We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay in Unique Hotel”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #120 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay in Unique Hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel, and the general area, were recommended to me by a colleague. It's a little bit of a walk to Clarke Quay but certainly within walking distance. The first thing that struck me about this hotel is that I think it's aimed at a younger, more savvy, audience. You sign on a tablet, not paper. The lifts are fast and the wifi is also fast. Everything in the room is compact, yet easily accessible and it's set up so you can work or relax all in the same area. It's a truly unique hotel in my experience and would recommend staying there. The staff are very friendly - even at 5am.

Room Tip: The loft room is great and a unique experience, but don't try and climb the stairs after a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    780
    525
    178
    157
See reviews for
355
666
196
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed in Studio M hotel for the first time just for one night stay in the weekend. Overall, I would say the experience is below average compared to other local hotels I had stayed before in local or overseas. For a price of >S$200, please stay somewhere else.

CHECK-IN: The first walked in to the reception counter or area is small. There is a queue for you for check-in and check-out with no signal and no-one to inform you at all once you entered. This is a very silly mistake. For such a prestige brand of Millennium & Copthorne hotel lines, I really feel this should not happened in the first place. Some officers at the counter do have smile for you, so that's fine.

I am glad that they gave me an upgrade to Executive room after I showed them my member card and voucher. I do appreciate that but I regretted to use my free upgrade voucher at Studio M hotel.

Please double check on your booking details and printed out what you are entitled to. Reason - I was told that my package do not have breakfast included by reception staff during check in. The staff explained to me with confident about that. Well, he took away my confirmation booking earlier and I really believe him. After check out, I saw my reservation email and there written clearly "Rate inclusive of breakfast up to two persons". Bingo.. no breakfast for me and I had already checked out.

ROOM DESIGN AND DETAILS : Executive Room has the bed on top level, and a longer work desk at the lower lever and a soft (which can convert to a bed). Executive Room do not have much difference with the rest (bottom level), except longer work desk and 2 TVs in a room (the rest is 1 TV). Very modern (who don't love the loft design?) Lightings - For sleeping, yes. At work desk, I think not ideal as the lamp appeared too huge hanging down from ceiling. Anyway, it is faulty in my room. Shower Room - is extremely small (either same or smaller size than public swimming pool toilet) and the door could not even closed. The cap of the handle has also dropped off. Toilet - door faulty too (you has used much force to totally closed it). There is a safe and small fridge (no mini bar drinks inside just for your information). Many drawers in the room to keep your stuff. Sound proof for this room - well i would say bad. I could hear someone calling housekeeping from room-to-room in the morning and people walking on the upper level.

LOCATION - Good, nearby many restaurants and cafes. Convenience.

CHECK OUT - PLEASE TAKE NOTE for all guests. If you have no choice to stay in this hotel, please please check your bill toughly before you leave the hotel. I read from other reviews here of being overcharged, and did not expect myself to experience too. Yes, I was charged for S$15 more, which luckily I checked after I leave. I did call up the hotel and they only tell me they credit back to my credit card. YES, THEY DID NOT SAY "SORRY" or feel bad about it (same as the previous reviews).


Customer Service and Management - Very poor. Please do not expect excellent customer service here. If you are staying one night stay only, I rather you go somewhere cheaper rather than paying expensive rate and not up to standard.

Room Tip: Take the cheapest room will do. The difference between Premier Loft and Executive Loft, is Executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shin23_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
395 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

my first time ever in such concept. It is a slight hassle to climb up and down just to get a drink from the fridge or head down to the toilet though. Not recommended if you have elderly. And the Toilets are Small, so if you have a big group... yeah..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReccaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Where do I start from :) stayed in Studio M hotel for 3 full weeks, decent hotel decent breakfast but the menu wont change at all :( we had the same routine breakfast for 3 full weeks.. sad.. but was a good spread had bits and pieces of everything, you can choose healthy once if you like so, not very healthy menu to order food to the room, and we did couple of times and it takes literally 1 hour which is not so nice, they are stores around like 7/11 for basic needs, very close to raffles place, nice walk on the river walk, lots of restaurants which, very active street during the weekends, only negative about studio m is the gym doesn't have an AC :o surprising because with this kind of weather and no AC in the gym, can you even imagine... they had fans which where ok but definitely they have to work on this bit, swimming pool is pretty decent, crowded sometimes during the weekends but otherwise well maintained.
decent place for a long stay
I would recommend for a stay at Studio M.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NivviS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Decent value, great location at Robertson Quay, 5min walk along Singapore river to Clark Quay, 10mins to China town, Marina bay is also with-in walking distance. Clean and tidy rooms, comfortable beds, staff helpful, nice pool relaxing area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I booked a Premier Loft, the hotel was fairly alright in terms of atmosphere and outlook. However, the staff who attended to my family and I were unfriendly and failed to clear my doubts. During the check-out, I was billed wrongly and the staff did not apologise, she was very cold and kept quiet most of the time. There was a misunderstanding about the deposit and instead of clarifying the process of how the total cost of the room ($240+) would be deducted from the deposit ($450), noone said anything and simply just waited for us to fork out the money. I expected much more from the staff, as it was a birthday staycation and they did not even show a smile nor wish me a pleasant stay. Aside from the poor attitude of the staff who attended to me, I enjoyed being in the room and utilising the various amenities available like the pool. Would suggest this hotel is most suitable for a one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Studio M is very well located near the Singapore River. The rooms are pretty small, but comfortable. The staff is very professional and friendly. Free for use Macs and free WiFi are provided. Overall, Studio M is an excellent choice for those visiting Singapore.

Room Tip: I don't know which rooms are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#132 of 312 in Singapore
182 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#78 of 312 in Singapore
1,465 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Boss
#143 of 312 in Singapore
1,578 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#70 of 312 in Singapore
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Property: Studio M Hotel
Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing