We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach on the wall”
Review of Hotel 81 Lucky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 81 Lucky
Ranked #26 of 79 Singapore B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cockroach on the wall”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

There's a cockroach in my room. There were ants on my table crawling into the pillows.. I know it's a budget hotel along the red light district but it's the best location for a cheaper price. The only good thing about this hotel is that it's near the train station goin to the city or the airport. There were lots prostitutes outside the hotel and don't be surprise if you see some old
men with young girls that stays here. I called the reception to complain about the ants and cockroach but they send someone to kill the insects. Killing the insects in front of me is not a good idea so I went to down and demand to change for a better room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shugar214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    24
    53
    20
    16
See reviews for
16
38
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

There's a cockroach in my room. There were ants on my table crawling into the pillows.. I know it's a budget hotel along the red light district but it's the best location for a cheaper price. The hotel is near the train station goin to the city or the airport. There were lots prostitutes outside the hotel and don't be surprise if you see some old men with young girls inside this hotel. I called the receptionist to complain about the cockcroach and they send someone to kill the insects.. I don't like the idea of killing the insects in front me so I went down and demanded for a new room. They gave me a better one.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Friedrichshafen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you dont care about taking the elevator together with hookers and the old clients, or if you dont care to stay near the red ligth district, stay here. The room is really small, and the bed sheets are not clean. There were cockroachs on our room, but after asking, they change our room. Wifi works on both rooms. Both rooms smells really bad. Is near the MRT, but you need to cross the red ligth district. If you are together with a women, locals will really look her like a hooker. NOT A FAMILIAR PLACE.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very Comfort during Sleeping, Silent, Room 601 Many Hawker Center around the area, Easy Check in and Check Out our Check In time is 2 PM but they allow us to check In 11:30 AM. Few Steps to MRT Aljunied.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeArcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

no breakfast, very dirty hotel n very expensive buy via easytobook.com.
i will not buy via easybook.com again.
the place very strategic to anywhere.
the room is very dirty many ant n kutu.
good job!!!



  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Roselyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I book for 3 nights, I stay only few hours!!
The area: plenty of prostitute and really bad people!
The hotel: dirty and small room, bad Internet connection, and the receptionist unfanny, apolite, unhelpful and very poor English!!

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR TIME LIKE ME, I SPEND 220$ JUST FOR STAY FEW HOURS!!
DONT BOOK PEOPLE TRUST ME!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duliajan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Although it is in red light area, you will never be disturbed by anybody and very much safe. However it is better to avoid night roaming. The rooms are very much clean and good air conditioned but relatively small. Ideal hotel for night life with friends.
You will have to make full payment at check in. Free internet assess.
The receptionists help a lot for conducted tours and local travel. Pick up from hotel at right time for the tours.

Room Tip: Mind your own business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pranjit62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Gold
Hotel 81 - Gold
#210 of 312 in Singapore
214 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#248 of 312 in Singapore
219 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#247 of 312 in Singapore
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#231 of 312 in Singapore
230 reviews
Kampong Glam
Adamson Inn
Adamson Inn
#8 of 79 in Singapore
57 reviews
Geylang
Oxley Blossom
Oxley Blossom
#23 of 79 in Singapore
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Lucky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Lucky

Property: Hotel 81 Lucky
Address: 23 Lorong 20 Geylang, Singapore 398741, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Lucky 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 81 Lucky is located along Lorong 20 Geylang, served by Aljunied MRT station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 81 Lucky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Lucky Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing