We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - average service for price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #35 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel - average service for price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel is large and impersonal. Lots of tourists and people checking in and out. Check-in could have been better. Asked specifically for non-smoking room and they gave a smoking room. They upgraded me to a non-smoking room. Very good sized room - large king bed, large bathroom - very nice.

Service was non-existent. This is a busy business hotel rather than somewhere a family would want to stay.

For the price paid, additional personalised service would be appreciated. But given the size of the hotel, this is unlikely.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjaysethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your check-in and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the room upgrade.

We are always looking to improve ourselves and have shared your comments on our service standards with our Team Members.

We hope to see you again at Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11,142
    5,944
    2,426
    860
    710
See reviews for
5,524
7,728
950
2,329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Wow I have to say I had to look twice to see if I had the right hotel on this site. What is with these bad reviews people? What is that all about because I have to say none of these problems happened to us, I never witnessed any of these problems and we never heard any other guest complain and we stayed at the Marina Bay for 7 nights. I don't get it, one reviewer rates everything 5 out of 5 except service which he rates 1 out of 5 but because of a beef with security the overall rating is 2? Are you serious? That's what you call a fair and honest review? What about all the other staff, do they rate a 1 out of 5 too just because you had a beef with a security guard who most probably wasn't laughing at you but trying to defuse the situation. Some people need to get real.

This hotel is outstanding and I don't give praise lightly. The service was fantastic, really friendly charming helpful staff everywhere. Check-in was smooth quick and easy, we got the room we booked as requested and it was every bit what we expected. The Club is really cool, the pool a tad chilly but a must do experience. If you're expecting the casino to be like Vegas you're going to be disappointed but as casinos go its pretty good.

Anyone considering a stay there should do it, don't take the nay-sayers seriously I've stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and this one is right up there with the best in my opinion. We had an awesome time at the MBS and we went there intent on doing just that. We will be back because Singapore is amazing, the people are really genuinely friendly, its safe, clean beautiful and there's so much to do. When we do return we will stay at the MBS.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CaliBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 15 April 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for the recognition given to our Team Members. Your feedback encourages us to make Marina Bay Sands better every day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Singapore and Marina Bay Sands in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We just came back from our two-night stay at MBS today. While the hotel has spectacular design and breathtaking view of Marina Bay from its sky pool, the service was a serious let down.

This hotel has 2557 rooms but don't seem to have enough staffs ? On day one, we asked for a shaving kit to be delivered to our room , took them 30 minutes and two follow up calls until the kit was delivered , wonder why.

The sky pool has a great view but it's always busy. Again, one sky pool has to accommodate for 2557 rooms ,so i'm sure you can imagine how busy it can be.

I would have given "average" or "decent" rating if it wasn't because of the priority express staff communicating the wrong information about car parking for hotel guests.

This hotel doesn't provide complimentary parking for its guests ( unless if you're their Piaza members ). So, we parked our car in the shopping mall and had to walk about 10 minutes to the hotel. Okay, we were fine with this at first, no complaints. On the night before we checked out, we came back to to the hotel around 11pm and parked our car . Upon returning to our room, I called up the Priority Express hotline and asked specifically if i needed to inform the hotel my car plate number so that we needed only to pay $6 flat per entry rate . The lady confidently informed us that no such registration process was required and we were assured by her that upon exiting, ONLY $6 flat rate will be charged.

The following day, we checked out and when were about to exit the car park, we were shocked to find out that hourly rates were charged to our cashcard!! Later did we find out that we had to inform the hotel out car plate number and they would enter the number into the system and issue us a special parking ticket. Was this communicated by the lady from Priority Express? No!!

Im not making a huge fuss about the parking fee that we had to pay when exited, it was the misleading information that upset me. I hope someone from MBS Hotel operations team reads this and ensures that each guest who drives to the hotel receives an accurate information on how the parking fee has to be settled.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siera1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latreasha_Schmidt, Director of Call Center at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the miscommunication with regards to the process for guests’ parking at Marina Bay Sands.

The challenge you experienced is unacceptable and we have taken steps to inform and update our Team Members from Priority Express.

You can be assured that we are constantly looking at improving our service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you consider a return visit to Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Amazing hotel experience. Fantastic rooms and great service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,424 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11,791 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Room
We stayed in a horizon deluxe room on the 46/F. It was a good 4 star room, spacious with comfortable beds and chaise but feels more functional rather than luxurious. The room lacks the character and elegance found in other Sands hotels. In fact the bench at the foot of the bed had a glue/wax stain (and evidence of unsuccessful efforts at removal); rather disappointing considering this hotel just opened recently. Our view was of the harbour and the undeveloped promenade area. Should be spectacular in the future but lacks luster at the moment.

Facilities - Underwhelming lobby with bizarre colourful reception area for a 5star hotel, this is probably temporary but as first impressions last, this sets the stage for a less than glamourous experience and what to expect during your stay. Fantastic pool at night and early morning when you have it for yourself, easily the best and most impressive pool we've seen but during the day it's like a human zoo. The hotel is already beginning to show signs of wear, with peeling signs and scratches in the window. This is probably a teething problem.

Service - Friendly, warm and accommodating staff.

Food - Daily breakfast buffet offered a wide range of cuisine but the taste was just okay. We dont think it's worth SGD38 (although included in the room). The Chocolate Bar we found to be average bordering on poor. The display looked quite appealing but the quality and taste of the desserts were not memorable.
Food court was a reasonable option but the next day, our local guests and us all had tummy trouble. Considering this is a 5 star hotel and it is Singapore, this was a bit of a shock.

Location - Great location at Marina Bay, and would be even better once the MTR is up and running. Evening river walk to Clark Quay was quite pleasant.

Price/Value: The scene and price are set for a 5-star experience but at present the Marina Bay Sands struggles to provide more than a 3.5 star experience.

At present we do not recommend staying in MBS, instead giving them a few years to stabilize their operations and allow the surrounding area to develop. It has the potential to be great, it's just not there yet.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

No doubt its a Wonderful hotel with excellent venue but your security officer doesn't helpful and so arrogant. Both of them doesn't have full information and even they laugh back at you, i am so pissed off and its really spoiled my trip there.Luckily the incident happened on my last day there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Oh my goodness, where do I start?? This hotel is fantastic. Everything is new and fresh, and we found the service to be brilliant. We booked 2 club rooms but were upgraded to a '2 bedroom suite'. Service in 'The Club' is second to none and the best I have ever experienced - anywhere!! Every single staff member we came in contact with, was exceptional. The quality of food on offer is unbelievable, and well worth the rate charged.

If I had to criticise anything, it would be the lobby. It is very busy and almost feels like an airport. Didn't really find this a problem as one doesn't normally spend a lot of time in the hotel lobby, and it is what you would expect in a hotel of this size!!

Don't hesitate, pay the extra for a 'club room' and book now - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Goofy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Suite and The Club experience.

We are very encouraged with the recognition you have given to our service staff.

Your support is very appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Property: Marina Bay Sands
Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing