We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great boutique option”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #125 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great boutique option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

A great design hotel. The rooms are on the small side but if travelling on business it is great to have the study area upstairs. MRT stations are a 10-15 minute walk away. Orchard Road and Chinatown are within walking distance though if you are prepared to walk. Great eating can be found on the river nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    758
    510
    177
    152
See reviews for
339
636
186
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed here for 28 days last month and here's some of my feedback

1. Transportation. There's a bus stop in Havelock Road, a nice 3 minute walk from the hotel. Buses that go to key areas stop at that station so it's not a big problem. They also have shuttles going to Orchard Road every hour, every day if you like shopping and for business travelers, there's one that goes to Anson Road area in the morning. Not walking distance to a train station but the bus is a good alternative.

2. Space. Not your typical hotel room layout but it helps that there are two floors. I'm on a business trip and it helped that the desk is on the first floor so I'm discouraged to take work to bed. If you have food in your room, you're also not tempted to eat by the bed.

3. The shower room and toilet is really small, I hope there's a way they can fix this.

4. When calling the front desk, it takes a lot of time before somebody picks up to attend to a request. Not really a deal breaker but maybe crucial if you're always in a hurry.

5. Rooms are not sound-proofed. This is terrible, I once woke up at two in the morning to the sound of a couple doing something (no need to elaborate!). Had to turn the television, but didn't help too much.

6. Restaurants around the area are amazing. There's Chinese, Japanese, Italian places nearby so you'll never ran out of choices.

Overall, I'd recommend travelers to try to stay here and see it for yourself. Not ideal for families though.

Room Tip: Always try to get a Premiere Loft. Studio Lofts have the bed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanieOctia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Currently staying here for business.

As most reviewers say it is not suitable for everyone. There is no public transportation aroud the hotel, closest subway station is Clark Quay, but to there requires a good 15-20 minute walk which isn't much fun during the day.

My room is a Studio Loft, with bed on the bottom floor. I found top floor useless as there is only a sofa and never went up. Room size is pretty small, shower and toilets are separated with the sink outside.

As one reviewer mentioned, toilet room is extremely small and shower room is not much bigger. Anyone taller than 6' will have a hard time moving around. Should also mention that there is no closet.

My room had a lot of dust from the A/C on the walls, so I asked to change rooms. Second room was clean but the A/C wouldn't stay cold, and they had to clean the filter.

I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Only stayed for 3 nights, but its now one of my favourite boutique hotels.
Its small and compact and feels a little Japanese in its overall concept. The Loft idea makes it a great place to sleep and lets face it while your in Singapore you'll be out eating, drinking, shopping and sightseeing. When your not you should be at a pool cooling off and this pool has it all - shaded areas and lounges in the sun with a great atmosphere that feels more resort than an inner city hotel.
I also love the area, I used to live around here and its still a favourite. Great resturants around the waters edge - you must try The Wharf Oyster Bar and Grill bt book ahead. its next door and it never fails. outside of that there some other great places to keep you entertained.
The room is compact and is ok for 2 people and those who travel light. It has everything you need and the bed is one of the best Ive slept in. Super clean and well air conditioned to hide from the Singapore heat and humidity when sleeping.
Its one of my favourite!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same but the layout can vary - our bed was downstairs and the study area upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel on Christmas eve 24Dec'12 & checked out on Christmas day 25Dec'12. Booked the premier for Christmas party with friends (total 11 of us but only me & my fiance stayed over for the night)

Location - accessibility is an issue considering that there isn't any public transport to the hotel. I got to the hotel by cab. Upon check-out there wasn't any cab in sight but thankfully we didn't wait more than 5mins before a cab drove in

Check-in - despite the huge crowd on Christmas eve, the waiting time queuing for check-in was acceptable, barely less than 10mins. Staff was courteous and greeted us Merry Christmas while settling our check-in. Check-in administrative paperwork took less than 5 mins and I was glad to know that the hotel was able to accede to my request for a room on the top floors. I was allocated a corner room on the 7th floor.

Premier loft - despite the small room, the room was well-equipped with all the amenities & facilities you require. The bathroom is very small & cramped. But the loft concept is very modern & chic, suitable for young couples or a group of friends. I would not recommend this room for families with young kids, as going up & down the stairs would pose a certain danger. Eventually we all got tired with having to climb up & down the stairs. The size of the room is just perfect for 2. Rooms were sound-proof and we enjoy the peace & tranquility. Also, despite the noise we created since it being Christmas, we were glad that the sound-proof walls meant that we did not disrupt other guests' experience at the hotel.

Gym - after check-in me & my fiance had the time to work out at the open-air gym, it was empty & we got to enjoy the gym equipment, almost like we have booked the entire gym for ourselves.

Concierge service - called to request for tissue paper as the one in the room has ran out, very delighted with the prompt service as the friendly staff delivered the item requested very quickly with a huge smile on his face that never fails to bring joy to their hotel guest

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pp_pp_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have been staying in Studio M Hotel several times over the past few years... and always enjoyed it.

Positive:
- location... close to a thousand-or-so excellent riverside restaurants and bars at Robertson Quay,
- original duplex rooms, with a desk and a sitting area up the stairs and with bed, toilet, shower and wash-space downstairs,
- all furniture and amenities are solid and good quality,
- excellent bed !!!!
- rooms are very good sound-proof,
- good aircon,
- free WIFI,
- sliding doors with mirrors,
- staff is very friendly.

Negative:
- location... while it is indeed at Robertson Quay... it is a 10-15 min walk to the nearest MRT station,
- relatively slow check-in and check-out procedure,
- even though they are on two floors, the rooms are a bit small (but it is OK for a single traveller as me).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDBGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The loft concept in a hotel is rare in Singapore. And that should be the only reason why you should stay there.

I booked a 1-night stay in a Premier studio room.

The negative reviews from others are certainly not unfounded. As a 4-star rated hotel, you would expect much more from an average hostel/motel. I cannot fathom the nightly room rate for the service, amenities, and facilities in this hotel. Service left much to be desired - hardly anyone greets or smiles at your in this hotel. My request for a change of room was questioned curtly by the front desk staff, "what reason?" was what he said - no eye contact, unprofessional conduct. It's unbecoming and definitely appalling for a hotel belonging to the Millennium/Copthorne hotel group.

The room was tiny. Having a mezzanine level is novel, and would be its saving grace if not for the price I paid for a night's stay. The bathroom and toilet are the smallest I've seen. As for the bed, let's just say, there're many others that are more comfortable than this hotel's. Though I did not encounter the musky smell in the room that others did, there was a very strong unpleasant smell the moment I stepped out of the lift (Level 5).

Location-wise, the hotel is located very close to the Singapore River, with easy access to bars/pubs/restaurants nearby. However, none of that justifies booking a room in this hotel. Nevertheless, if the experience of staying in a loft entices you, then do give this a shot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#159 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#88 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Boss
#137 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Hotel G Singapore
#64 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Property: Studio M Hotel
Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing