We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service, cool concept, tiny space”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #292 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Booked the Studio Loft. Room is very small, once you walk in you will see the bed. Not more than 10 steps to the bed. Toilet and shower stall is also restrictive and tiny, not for European or US travellers. For a new hotel, the door to the shower stall was damaged. The space saving room reminds me of the budget hotels in Tokyo where amenities are minimal. Only 3 pathetic bottles of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, nothing in the minibar fridge & washing sink is outside from the toilet and shower stall, nowhere to hang the towel in the shower stall. There were dust on the round lamp. The study area can double up as an extra sleeping area when you pull the sofa out to form a rather awkward bed. This would make an ideal bedroom for a single, but not so ideal for a hotel room for more than 2 persons. More suitable for the typical single business traveller who does not need much space.

Pool area is nice, but pool is very small and easily overcrowded. plenty of deck chairs for people to sun bath and people watching. 1.2m in depth and 25m in length. There were more people talking about how nice the Gallery Hotel's pool than actually using the hotel's pool because it is so small. Breakfast was also a letdown

Service was extremely disappointing. Check-in took longer than it should, most of the time spent on waiting. Housekeeping took more than half an hour to deliver towels. Staff were very unhelpful when asked whether there was a iPhone charger or iPhone docking for charging the phone. They seems to be biased against Singaporeans staying over the weekend for staycation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eelayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,000 - 2,006 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

the hardware is super nice and impressive except the soft part of the hotel; the staff was not responsive to our needs and it took forever for them to bring me an extra pair of slippers. after our check-out, the hotel staff just ignored us and we had to carry our on luggage.....

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macauaznchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

here i am at studio m right now, awaiting the late check-out at 1pm.

we are staying here for a night only, trying out this new property for the long weekend.

we booked a premier loft room - queen bed upstairs of duplex.

we booked it on thursday 27 may late afternoon and i read some reviews the following late night, just hours before checking in.

on 29 may afternoon, we hopped onto taxis to get to nanson road. just tell the driver it's opposite gallery hotel if he doesn't know where studio m or nanson road is. heard from a driver that quite a number of ppl are coming to this property though.

since i heard studio m is facing 101% occupancy on 28 may night, then i expected the crowd at the front desk. it remained busy throughout the times we saw it - going out on 29 may afternoon, coming back a little while later, going out at evening, coming back at night, going out late night at 11plus (some ppl were checking in), coming back and just earlier when we were just done with breakfast and a little tour.

the ROOM - premier loft - really ain't as bad as what i was expecting. space is not where you're gonna find your money's worth - efficiency of space / soho chic is the concept here. "think tokyo hotel" says another review - agree.

everything is planned for max usage and just nice. NOT recommended for family of more than 3. well, there is a sofa bed for the child if you are willing. might be too dangerous for another kid to share bed at the top. queen bed a just a nice fit for 1 or 2 at most.

this room is perfect for a solo traveller or couples. will upload pictures when i get on the laptop for room illustration.

the bed is nice for rest and sleep - loft, clean and comfortable. waking up on it made me feel refreshed and LAZY to go for breakfast. still, had the energy to go check out the breakfast.

BREAKFAST is a small spread. it's open air and hence, will definitely be warm for guests in long sleeves! pity. if it's windy, it's good. however, not all the time with Singapore's hot / hot and wet kind of weather. what if it rains and wind blows strongly?

food kept running out but refill comes rather quickly. there were salad, egg station, confectionary, coffee / tea station (self-service!), juices, cereal, sausages, bacon, breakfast ham, baked beans, hashbrown, teriyaki chicken, miso soup and japanese rice. really nothing extraordinary yeah? there was a tall friendly and enthusiastic
young server though. indian egg station master was nice and friendly too. the omelette wasn't fantastic.

basically, breakfast (@ take), cabana, open-air gym, pools and chill area were all at level 2. nice.

our room 330 was nightly perched atop such a view. nice.

location is also good for some tranquility - away from busy orchard but nearby the quays where some fab bars, restaurants and nightlife are. if u happen to go to LIANG COURT, do check out the tampopo deli at the basement. AWESOME CREAM PUFFS! also nice to stock up some snacks from meidiya - japanese supermarket. love it! it's an expat area here in singapore.

we also tried other hotels in singapore and find that this is worth a try - different concept for 20s-40s provided price is quite right. try a travel agency for good rates with bf ;)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank immerz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Cool new modern hotel with trendy loft style rooms. Rooms were a little small but would suit solo and couples. The hotel location is a moderate walk from public transport however is based on Robertson / Clarke Quay which is great for restaurants/bars etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTrav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in Singapore. Please DO NOT even try to stay for one night. Service is so terrible. It takes forever to get service from any departments.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkmoosebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

When I saw the advertisment on the internet, I thought this might be a nice option for some days in Singapore, but unfortunately I was completely wrong!

Positive:
- The hotel is brand new, the rooms have a modern trendy and nice decor
- The location can be good if you like to be close to Robertson Quay and Clarke Quay (however you are far from public transportation and also far from some of the main sightseeing spots and as walking is sometimes difficult due to humidity you have to take taxis often from / to the hotel)

Negative:
- Absolutely zero service: when I tried to make the reservation via phone, no one picked up the phone, so I made the reservation online (but could not get any further info about the hotel). Once there, nobody helped with the luggage; when I called the hotel from outside to speak to my friend nobody picked up the phone again; when I asked for help with booking of a restaurant, they were not able to help (they have no clue about restaurants in Singapore!). Check Out took me more than 1 hour, the queue was huge and there were not enough staff at the front desk
- The only have 3 elevators for 300 rooms, so this means you wait always long
- The rooms are tiny like a shoe box. Yes they are duplex on 2 floors and there is a high ceiling, but the 2 floors are so tiny that you almost can't move around. The toilet and the shower are both in a tiny box, but there is not really a bathroom, the sink is in the room, so really no space for anything
- Pool and gym are very basic, only 10 sunchairs for 300 rooms, the whole area looks already filthy (altough they opened only 3 months ago!)

For me the hotel looks like a trendy youth hostel, unfortunately the price is a bit higher than a youth hostel - and besides I did not want to stay in a youth hostel!

There are much better hotels for the same price, so this is definitely a no-go!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

* Modern design. *Good location. *Very small rooms - toilet and shower are very very small! *Suitable for single travellers or couples only. Not appropriate for families. *Lovely pool, outdoor lounge area. *Service was very average. For example - 1) requested extra bedding and was told to wait 40 minutes because staff were unavailable (this was at 11pm at night). 2) Asked for an international adaptor. We were told they did not have any international adaptors and that we should purchase one at the 7/11 down the street!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSHCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#153 of 319 in Singapore
384 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#121 of 319 in Singapore
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 319 in Singapore
974 reviews
Hotel Re!
#144 of 319 in Singapore
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £84 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing