We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for couple/single”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #286 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The hotel concept is very unique. During our stay for Christmas and New Year holiday (~10 days) I had no complaint at all, the staff were quite friendly and helpful. The bathroom and toilet are a bit small, but clean and worked ! The only drawback with this hotel was the food, for some reason they didn't have many choices available, however you can find many cafe or resto nearby.

Room Tip: Get at least Premier Loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hompipah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioMHotel, Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Hompipah,

Thank you for your good review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,898 - 1,904 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

pros:
unique room set up because of the loft
comfortable bed
lots of eating places nearby
2 bus stops away from the nearest mrt station
friendly & nice reception/staff

cons:
no exhaust fan at the toilet
literally small bathroom/toilet
musty smell in the room
breakfast is average

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKYRig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioMHotel, Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear chopeta,

Thanks for your review effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel concept of the Studio M is very nice. It's kinda like a 2 story room on a cruise ship (it's about as "space efficient" (aka cramped). If you've ever been on the Norwegian Epic, the layout is very similar. You walk in, the shower is on your right, the toilet is on your left (each has its own small room). You walk into a small sitting area (or bed depending on which room type you get) and there is a wet bar there with a fridge. My parents and I had the room with the sofa downstairs and the bed upstairs (the premium room, as the standard room has the bed downstairs and the sofa upstairs). It's pretty tight for 3 people so it was a good thing we only used the room for sleeping. Its centralized location as great as it's only a 10 minute walk to the mall/train station, as well as numerous eateries in the area. As an added bonus, I have a friend who is stationed in the US Navy there and she happened to lived 2 blocks away so it was easy to be able to see her for breakfast before she went to work.

The only reason I'd recommend against this hotel is if you're traveling with more than 2 people or are on the heavy side (the bathroom is extremely cramped and doesn't have much space to move around). Also if you have trouble going up and down stairs you'll want the standard room as it's hard to go up and down the stairs with the bed upstairs and the bathroom downstairs. I wasn't able to try the pool or gym or restaurant, but they were all by each other (also they're open air) and they all looked nice. The hotel does give free wifi access but it's kinda slow. Other than that, I'd probably stay here again as it was a nice area with a nice ambience.

Room Tip: Standard room has the bed downstairs and the premium room has the bed upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninja421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioMHotel, Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear ninja421

Thank you for your good review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I frequent Singapore on business and have stayed in many hotels; however I must state that my 3-night stay at Studio M has been the worst. Upon arrival, I was pleased with the room design which is quite quirky and modern. The bathroom and toilets are small, but clean and worked reasonably well. However, as the stay progressed, I found that the front desk staff, housekeeping and operator were incapable of taking any instructions or messages (I am local, so this is not an issue with language or accent). A simple request like "please send up extra toilet paper" took 4 phone calls before it was executed. An order for room service almost went belly-up because they could not charge it to the room and needed me to provide the exact amount in cash. It is perplexing to get this low standard in a country like Singapore.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioMHotel, Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear vsylee,

We appreciate your effort to highlight your recent experience. This will enable us to take the necessary actions as we strive to continuously make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have been numerous times to this hotel. It is a beautifully designed hotel. The swimming pool and terrace are beautiful the hotel lobby is great but much too cold to my liking and when I say cold I mean freezing because of the air-conditioning. The room are duplexes but the studios have the bed on the main floor and the loft have it on the top floor. Studio rooms are not practical. Please note that there is no bathroom as such but a separate toilet and a separate shower right next to the entrance and there is a washing cabinet in the main room which means no real privacy when traveling with a partner. To be honest I liked this hotel at first but soon found it uncritical. Free internet used to work well but I had a few problems in November. Location is great next to Robertson Walk. Smokers please note that it is forbidden to smoke on the terrace lounge bar. The Illy cafe inside the hotel has a few outside tables which are allocated to smokers and coffee is great. The bar is open 24/7. Service is getting bad except for the people handling the luggage and the furniture is starting to look worn out. Food is good.

Room Tip: Avoid the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioMHotel, Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear lcfb

We appreciate your effort in highlighting your concerns which will enable us to look into making improvements wherever needed.

Thank you for your repeated patronage of our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I had intended to spend the birthday weekend at Studio M - checking out nice restaurants nearby, drinking coffee from nice coffee joints and chilling by the pool with a book.
(the pool looks enticing on the website)
Everything looks great on the hotel website.

Upon check-in, I was greeted by front staff who were trying to look "cool" so much that it comes across as aloof. And it did not help that the lady helping me to check in had bad breath!

I headed for my room and, boy, was it SMALL!
Although it is a loft, it is so small that it is almost claustrophobic.
The toilet and ath, on either side of the main door, were really small.
Tth e shower room was really basic with small bottles of body wash, shampoo and conditioner sitting loosely on the ledge in the shower room. ( If you are big-size, you will feel miserable staying in this superior room)
There is no vanity sink. Sink is in the mini kitchenette.
When we got all ready to head for the pool, we met a housekeeping staff who told us that the
pool is under maintenance.
The only notice in the room was to infor us of cabling works.
TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT!
When I feedback to the front desk of the non-information, I was only to be greeted with a expressionless face with the answer, "oh yeah, the pool is under maintenance."
After I told her that this reply is non-accepatable, then was a sorry offered.
I travel frequently and I have to say that is is one hotel I will not recommend to my acquaintance. It's no big deal and, with the same money, one can always find another hotel with better service, bigger room ans better communication.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank tiburon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioMHotel, Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear tiburon17

We regret that some of your experiences during your recent visit did not meet your expectations.
Your feedback will enable us to continually strive for improvements.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Recommended by a colleague for its value and for being under our company's allotted 'cap' for hotel spend. This is a all 'loft-rooms' hotel, with all the basic amenities in for a business traveler at a great value. Make sure you are not a sleep-walker or afraid of heights :) since it could be a bit tricky if you are. Not recommended if you are traveling with children since rooms are small and ideally suited to singles and couples only.

Breakfast was functional. Robertson Quay and Clarke Quay are walking distance (R-Quay is much closer) and the selection of restaurants and bars is wide. 7-11s within walking distance for other basic needs as well.

This place is outside the CBD so plan a little ahead for taxi cabs. But unlike the CBD, this area is much more homely and quieter.

Drawback: MRT station is quite a long walk. If access to MRT is important, deduct a few points when analyzing this hotel.

PS: I think the hotel does not permit children under 12 anyway.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a basic sofa chair, work area, wash basin and bathroom on the lower level and the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioMHotel, Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear vcchicago

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your future visits to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#93 of 319 in Singapore
601 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#117 of 319 in Singapore
1,786 reviews
Orchard Road
YOTEL Singapore
YOTEL Singapore
#51 of 319 in Singapore
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £82 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing