We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please no chinese staff!!”
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #39 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I had booked a package Lion King Tickets with a suite together. Sevral weeks later I checked the booking and found out, there was no ticket confirmation. At the reservtion they told me, I have to pay extra for the tickets, as I have no package. I should pay 4.000 SGD, but there is no ticket included! I told them, it was not my mistake, but they insist of paying the ticket which is probably 300 SGD for 2 people. After many discussions they gave me an offer to downgrade my room and then the tickets are included, I cancelled my stay immediately, I was pissed off....At least 5 people handled my reservation, I didn`t get any manager or a phone call, thanks to that famous Lady called MICHELE LIM, which is not able to even apologize for a mistake...why such a hotel has chinese staff?
I will go to Mandarin Oriental instead, there we have really good staff and service!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank leisurefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22,451)
There are newer reviews for Marina Bay Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,833 - 13,839 of 22,451 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2011

The decision to select this hotel in January was influenced by my curiosity regarding this impressive pool. The decision to stay in this hotel in April was made because of the pool and the good food and the outstanding service in the lounge. Especially for couples it is the ideal place to get pampered during a short trip/stay. The rooms are spacious as well as the bathroom where I appreciated the bathtub which was not tucked in a corner as usual.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hedonsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced our outstanding service.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands and hope that you will have the chance to get pampered at the luxurious Banyan Tree Spa just below the Sands SkyPark, which will be completed in May, during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel just to experience the pool on the roof and the pool was great experience.
The over-all service is more like you normally find with 2-star hotels, while the price is above many 5-star hotels in Singapore. We have booked horizon delux room on top floors to enjoy the views, but when we arrived at 8pm we were offered "free upgrade" - the room on the 8th floor. After refusing to take this we were offered to wait for an hour for they to prepare our room on floor 42, they promised to call us when the room is ready, but nobody actually bothered to do this. So we filally checked in only at 11pm, the pool was already closed. Next morning we got an access to the pool; pool was great (except very slow service in the pool cafe and no tissue in the pool toilet:)).

Room Tip: Don't expect 5 stars service.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellena27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you were able to experience the magnificent infinity pool at the Sands SkyPark.

We are sorry to hear about the challenges you experienced during check-in and at the SkyPark. We are always looking to improve and have shared your comments with the respective departments.

We look forward to your return and are confident that you will enjoy your next stay at Marina Bay Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I read a lot of reviews about the MBS when we left and a lot of people commented about the terrible service and that the hotel was over rated. This couldn't have been further from the truth. My husband and I stayed in a Club Room. Check in was fast and efficient and we were able to check in about an hour and a half early. We were also offered a late check out time of 2pm, which we accepted. Staying in a Club Room included breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails at the Club House on the 57th floor. The food was fantastic and the drinks selection was great. The pool definitely one of the high points of the hotel, as are the incredible reviews. I would definitely recommend the MBS to anyone. The service was second to none, the hotel staff were helpful and incredibly friendly. I'd definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lexy66NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you chose Marina Bay Sands and enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Visited Singapore many times on business and watched the towers being built. The catalyst that pulled the trigger on my making the reservation for myself and the kids (EJ, Grant and Stefanie) was the Infinity Pool. It was fantastic. The pictures we took, the views we saw, and the memories captured are all worth it. Hotel is expensive, around $460++, but just compare the incremental difference from other 4-star hotels. You only go around once and I think staying 3 days, and swimming in the pool, using their gym, soaking in the steamroom, etec. was worth it. Food was good, service was good, close access to shops, restaurants and casino. Easy access from hotel using underground walk way. You gotta do it!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the city for best views.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alex080080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The view from the Sands SkyPark is indeed breathtaking.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

If you enjoy cruises then the Marina Bay Sands is the hotel for you. With 2500 rooms and high occupancy rate this hotel and its staff are geared for the masses. If on the other hand you are looking for a more personal touch, then you may want to think twice ... After a rocky start (late in the evening, wrong room at check in, extra bed not made up for children despite specifically requesting for this in our reservation) we did get the personal attention we expected from the staff of the Executive Club - they turned our stay around and we had a very pleasant cruise after all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Twobigfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed at MBS a couple of weeks ago for 2 birthdays in our family. We were off to a rocky start with being given a room with seaview (requested city view & booked weeks ago), then no sofa pull-out for kids, then giving away the allocated room, etc. After 4 moves and 4hrs later after our arrival at 1pm, still no Club room. The hotel seems to be struggling to keep up with the sheer traffic, having grown so quickly. Their lines are so busy that you can't get through and there's always long queues at the desks and the elevators are crammed.

Anyway, after having to request to speak to management about the way we had been treated, we finally got put through to the Front Office Manager - Briana Knechtel - who upgraded us to a larger suite room which was amazing and sent us a bottle of champagne to apologise, plus a late check-out the next day. She really made our stay the best!

In addition, we met with Selim Atias, the Duty Manager at the Club Lounge located at the SkyPark Observation Deck, and he went out of his way, above and beyond the call of duty, to ensure our meals and the rest of our stay were more than comfortable. His service was of the highest standard.

Thanks to the 2 Managers, Selim and Briana, we had a fantastic time in the end, and the boys in our family had a great birthday celebration!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeenaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgewroe, Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during check-in and have taken note of your comments and shared with our Front Office team.

We are happy to hear that Team Members, Briana Knechtel and Selim Atias in particular, made your stay with us a memorable one.

We are glad that we were able to be a part of your family’s birthday celebrations and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Marina Bay Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 316 in Singapore
7,535 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#3 of 316 in Singapore
4,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £268 - £634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing