaytrekkie,

Warmest greetings from Santa Grand Hotel Bugis! Thank you for choosing us again and also for the wonderful detailed review. We are very pleased that you are satisfied with the hotel both times. The positive feedback motivates us to work harder to please our guests. The Bugis area that we are situated in is indeed a shopping haven-from departmental stores to small locality products and trendy hip clothing stores in Haji Lane. It is also a gourmet delight as there is a huge range of cafes and restaurants in the vicinity. Interestingly, Bugis is also a Malay cultural area and we are actually a heritage building if you have noticed! We look forward to your next stay with us again.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    472
    248
    73
    37
See reviews for
297
338
88
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is very nice, easy to access, near Bus Stop and MRT Station. I love the swimming pool on the rooftop of building. Surrounding by cafe, restaurant, and hanging out places. It's very convinience and worth to try.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better thank others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yudit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Yudit S,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis. We are located in a hip and convenient area that will never bore anybody, packed with cafes, restaurants and trendy stores. We wish to have the pleasure of your return stay with us again!

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hi
I did a lots of research regarding accommodation and i found Santa Grand Hotel Bugis!! But a lots of complain about basement room. I booked the basement room as it was a cheapest one. It was perfect. It is enough size for 2ppl with small luggage. Bathroom was clean and good size.
Staffs are friendly. Only problem with the internet which signal was too weak.

Room Tip: if you looking for the good price room, basement in not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank P I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear P I,

It is a pleasure to learn that you've enjoyed the basement room and had a good time with us at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis. We will look into the internet signal problem and continue to monitor and upgrade our complimentary Wifi service. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nice hotel, good service and in an excellent location. Easy walk to Bugis and MRT station. Situated in the Arab street area, with many eating and cafe options. Love the swimming pool for an afternoon dip. The staff are very helpful and courteous. An easy, simple option for a couple of nights, while exploring the neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Martin E,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis. We are pleased that you've enjoyed our location, services and facilities. It is indeed refreshing to dip in the pool as Singapore can get really hot in the afternoon! We'd love to see you again soon!

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After travelling for 2 weeks in Nepal we chose the Santa Grand Hotel Bugis based on several things.
Firstly location and the hotel is located in a central positon for Little India, Little Arab, Bugis Street and the MRT is about 10 minutes walk.
Secondly my husband needed WIFI to catch up on business, this was hopeless. Even in the foyer where free Ipads were offered the connection was very unreliable. Also to do research on attractions around Singapore the connection was either slow or would drop out.
Thirdly, knowing Singapore is hot, we really wanted a swimming pool to cool off after a day out. This was the most imporant request of my teenage children. For them, this is what they looked forward to the most. When I enquired where the pool was I was told it broke the day before we arrived.
The rooms were not large but ok and the beds comfortable. The carpet however was discusting. I wouldn't walk on it without shoes. Although the room was quite clean there was a pack of condoms in the back of the desk draw which we found quite disturbing. Two of our four night stay we had no hot water for showers. Having to wait in a towel while someone attempts to fix the shower was not a pleasurable experience. Then it was suggested we go to another room!
The breakfast offered asian and western and changed slightly each day. My children opted not to come to breakfast after the first day. The tea and coffee was out of a nescafe machine which none of us could tolerate so elected to take the tea and coffee sachets from the room to breakfast which tasted far better.
The staff did try their best but it seemed there wasn't a lot they could do to fix the problems and decisions had to come from management. They offered us a slight discount which took us many emails and weeks later to receive. Considering other accommodation we have had in Singapore this was expremely disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bt002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Bt002014,

Your feedback has our management’s attention and we appreciate it as a motivation to improve our service and facilities. We are however disappointed that we did not meet with your expectations.
We are continuing our effort to monitor the quality of our complimentary internet service as we know that it is important to guests. The demand for WIFI is increasing especially during peak hours and when guests use multiple devices for connection. At this juncture, we are still able to cope and offer this service free of charge.
We are disappointed about the inevitable closure of the swimming to service our guests. As a result of an incident that happened on April 13that the rooftop swimming pool, broken glass pieces were spotted in the pool, and the pool had to be closed for a few days due to safety reasons. Besides, our insurance company had to conduct an investigation to the incident. This unforeseen circumstance is unfortunately beyond our control and we were unable to predict and prevent. We regret that this incident has impacted your accommodation experience, but the safety of our guests is paramount. We have since opened the pool from April 26th, 2014.
You feedback on the carpet, hot water etc. have been acted on and it through such feedback that we strive to improve our housekeeping standard and service level. FYI, this hotel is earmarked for upgrading in the near future.
Our breakfast is opened for 3 hours daily from 0700 to 1000 to cater to our guests’ convenience. The food served during breakfast has received many good feedbacks from other guests as it demonstrates the local cuisine. However, we are sorry to hear that our breakfast selection did not suit you and your family’s taste, and we could perhaps improve on the food selection.
Although we wished that your experience with us could have been better, we still hope you will return and we will provide you with a much more pleasant stay.
Thank you and regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was recommended by my bestfriend. Generally, this hotel is a very good pick. I'll tell you the reasons:

1. Booking Arrangement: first of all, thanks to Victor from Santa Grand Hotel Singapore bookings for assisting me with the transaction while im still in The Philippines prior to stay in Singapore. Transaction is very smooth and all of my inquiries have been addressed. I've asked him if he could give me the best superior queen room and he gave me what I want... It was on the 4th level - with a small terrace - perfect view to start the day!

2. Location: Ive also stayed in Bugis 14 years ago so Bugis is where I really prefer to stay in. The hotel is 7-10 mins walk from the Bugis SMRT Station. This became very convenient for me and my partner to travel because SMRT and buses are our primary means of transportation and we almost covered up the whole Singapore in just 5 days. It costs around SGD 17.00 when you hop in from Changi Airport to hotel via taxi and around SGD 2.20 something for a MRT ride going to the airport from the hotel --- no sweat! Shopping malls, convenient stores and restaurants are blocks away from this hotel so no problem during emergencies and hungry tummies. Hotel is also by the main avenue and with many trees --- appreciate this when you have a terrace in the room.

3. Hotel Staff: Reception is very warm, accomodating. You can ask them for any inquiries about Singapore. During the check-in, if your room is already available even you arrive earlier than the check-in time, they will let you in with no extra charge (got there couple of hours earlier than the check in time) -- that gave us extra time to fix our things and more time to roam around at the Marina Bay. Even the in-house restaurant staff is very nice. They even gave me a 10% discount if voucher if i wish to travel back to Singapore and stay in the hotel.

4. Breakfast: They serve buffet breakfast, although they have limited variety of foods to choose, they are well-cooked.

5. Room and its Cleanliness: room is very clean and it fits for a couple. The space for everything is just right. Airconditioning is ok. Wifi connection is very good even at the terrace (i usually call my parents and siblings at the terrace via Facetime). The bed is comfortable although pillows are small.

Overall, I recommend this hotel, the price is affordable for a six days, five nights stay at Singapore as we all know that decent accomodations here at Singapore are very expensive. Good job Staff. I am glad to go back and stay on this hotel if there is an opportunity.

Room Tip: If you are planning to go for a superior queen room, choose the one on the 3rd floor (no terrace) or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngPutingKabalyero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear AngPutingKabaly,

It is certainly a pleasure to receive your 5-star review! Thank you very much for your detailed review of Santa Grand Hotel Bugis. Indeed, we strive to provide hassle-free booking to all our guests and to fulfil any requests whenever possible and we are glad that Victor has been a great help to you. Our convenient location is definitely an attractive to guests as travelling around Singapore from here is easy via buses, SMRTs or taxis. Many guests love our thoughtfully prepared breakfast of local delights and it is great that you are satisfied. We'd love to welcome you soon!

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been regularly visiting Singapore on business visits since 2 years & stayed in different hotels in every trip .I was on lookout for a good hotel which meets my requirements of convenient location,Clean Room,Wifi ,reasonable tariff ,etc. I found Santa Grand Bugis best suited on these parameters. June 2014 was my second stay in the hotel & I will now make it my regular place to stay in Singapore

Room Tip: Higher Floors,away from Main Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashutosh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Ashutoshgokhale,

We are very pleased that Santa Grand Hotel Bugis has fulfilled all your requirements! Our aim is to look after guests' needs and are glad that you are satisfied with us both times. It is our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Singapore.

Thank you and kind regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
#107 of 312 in Singapore
731 reviews
Hotel Kai
#106 of 312 in Singapore
232 reviews
Hotel YAN
#62 of 312 in Singapore
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#128 of 312 in Singapore
463 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#135 of 312 in Singapore
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Bugis

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Address: No. 8 Jalan Kubor Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, Singapore 199207, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#77 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Bugis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, operating since November 2009, has a swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, cafe and business centre. Located on the fringes of the Little India District and a few hundred metres from the Malay Heritage Centre this hotel makes the most of an area rich in history. Just down the road is Bugis Street, now featuring a teeming street market and collection of roadside stalls which is a must see for leisure or shopping guest visiting Singapore. Also, conveniently nearby are an Indian temple and one of Singapore's best known Buddhist Temples. Besides sightseeing, guest can visit Sim Lim Square, which is only 10-minutes stroll away and it houses Singapore's biggest collection of IT and computer stores. Completing the attractiveness of Santa Grand Hotel Bugis is its accessibility to public transport such as taxis, buses, and Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) to various places in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing