We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't need much space this is the best place for your money”
Review of Studio M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Studio M Hotel
Ranked #288 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Yes, the rooms are very small, but . . . everything is new and nice. It felt like a very trendy and up to date hotel with brand new everything. The pool are was a great place to hang out even if you weren't using the pool. The water was too cold for my liking, but most pools aren't heated and that's how it is. The bed was super comfortable. We had a good view of the city. The room was dark so you can sleep in if you want to and was very quiet. We had no problems checking in or out quickly. The bathroom was really small but don't really need to spend much time in it so who cares. The water is ok to drink out of the faucet which was nice and they gave you conditioner which seems to be rare in this part of the world. I would definitely recommend this hotel for 2 people or three travelers who are not carrying much luggage.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lzinsmaster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,092 - 2,098 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

I have travelled to 31 different countries, and this hotel was one of my favorite that I have ever stayed at.

I don't understand the complaints from a lot of the reviews.

Very cool concept, nice location, cool vibe.

I noticed a lot of the guests were in their 20's and early 30's, and this is who I think would enjoy this hotel. Also, I would recommend the hotel for 1, 2, or maybe 3 people at the most. Yes, the space is not huge in the room, but it is still very nice in the loft.

Free wi-fi, nice pool, nice fitness centre, good location (I don't know how people complain about walking 10 minutes to a MTR stop, it's good for your health).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We knew what to expect when we booked a room (premier loft) at Studio M, but were pleasantly surprised when we saw the room - while it was small, it was very clean, compact and comfortable.

The free wireless Internet was a big plus for us. The air-conditioning can be rather strong, especially where it blows directly at the bed.

If you are lucky, you may get a parking space (usually available during the off peak hours) in the building but otherwise, you can park at the opposite building and claim the parking fees from Studio M, and only once.

Our only complaint is the service at the reception - all the staff at the check-in and check-out counter were quite rude, curt and gave no eye-contact whatsoever to the guests. Something has got to be done about this, as while we enjoyed our stay at Studio M, we do not look forward to having to deal with such unfriendly reception staff again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodEnthused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Pros: Great room to sleep 3 people. Good value. Pool area very nice. Great location near Robertson and Clarke Quay.
Cons: Rooms very small. Checkin takes forever - allow 20 minutes. Bar area on 2nd floor looks nice but prices are extortion.
We will stay again on our way back through Singapore.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlaveToShopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

I have experienced some of the issues mentioned in the other reviews on this Hotel until...

I spoke to Management and my issues were resolved. Service at that level was outstanding! It's amazing what the hotel have done with the use of space in rooms. The public areas: pool, bar, restaurant all very good

Second time round--left very happy

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Not a bad location but the concept is weird - tiny rooms where you really have to be on good terms with your partner. DON'T bring a big suitcase - in fact for 2 of you, only bring one small one. The upstairs loft space is pretty much wasted. The washing facilities are tiny. Service is OK, but they are understaffed for what is going on.

If kids walk down the corridor, you can hear everything they say. I could even hear someone in an adjoining room (upstairs, next door, who knows?), coughing all night.

Put this well down on your list of choices.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianValletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I stayed her with my husband, infant and inlaws for 4 nights. My in-laws thought the concept of the rooms was great and was perfect for their needs. We both had the premium lofts so a small lounge on the ground floor and bed upstairs.

Our main issue was that when we contacted the hotel about a cot we were told we would only find out if one was available when we arrived at the hotel which is no good. Where would the baby sleep if one is not available?

Lots of people have complained about the size of the toilet and shower room. The toilet was the perfect size for what we had to do in there and it was nice to have a wet room rather than a shower. There is a bench in the shower which is good as I could sit the baby on my knee to wash her and not worry about her slipping.

There are definately a few teething issues for the hote which I am sure will be sorted out in the coming months, mainly to do with house keeping, not the cleaning which we could not fault but things like leaving us with no toilet roll and forgetting to replace tea and coffee. However on our floor the store room was left open every day so we could help ourselves.

We did get a fantastic deal as we booked before the hotel was opened so we got great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioMGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Studio M Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you've enjoyed your experience at Studio M.

We have noted your concerns with baby cots and these requests are based on availability during check-in due to limited units available.

As a safety advice, we recommend children aged 12 years and above. Sofa beds, available in most rooms, may be set up whenever a request is made.

Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
M Social Singapore
M Social Singapore
#99 of 317 in Singapore
549 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#121 of 317 in Singapore
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#55 of 317 in Singapore
4,584 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio M Hotel

Address: No. 3 Nanson Road, Singapore 238910, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £82 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Studio M Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio M Hotel Singapore exudes avant-garde style and class in its offer of a great business stay or leisure getaway in the iconic entertainment precinct of Robertson Quay. Designed by Italian style maestro and architect, Piero Lissoni, it is the first fully loft-inspired Singapore hotel that also occupies a prime location in the city, within easy reach of both the Central Business District and the world famous Orchard Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Studio M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing