We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but not worth the money and service needs LOT of improvement”
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #35 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Nice place but not worth the money and service needs LOT of improvement”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed in MBS with some family members. We got the rooms as part of the package. The location is great and there are busses just beside, and a 10 minute walk brings you to Suntec City/MRT (Circle line). The infinity pool on the top is worth a visit and offers breathtaking views of Singapore. We stayed for a couple of nights there and seem we started to have a tough luck on the first night (evening) itself. The room is facing a major highway (AYE) and west sun, so the room is pretty hot even though the A/C is on. Ironically the A/C temp adjustment seems not working. So after about 30 min the service staff came and ‘adjusted’ the settings. The guy keeps on mumbling and sure needs to improve his English 

Second day we started with pretty good energy levels and we had a short visit to the infinity pool on the top. Views are breathtaking and just Google for the pics. I’d say this is the best part of the hotel. Not a lot of variety for food and food is terribly expensive. Same goes for shopping areas. The canals are pretty clean (much better than any other Venetian places) and I’d say being in Singapore this can be taken for granted.

In a one line summary, the place is more for business folks rather than a casual visitor or family visit.


Pros:
Location and easy access to attractions
Newly constructed (still in great condition) & contemporary designs.
Casino just at the ground floor and 10 min drive to sentosa & resort world sentosa

Cons:

Service needs lots of improvement
Not family friendly (IMHO)
Expensive

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srichakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11,316
    6,003
    2,449
    865
    714
See reviews for
5,600
7,833
963
2,342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Our friends from Singapore surprised us with an overnight stay at The Marina Bay Sands for our wedding anniversary.

Room: We are situated at Club Rooms, very nice, spacious, smells fresh, great automatic window blinds, great view, overlooking Marina. I loved the pillow and the bed. Love the coffee-maker and mini bar. They even gave us a welcome champagne, chocolate and cookies.

Food: They offered high-noon tea/snack, before dinner cocktail, and after dinner chocolate buffet. Everything was superb!

Pool/View Deck: great infinity pool with all-day free drinks at the Club. Nice (scary) feeling at the view deck. But at night there's a live band where you can listen and even dance at the deck making your night a romantic one!

Mall: great shopping mall across the hotel where you can find all 'women's bestfriends - purses/bags, shoes, accessories, and food!

Spa: relax in the sauna and steam room at the spa. Very clean.

Room Tip: I prefer the club rooms or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purpleroyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback and congratulations on your wedding anniversary!

It is heartwarming to hear that you and your partner had a memorable and romantic time, and managed to fully enjoy The Club at Marina Bay Sands experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at Marina Bay Sands for the Easter long weekend, and found it to be absolutely fantastic. We stayed in the “base model” Atrium room on floor 7, and found this to be perfect, nice and close to the action, but still with modern and spacious witht floor-to-ceiling windows looking out onto the Casino and “Shoppes” across the road.
There were 3 of us, myself and my partner, both in our early 20’s and our 5 month old daughter. They accommodated for all three of us perfectly, and our cot and luggage were delivered to our room within 10 minutes.
Firstly, our flight arrived into Singapore from Brisbane at 08.00, and we were at the hotel by 09.00 even though check in does not start until 15.00. We proceeded to the check in counter and amazingly they let us have our room, at no extra cost, 6 hours early!
A lot of people have commented on the fact that the lobby is like an Airport, very impersonal, and in reality they are probably correct. However, as previous posters have said, you don’t stay in the lobby, this was not really a problem.
The building itself is absolutely amazing, I found myself in awe every time I saw the hotel from the outside, or even stood in the lobby. The Skydeck and rooftop are also amazing, with fantastic views of the Financial District on one side, and out to sea from the other. Going up there for the first time took my breath away, I have never experience anything else like it anywhere in the world. The room itself was very clean and very modern, and was what you would expect in a 5 star hotel, with a nice big bathroom and large comfortable bed.
One of the things we most enjoyed about this hotel was the food court in the “Shoppes” which are accessible via an underground tunnel from the hotel lobby. The food court was unlike anything we see in Australia, with lots of great quality, cheap international food, from traditional Chinese and Indonesian food, to Indian and Western cuisine. There is also a funky indoor skating rink next to the food court for the kids. The Shops themselves are very high end, and are brands such as Prada, Gucci, Louis Vuitton and Rolex, and are not much fund for the average traveller who is unable to afford such luxuries!
It is unfair to complain about the location, as the hotel does not profess to be a city-centre hotel. For frequent or even second-time visitors to Singapore, it makes a nice change to be away from Orchard road, and just spend a few days in the resort itself, but for much longer than 3 days, the location MAY become tiresome. That said, we never paid more than $6 SGD to get to Orchard road, as Cabs are very cheap in Singapore.
Another thing of note are the free half-hourly shuttles in the air-conditioned luxury coaches, this operates perfectly and on time, and the coaches really are luxury, with wide leather seats and lots of leg room.
Finally, the Casino itself was just ok, it is huge and very impressive, but I don’t believe it really caters to the Australian Gambler, with only a small number of Blackjack tables, the lowest limit being $25, and not very much roulette or other “western” games.
In short, Marina Bay Sands is a “Must Do,” and has everything you want for a Short escape in Beautiful Singapore. I would definitely go back, if not only to take family and friends to experience the amazing architecture, but if you are looking for the City Escape, and want to be able to walk to lots of different shops, bars and restaurants, try Orchard Rd instead, and visit Marina Bay Sands for the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ant_and_Kresta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

For the convenience of our hotel guests, we do offer early check in when the requested rooms are available.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our Casino. Games on offer include Baccarat, Power Baccarat 98, 7UP Baccarat, Texas Hold’em Progressive, Three Card Poker, Roulette, Blackjack, Pontoon, Singapore Stud Poker, Sic Bo, Three Pictures, Money Wheel and various slot machines.

We look forward to your continued support and hope to welcome you and your family and friends to Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

After waiting in a line for almost 40 minutes to check in I was then told my room wasn't ready and had to wait 3 hours before it would be ready! They finally found another room for us and then we had to ring reception 3 times to try and find our bags. Each time they said they would call back but never did.

There was even a line to get into the elevator, a compete nightmare! After being there for 2 hours I'd had enough and checked out. We moved to the Mandarin Oriental just down the road and much cheaper rate and the service was amazing!

Will never set foot in the Marina Bays Sands again...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ubudlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

We regret to learn that your recent stay with us was less than satisfactory. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Please be assured that this is not up to the usual high standards that we strive to achieve for our guests, and will look into appropriate measures to rectify the service shortfalls experienced.

We will contact you via a private message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Never get fooled by all the hype and publicity of new hotels which claims to be five-star standard. The anticipation of staying at this architecturally magnificent hotel in Singapore came to a screeching halt when we embarked on our to 4-nighter stay there over the Easter weekend holiday.
As expected, there are throngs of holiday makers and the expected long breakfast queue. When we were eventually shown to our table, we were asked to share a table with other random hotel guests!!! When we refused, we were told they couldn't handle the capacity, and asked us to take the 15-minute walk to the Casino side, at another building, to the conference area, where makeshift conference type dining were set up for disgruntled guests who refuse to share tables. The quality of the food, the crowd, the noise were all akin to a 3-star cheap hotel. A shocking FIRST in a questionable five-star hotel.
Walking through the hotel foyer is like walking through Nathan or Jordan Road if not worse. For those craving for luxury five-star hospitality, please think twice before booking your stay at this hotel.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leeza88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamir_Shanel, Senior Vice President, Food & Beverage at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for submitting this review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay with us during the high occupancy period.

Please be assured that this is not up to the usual high standards that we strive to achieve for our guests. We have shared your comments with the restaurants that offer breakfast at Marina Bay Sands and our F&B team will look into appropriate measures to rectify the issues that have been highlighted.

We will contact you via a private message for more details that will assist us in our investigation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Overall this is a terrific hotel for Singapore as a tourist attraction. The sky park pool is worth seeing on a clear (but preferably not a weekend) day. My main gripe is lack of 5 star service and crowded, lacklustre food options. The buffet is large enough but you may have to queue 30 minutes to get a table and once there the food is pretty inedible. Better to go into the shopping mall and buy breakfast from a Coffee Bean. When we arrived the interconnecting door for the children wasn't open (we waited 45 minutes for the key at 12:30 AM) and the sheets for the 3rd child's bed had not yet been provided (another 30 mins). But the rooms are lovely, clean and well functioning...and the view if you get the city side is wonderful at all hours.

The attached shopping mall is really one of the best in the world - not quite finished yet - but lovely natural light and spacious/easy to shop.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macmarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamir_Shanel, Senior Vice President, Food and Beverage at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to learn about your less than satisfactory experience at Marina Bay Sands.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are constantly looking to improve and will look into appropriate measures to rectify service shortfalls that you have highlighted.

We offer breakfast, through In Room Dining in our guest rooms, at Rise and Jin Shan Lo restaurants in the Atrium, as well as The Club and Sky on 57, at the SkyPark. We have over 50 dining venues at Marina Bay Sands offering a variety of dining options for our guests, ranging from local and regional favorites at the Rasapura Masters food marketplace to world-class luxury dining experiences at our seven celebrity chef restaurants.

The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands has over 800,000 square feet of retail and restaurant space. It is Singapore's first large-scale luxury shopping destination and its contemporary and open design offers breathtaking views of Singapore's city skyline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The Day when I reached SGP, it was amazing .. clean city and when I say Marina Bay Sands...it is BIG..and best ever looks, style, glamour, shopping, structure, building, innovation, hospitality and lots. The hotel have two entries.. one towards Casino way and other towards city way. The lobby is amazing, with music and violins. The Royal Casino is real big and whole night one can stay and see and play...The berst part is the top garden and pool at the top.. connecting all three pillars.. the service quality is great.. while going for breakfast.. it took my sense of flavours..so different and quality food.. the view from 29th floor is great.. an amazing experience..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#2 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Property: Marina Bay Sands
Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing