We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting concept in a 'design hotel'”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #286 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 11 May 2014

the positives:
1. interesting contemporary and hip design
2. friendly staffs at check-in
3. near Clark Quay

the negatives:
1. The shower and toilet in the room are separated and very small. Especially the toilet, it is a bit claustrophobic for me
2. I had the guest room that my bed is on the upper level. First of all, the bed is tuck against the wall. Second of all, there is a beam above one half of the bed. It is ok that I stayed here alone. I can't imagine how uncomfortable it is for a couple to sleep in the same bed. If one of them who sleeps under that beam, it would difficult to slide the way out of the bed without disturbing his/ her travel partner.
3. TV is mounted on the wall in front of tv on the upper level. In the morning when I was getting ready on the lower level, I can only turn on the tv and 'listened' to the news for update. What an inconvenience!
4. Breakfast quality is just okay, almost below standard. But hey, it's just breakfast, right?

If I were to return in the future, I would request for a room with the bed on the lower level. Overall, it is okay. Not fully impressed, but not entirely disappointed.

Room Tip: Persoanly, I would request for room with bed on the lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is very good in its professionalism, staff, and provision of the basics but for the price it is limited. You know that Singapore is a city where space is at a premium, but it is strange that the loft room that I had, had a very small divided bathroom (tiny toilet cubicle one side of the entry, shower cubicle like a cupboard on the left side), and double bed on the main floor, comfortable but very small, with a staircase (taking up valuable space) and a loft area devoted entirely to one table and chair. I doubt anyone has ever gone up there. Everything was comfortable, clean, working etc as you would expect, but it is a strange configuration and I have stayed in hotels in Singapore at half the cost with more space and a good location.

Room Tip: Maybe you could request a room without a loft upstairs with a table and chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have spent several nights in this hotel and we liked a lot. They gave us a complimentary room upgrade and we had great views of riverside. The design of the rooms has seemed new, modern and practical. The pool area was really cool and the breakfast good and varied.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Nice concept. Bedroom on Mezzanine level, living area downstairs. Funky for a hotel room. Clean and presentable. A few issues were dealt with in a number of minutes. Good pool and gym area. Area around the hotel is quiet and has many restaurants nearby. Everything is more or less 10 minutes away by taxi. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayR1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Here is my view

Pros:

1) Friendly staff (helps with almost anything)
2) Good concept of a duplex; my bed was on the floor above
3) Clean rooms
4) Large dressing mirror in room
4) Room equipped with most basics
5) Location of hotel is central, 10 minute picturesque river-side walk to Clark-Quey
5) Good free wifi

Cons:

1) Expensive Breakfast SGD$21 per head.
2) The color of the base of the bed on the floor up is the same as the floor. Hard to differentiate in the lighting in the room at night. Stubbed my shoe toes twice. (look at pic). Maybe the management can do something about it
3) Found the room to be quite small. Would have felt cramped in double-occupancy for sure.
4) Bathroom is quite small too.
5) The orange chair is placed awkwardly in the room, leaving very less space to reach the door in the room.

Room Tip: Took corner room on the high floor overlooking the river. Found good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaitanya1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After reading all of the reviews before booking this hotel i thought why not. The hotel is located right on the river at robertson qury. 5 min walk to clarke quey witu 100s of resturants and bars. There is also clarke quey central and mrt train libmne there. Taxis to other attrations are around S$ 5-15 depending on time and area. The hotel has a nice pool area and rooms are a loft style we stayed in the cheapest and it was fine for a couple. We did not have breaky included but ate at cafes.service is good rooms are always made up, door in lobby opened for you upon entry and easy fast check in. We asked for a top floor roon abd got it also with a river view. Overall great stay close to attractions, can even see marina bay sands in the distance. About a half hour walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#98 of 317 in Singapore
555 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#120 of 317 in Singapore
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
YOTEL Singapore
YOTEL Singapore
#52 of 317 in Singapore
292 reviews
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#55 of 317 in Singapore
4,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £81 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing