We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best casino hotel in Asia”
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #39 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I love blackjack and have traveled to many casino hotels around the world over the years. Marina bay sands would be ranked amongst the best i have been too. The casino looks like a million bucks! Huge chandelier hangs from the center of the casino and the there are no sharp edges anywhere. The guy who designed this has to be either a genius or just crazy!
It is extremely easy to get across from the casino to your hotel roim through the private capsule bridge. Being a high worth casino customer, my friends and i received the 10 star service that casino hotels are famous for. We got everything we wanted, when we wanted it. We felt like kings in this resort, they really know how to treat their customers. We will definitely be back. Keep up the great service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barneystint30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and we are glad to learn that our service standards exceeded your expectations. We will do our best to consistently deliver superior service experiences every day. We look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,765 - 13,771 of 22,996 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

I have just returned from a 1-night stay at the Sands with my parents. The hotel itself looked impressive from the outside but this was tempered when we had to navigate our way from the carpark through the shopping mall to the hotel lobby. Very bad signage. As the hotel is a tourist spot due to its inclusion of a casino, there were literally crowds aimlessly milling about the lobby, which rather spoils any "exclusive" or "private" feel that a hotel of its standard should have had.
Worst still, that very night, all the elevators in our tower broke down due to a power surge - they went only to the top and ground floors. When I asked the reception staff about it, their only reply was that they had contacted the technician, with nary a suggestion of alternative options, an estimate of the waiting time to repair or even, if we could maybe take a seat and sorry for the trouble!
After all that and finally reaching our room, our night was plagued with flickering lights and an air-conditioning system that would spontaneously switch itself off. Needless to say, this left us all rather bewildered and with very poor sleep indeed. The electrician came the next morning and declared this to be a fault of the main switch control panel and fixed it. When this was again brought up with the reception staff before check-out, there was no real sense of an apology beyond a simple sorry, forget even trying to get some form of compensation!
All in all, we will not be returning any time soon. Hopefully, never again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret any inconvenience experienced during the power blackout. The blackout had affected the Hotel’s Tower 1 and we are investigating the cause of this incident. We assure you that our guests’ safety is our priority and that we had put in every effort to manage the situation.

We have taken note of your feedback regarding signage around the property and we apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the air-conditioning unit and light defects in your room. We have shared your comments with the relevant departments for their corrective action.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back at Marina Bay Sands and regain your confidence in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We booked a Club room so checked in (and out) at the VIP lounge which is purely for Club Room and Suite guests. Check in queues seem to be very long otherwise.
We asked for a room overlooking the Bay and were given room 3855 in Tower 2. Each tower has 6 lifts which are very quick and you have to pop your ears! Our room on 38th floor was amazing, the biggest room we have stayed in Singapore with king bed, desk and chair, sofa and coffee table plus buffet with TV. The views were amazing despite I would make the curtains to open fully. They are automatic and sort of leave the sides of the window covered....we have pulled them behind the desk and a little side table so the whole window was open to the beautiful view. The view is amazing during the day but even more beautiful during evenings and nights.
Our bathroom was huge with big bath, double sinks, seperate toilet and seperate shower. Expresso machine is provided if that's what you like and lots of toiletries, the soap is a different shape :)
We could access the Club daily for breakfast 6:30 - 11 AM, afternoon tea 2 - 4:30 PM and evening drinks (alcoholic one included) and canapes from 5 - 7 PM. All is in a form of a buffet and the staff is very friendly and very attentive, the alcoholic drinks come very quickly and the staff is quick to top them up but the non alcoholic ones come in a slower pace possibly because most people want the alcoholic ones :)
We enjoyed the food and didn't eat anywhere else.
The pool is for use by guests only and is quite full especially during afternoon, the best is to go early morning or after 9 PM...it's open till 11 PM and most guests seem to come already dressed in their bathers with bathrobes wrapped around them. Pool towels are provided and so is some water which we didn't try. Talking about water, the tap water is absolutely foul, never before we experienced such a horrible tasting and smelling water in any other hotel in Singapore. They do provide two bottles of water a day about 600ml each which we used for teethbrushing.
The pool is amazing, water seems very warm in the morning and afternoon but not in the evening.
The service in the hotel is not what you would call personal, it's a huge hotel, more like a resort. We expected this after reading reviews and didn't come out disappointed like some other customers. The Club staff is very good, they remember your name and room number after only few visits. My husband used the health club and said it was very good.
We booked Lux package which included a free bottle of champagne and one free chocolate bar for two at the Club. The champagne was nice, provided with some strawberries but the chocolate bar was a bit too much...too much chocolate, too sweet....The cupcakes at the Club were much nicer.
Overall we loved our stay in Marina Bay Sands despite I am not sure we will be back due to the cost of rooms. This was a special treat being our 20th wedding anniversary.
While you're staying at the hotel you get 10% discount at the Art and Science Museum entry where is Salvatore Dali exhibition at the moment ( plus Van Gogh light show exhibition and Shipwrecked exhibition which is very good). I believe you get some discount on the Lion King show also.
The Shoppes shopping centre across the road is quite empty and there is an iceskating ring plus a nice water feature. Make sure you go and watch the Wonder Full light show which is in front of the shopping centre every day at 8 and 9:30 PM plus Fridays and Saturdays at 11PM also. The best view of the show is the special viewing area but you can also walk around the bay a little bit towards The Fullerton Bay Hotel and then you can admire the lasers over your hotel :)

Room Tip: Ask for the Marina Bay view as the ocean view seems to overlook a building site!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I was back to Marina Bay Sands in July after 6 months. They still need to improve the check-in and check-out procedure. It took me nearly 45 minutes to check-in and 30 min to check-out. All the rest is ok, especially the shuttle service from and to the Airport is very good. Of course, the hotel is a bit over-priced. Overall the facilities are good. But you need to make sure that you get either a room with the city view or get high floors. Otherwise you will be disturbed by the noise of the cars from the highway!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang_FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us again.

We regret to hear about the delays you encountered during check in and checkout, which may have marred your otherwise pleasant experience. We are continuously reviewing our procedures for improvement to ensure that our guests are accommodated within an acceptable amount of time.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back at Marina Bay Sands soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

What a place to celebrate a special occasion! I had informed them at the time of reservation and they decorated our suite, we had a lovely cake brought up to our room and any time we mentioned our anniversary to any of the staff, they would try their best to do something special for us. This place is just so warm and friendly, we loved it. The service is not artificial and snobby. It is more relaxed and comfortable. The new banyan tree spa at this hotel is out of this world. Incredible service! The gym is also operated by banyan tree and it is also outstanding. There is nothing like running in the morning on the treadmill watching the sun rise from the 55th floor! Yes the gym is on the 55th floor, with glass walls that allow for a 360 degree view of singapore! I just couldn't stop working out.
We loved it and we want to come back for every anniversary! So if you have an occasion to celebrate, be sure to inform the hotel, cause it seems they enjoy exceeding people's expectations! Thank you Marina Bay Sands.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latreashalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are thrilled to have been a part of your special occasion! It is indeed our goal to exceed our guests’ expectations by setting high standards of service excellence.

We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience the Banyan Tree Fitness Center and the newly opened Banyan Tree Spa! It was our pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back at Marina Bay Sands in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed at this palatial hotel for 4 days, though i spent most of the time during the day at the enoromous convetion center. The convention center truly represents the coming of age of the MICE business in asia. There is no other convention center in south east asia that has this kind of space and facilities. I have attended the communicasia exhibition for many years now and the sands convention center outdid every other location that the event was held at during the past years. The hotel itself was incredible. I went for my nightly swims at 10pm every night and the pool and the views were beautiful. They have several relaxing jacuzzis too. I loved this hotel and i really want to bring my wife and kids to see this place real soon.
The one thing that i must mention here is that i saw several guests at the hotel that treated the staff with disdain and arrogance. And then they would expect great service from them. Maybe many of the nasty reviews are also written by these kind of guests. General tip for anyone staying in hotels, the people who work there are also humans who have self respect. This is not a master-slave relationship. For unbelivable service in any hotel, treat staff nicely and ask politely and see the difference.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timleejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review and support! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay during CommunicAsia2011 and had the opportunity to enjoy the infinity pool at the SkyPark every night. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Marina Bay Sands in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

As a family with 2 kids we decided to stay at the Marina Bay Sands and was not disappointed.

On arrival late Saturday night we checked in having booked two connecting rooms. At check in it was obvious there was a little problem with our booking, an apology was given, the hotel was fully booked, so they had to upgrade us to a suite. Oh we said, if we had to. OMG was our initial reaction, the suite was bigger than our house, the finishes were top quality and the views amazing.

The infinity pool was fabulous and the buffet breakfast was delicious.

A beautiful new hotel that does not disappoint and the staff are just as lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Singapore2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our Suite. Our Team Members will be very encouraged by your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
7,821 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 319 in Singapore
5,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £266 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing