We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive exterior, but disappointing otherwise.”
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #38 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Impressive exterior, but disappointing otherwise.”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

For the price we paid for two upgraded suites, the facilities were disappointing. We would have liked to have both bathtub AND shower, not only just a shower. The casino was smoky and unpleasant to be in. The place was crowded, more like a central station, than a hotel. We asked to have our rooms made at a specific time (around 2 p.m.). The maid never showed, and we had to request again. The show we wanted to see was cancelled, and althought the management's response to Mickey was that it is not their fault but the fault of the promoter, this seems rather unsatisfactory. It was the MBS ad (website) that people reacted to, and MBS should have had a secure contract with the promoter who would be penalized for cancellation. Proceeds from the penalty can then be used to redress the inconvenience and expense borne by hotel customers. The underlying internal contracts between MBS and the promoter have nothing to do with the customer, and MBS should make sure they have better contracts if they advertise the show.

Room Tip: Bathrooms have no locks. This is fine if you're husband and wife, or sexual partners, not ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your concerns. We regret to hear that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the cancellation of one of our shows during your stay.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the show cancellations and will feedback to the relevant department head for review and appropriate actions. The rooms in Tower 1 and Tower 2 have bathtubs and the availability of the rooms are subject to availability upon check in.

We value your feedback and hope that you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11,759
    6,180
    2,503
    890
    743
See reviews for
5,824
8,115
989
2,394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mangalore, India
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

As we passed the Singapore immigration we went near the desk of marina bay hotel and were told that the complementary bus leaves the departure terminal every 30 minutes. Hence we waited and on the time the big bus picked us and within 30 minutes short ride we were in the basement of marina bay hotel.
No one to welcome or greet us.....we just had to carry our own bags and search for the check in counter! The lobby is impressive; the hotel is a big complex of steel & glass. You get a feel of a large airport terminal were thousands of people come and go......we found the check in counter the check in was smooth.....and yes.....again no one bothered to ask us show us our room or ask if they can help us to move our bags to the room.....
The room was big, clean and modern (we had booked the club rooms) these rooms had free access for breakfast, high tea& evening cocktails (all the serving were mediocre) at the 64th floor overlooking the pool.
There are many restaurants with in the hotel as well as the shopping complex.
The shopping mall is huge and every high-end brands imaginable is available all you need is a big limit on your credit card!
Would I come back again and stay in this hotel? The answer is NO.
My advice is stay in any other hotel but come and spend half day in this hotel and nearby attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We regret to hear of the challenges you encountered upon arrival which may have affected your otherwise pleasant experience with us.

We have shared your feedback with our Guest Services department for their review and appropriate action to ensure that our guests experience a warm welcome upon arrival.

We value your patronage and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at Marina Bay Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

One of my reasons for choosing this hotel on Singapore's National Day was to catch the fireworks.

My entire family's mobile reception (Singtel and M1) was horribly bad for unknown reasons. If you need to make important phone calls, go down to the ground level for decent reception.

Mixed reviews for Services. Requested to have my food microwaved. Staff brought the oven straight to my room after 20 long minutes. I also had a difficult time trying to understand the house-keeping staff's English.

Swam at the infinity pool (superb experience) at 0700hrs and I was surprised to see a number of people there already (late morning was crazily crowded). The gym is first-class with their 1 year old equipment.

Lastly, I did an early check-out at 1000hrs to beat the long queue (according to most reviews). The process was almost instant.

Overall, I would recommend people to stay at MBS if you are not too picky about substandard service and overly crowded areas.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soonyeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are disappointed to learn that you encountered challenges which affected your otherwise pleasant experience with us.

The service experiences you have described are not consistent with the high standards of service we strive to achieve at Marina Bay Sands. Rest assured that we will continue to review our processes for improvement to ensure that our guests have a pleasant stay with us.

We thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Bay Sands in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The purpose of our trip was a family getaway to see the Lion King at the Sands Theatre, go to Universal Studios and dine at some of the celebrity chef restaurants.
First of all with regards to the shuttle from the airport my experience is that if you are travelling with young children and are in rush to get to the hotel after a long flight; you might not want to take this shuttle service. It makes multiple stops at the different terminals within the airport and waits to pick up other passengers. So an average 20 minute car ride can become 1 hour. The shuttle stops in the basement level of the hotel via a parking lot. It is quite chaotic and there is no clear signage from the basement level to the check in counter. After taking the escalator up, going left and then discovered after awhile we needed to go right, we made to the check in counter. It was here it started to go downhill, rapidly. It was 8:30 PM in the evening, and there were 5 check-in agents and the line I joined, I was next in line. It took 15 minutes before I was got the counter and the check process was extremely slow. When we asked the agent why it was so slow, we asked whether it was the computer system, she said yes and this was normal and also the hotel was fully booked and she needed to find a room for us. We had already booked two weeks prior and gave a credit card to guarantee the booking with the hotel reservations. We had emailed all requirements prior to our arrival about the need for a roll-away bed and a cot. After 15 minutes of standing waiting while the agent got us a room and were handed the keys, we were informed that if anything was taken out of the mini-bar and put back in, we still would be charged as it is an automatic min-bar system. We explained to the agent that we had young children and the agent confirmed that even if the children open the mini-bar and take something out by mistake and it was put back in immediately, we still would be charged. I explained to the agent that this was unacceptable, but she said I would have to take it up upon checkout with the hotel manager. As it was late, we decide not to go up to the room, but head to dinner and told the agent to send our bags up and make sure that the roll away bed and cot was in the room. We went to Rise restaurant in the lobby for dinner. It was a typical Las Vegas Style dinner buffet, average food and service. An hour later, we went to the room, and when we opened the door, the scent of stale smoke can be smelt, even though we were told it was a non-smoking room, and still the roll away bed and cot had not arrived. We had to call housekeeping to get them to deliver it. The room was on the 39th floor and had a great view and was modern and large. But looking closely at there was lot of evidence of poor workmanship in the construction. For example the base of the faucet in the sink completely turned around when you turn just the faucet on – see the attached a picture. Do not be surprise to see loose door handles in the common washrooms. For the kind of money being charged, you would expect some quality branded toiletry products, what was provided was quite inferior – see the attached photo. You would also expect that if you advised the hotel that you have children, they would provide necessities for children as well. Other hotels provide children shampoo, etc. Nothing was provided, not even a colouring book from Marina Sands Bay.
We had breakfast the next morning at Rise – again it was an average buffet. There seems to be a lack of a la carte options.
The last morning of our trip, we had breakfast on the 57th floor at the Sky restaurant - Great view and a slight change from Rise – smaller buffet, the opportunity to order a main course from a menu. Quality of food and service is the same, average. At one point I asked for cold water. The waiter proceeded to tell me the filtration system was not working so they would only serve bottled water. Told them that was fine and to ordered it. I waited more than 5 minutes and still no water. I went up to him and then he told me that he needs to know where I was sitting. There were only maybe 10 tables in the restaurant so he obviously forgot but made it seem like it was my problem. It finally did come he had split the bottle of water between 4 glasses and charged SGD $10. I absolutely have no problems paying money for good service and good amenities but none of those existed.
The check out the next day was a complete nightmare. The queue was so long – it was utter chaos. We just did express check out. The hotel has great views and fantastic pool, but lacks in the area of providing personal service and a magnificent experience, and clearly does not anticipate your needs.
If you want a weekend a way to enjoy The Lion King Show, the celebrity restaurants, Universal Studios and the casino, I would recommend that you do not need to stay at Marina Sands Bay – stay elsewhere. It worth the short taxi ride to get to Marina Sands Bay from fantastic hotels like Fullerton or the Four Seasons Hotel – they sure provide personal service, anticipate your needs and that magnificent experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vnjsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

First time in Singapore and first time at a hotel of this level, Unbelievable, seriously good,
I was lucky enough to stay at a Club Level room, quality of room outstanding, & the view, did I mention the view, from 35 floors up, amazing, especially at night, the floor to ceiling windows are great, having Club Level rooom meant that we were able to use the Club Lounge on the 57th Floor adjacent to the pool for breakfast, afternoon tea & drinks in the late afternoon. Its more expensive but more than worth it in my view.
Do yourself a favour and stay here @ least once, you wont regret it (bring your bathers,
the pool is awesome).
We also had room service one night and I for one was surprised that it was on par both price wise/food quality wise/serive wise with being in a restaurant & totally decadent ;)

Room Tip: Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had a great stay in our Club Room and had the opportunity to enjoy the privileges offered! We are also delighted to hear that our In-room dining exceeded your expectations.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back at Marina Bay Sands soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Where do I start it was a disaster.Firstly you have to remember that the hotel has 2500 beds and 1 reception with 6 people working there the rows for check in and check out (well I have never seen anything like this before) It takes hours to check in after 3 pm and hours to check out after 11 am.My first experience with the hotel which is the most expensive hotel ever built (I think).Our arrival at the hotel with the complimentary bus.When we arrived on the ground floor their was no one to greet us or help us with our luggage so we had to drag our luggage to the first floor.We arrived at 7 am from Rome.Did not sleep on the plane and in need of sleep.We arrived at the reception and waited aprox 1 hr to be served because it was mayhem.When we approached the reception we were told that we will have to wait till 3pm .I tried to explain our situation (no sleep) hotel 2500 beds please..........
The said they would see what they can do and let us in at 1.30pm.
Beware of the configuration of room we booked a room for the 4 of us and at the reception we were told that we would not fit.So we had to upgrade for $110.Making the room $400 for the night.
The room was great wit great view but the fold out bed was so small that only one of my chd could sleep on it .Being very tired my younger daughter decided to sleep on the floor.
My wife could not accept this especially after paying so much money for the child to sleep on the floor and called the reception.
They brought another bed and the ordeal had nearly finished.
Departure checkout nearly 1.5 hrs I cannot believe this.
Beware taxi's from the Marina Bay Sands complex incur a $3.50 start charge!!!!!!!!!!!
It is definitely not a hotel for family's or people that want to enjoy Singapore.It must be great for congresses and high flyers because they have a special check-in.
Over all never go back to this hotel again.But will go back to singapore

Room Tip: All bedrooms are great new hotel just check bedding configuration
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pedjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We regret to hear your experience was affected by the large number of crowds at our property. We do try our best to exercise flexibility in accommodating requests for early check in when we have rooms available.

We are sorry about the inconsistent service you and your family experienced. We are continuously reviewing our check in and checkout processes for improvement to provide our guests with a warm and comfortable stay.

With regards to your comment on taxi fares, the current taxi flag down fare in Singapore starts from S$2.80 onwards, depending on the type of taxi.

Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences caused and we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you and your family back at Marina Bay Sands in future to regain your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for our aniversary. Had a great dinner in one of the celebrities chef. Our room was impresive, huge and beautiful. However, it was not a romantic place at all. You feel you are like in a train station, there are plenty people in the lobby as well as in te pool in the roof. If you are looking for a relaxing gateway forget it, this is not the right place, unless you stay in the room all day.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csofia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aacortes, Senior Vice President - Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thank you for your review and a belated Happy Anniversary! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your celebratory dinner at one of our Celebrity Chef restaurants.

We have an incredible number of visitors who want to experience for themselves the atmosphere and excitement of Marina Bay Sands and we regret to learn that the crowds had affected your experience. It remains our priority that guests have an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 314 in Singapore
7,394 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#3 of 314 in Singapore
4,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Property: Marina Bay Sands
Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing