We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover”
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #41 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you have seen photographs of the Marina Sands you will agree it is impressive! Once you arrive you will be more than impressed, the architectural design is stunning. We had booked an expensive room, but after being taken to the VIP check in we were upgraded to a huge 90sqm apartment, all mod cons. Inside the building is a shopping mall, with all the expected expensive watch and jewellery shops, and a casino, plenty of eating outlets. The staff were unbelievable, approachable and very friendly, understandably, the Singaporeans can show us how it should be done, albeit, many imigrants are working in the hotel, but have been well trained. I could go on but, if you are flying to Europe from Oz then do consider this hotel on a stopover.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunset079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Executive Director of Hotel Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thank you for this great review, sunset079.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your room upgrade and I am especially heartened to learn that our Team Members made your stay a warm and comfortable one. It is our goal to create once-in-a-lifetime experiences for our guests and I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Marina Bay Sands in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,190 - 11,196 of 22,677 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

As expected, the room, view and rooftop swimming pool were magnificent, but the little things irked, which should not be the case for a 5 star hotel.
We had a late check-out set at 1pm, so spent a last leisurely morning at the rooftop pool, returning to our room at 12.15. The room key had been disabled, so we had to wait 10 minutes in the passageway, in our swimwear and towels, for a security guard to come and open our door. He was polite and apologetic, saying that it was only a computer glitch. Fine, but I did check at 12.45, and our room key had not been re-activated.
Not a big deal, but not a 5 star response.
The room fridge is totally stocked with drinks, with no room to put anything of your own in it. If you remove anything from the fridge a sensor immediately bills you for it. Great automation for instant invoicing, but not good customer service. A 5 star hotel would either leave space for the guest to use, or provide a 2nd fridge for the purpose. We would have preferred to have our water bottles chilled before heading out to the adjoining "Gardens by the Bay", which are new and well worth the visit.
The lobby is narrow and can be very crowded. Rather than have breakfast, or any other meal in the cafes here, I highly recommend walking to the Rasapura food court in the attached magnificent shopping centre. In fact, there are so many great restaurants of every description in the shopping centre that there is no temptation to eat in the hotel at all.

The only reason to stay at this hotel is to have convenient access to the casino, malls and gardens. I would rate this a good but expensive 4 star hotel, in the right place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Executive Director of Hotel Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Iant2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. I regret to learn about the challenges you encountered during your recent stay at Marina Bay Sands which may have marred your otherwise pleasant experience.

I apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the keycard and I have shared your feedback with our Front Desk team for their attention. With regards to the mini-bar refrigerators, our sensor-operated refrigerators have been implemented as a form of billing convenience for mini-bar consumption. Guests are welcome to request for the mini-bar to be cleared, either for self-storage convenience or to avoid unnecessary charges incurred.

I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you and your partner back to Marina Bay Sands in the future and regain your confidence in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I had a wonderfull day at Marina bay Sands. I had waited for taxi at tower 3. During my waiting period, Mr Paul Raja (Staff Marina Bay Sands) turn up to me and offered his excellent service by explaining about free compliment which offered by Marina whereby its a free shuttle bus which straight goes to airport. Thanks to Mr Paul Raja for his excellent service and thanks to Marina for the compliments. I hope to see Mr Paul Raja again during my next visit soon.

Good luck and all the best

Regards

Dr Simon Coyne

Room Tip: Choose higher level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_simon_coyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Executive Director of Hotel Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear dr_simon_coyne,

Thank you for posting your comments here. We are proud to learn that our Team Member, Mr. Paul Raja, assisted in making your visit a warm and comfortable one.

As a result of your kind compliments, we are delighted to present Mr. Paul with a Grazie Award, a Marina Bay Sands Rewards and Recognition initiative we have for our Team Members, to celebrate their success in creating Magnificent experiences for our valued guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Marina Bay Sands soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in August this year with my family. We had booked and planned to stay for three nights but ended up only staying for one and going back to the Holiday Inn on Orchard Street (See my separate review on there) due to an incident where the bouncer at the nightclub on the roof of the hotel knocked my Dad's camera out of his hand and broke it and called the police on my dad just because he questioned why he couldn't go into the club (the bouncer said it was because he had shorts on) when girls were going in wearing short dresses. Obviously my Dad shouldn't have tried to argue with a bouncer, but the bouncer's response was unacceptable. The nightclub however isn't actually a part of the hotel, and the hotel were apologetic and refunded us for the one night we had stayed at the hotel, but my family didn't wish to stay any longer, I thought this was a shame as the hotel is beautiful.

Rooms:
We stayed in a standard room but on a higher floor (where you pay a little bit extra). It is worth paying a bit more for, the views were incredible! The rooms are extremely spacious and modern. Robes and slippers are included along with plenty of complimentary toiletries. No bath but the shower is very nice and huge! Room service breakfast was lovely.

Pool:
The pool is AMAZING. One of the best in the world. With views of the stunning Botanical Gardens on one side and the city on the other, it really is incredible.

Food:
We only had room service breakfast, but it was lovely, and they put on a very pretty spread for you.

Service:
The service could be improved. There was quite a wait for check in and obviously the whole bouncer incident could have been dealt with better.

Location:
The location is good but there are more central hotels in Singapore if you are looking to sight-see. The hotel has its own casino, mall, bars etc so you might not even want to leave! It's also quite close to Clarke Quay where there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants.

Please feel free to message me if you have any queries on the hotel or Singapore in general.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milly v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Fabulous experience staying here. Definitely has the WOW factor. Staff excellent. Attention to detail was exceptional. Views absolutely amazing. Well-equipped gym with superb equipment. Spacious rooms. Very comfortable beds and choice of pillows. Secure system in the lifts. Transfers to and from airport was super efficient. Only fault was the room air conditioning was slow to respond. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Executive Director of Hotel Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review, Anne1960.

It is our goal to create once-in-a-lifetime experiences for our guests and I am thrilled to learn that our Team Members contributed to making your stay a warm and comfortable one.

I have shared your comments on the guestroom air-conditioning with our Facilities team for their review.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We first visited Marina Bay Sands when it was nearing completion and although enjoying the architecture were not impressed by the complex. We visited again this year and found it to be grandiose, but not representative of what we love about Singapore.

Leaving aside the hotel and casino we spent some time in the shopping mall attached to them. As you would expect there are a good number of expensive brands with outlets in the mall, but also some shops catering for those with less demanding tastes. One novelty is the canal which is enclosed in part of the mall which left me wondering if I was in Singapore or Las Vegas.

If you like shopping for expensive shoes and hand bags, like playing golf at the club, and diamond jewellery then the Marina Bay Sands may be just the place for you. For people with more austere tastes there are far more interesting and truly "Singaporean" places to go and things to do.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

To all the helping staff on October 22nd at Tower 2 of Marina Bay Sands:

Here I write to thank all the staff and personnel who gave their enormous help and service that solved my problem during my stay last month.
It's by all means an afternoon to remember within my hotel experiences.

All Names of staff below deserve to be greatly honored:

Miss Alice Wong
Miss Tang Dang
Miss Huang Ying
Miss Lu Xia
Miss Evon
Mr. Huang Lei

The trouble happened in the early morning because of my lethargy by the Flu and soon it became to a certain level that I cannot deal with by myself alone.
The first helping hand came to me was from Miss Tang Dang.

I can't praise her outstanding effort enough.
She herself tried so hard to make the thing turn on a brighter side.
And then along came Miss Huang Ying, Miss Lu Xia, Miss Evon, and Mr. Huang Lei.
With their tremendous exertion, my problem was finally fixed.
What I am trully touched was, to my knowledge, the time they spent in my room supposed to be their off-duty.

At the same time I would like to emphasize the successful leadership of Miss Alice Wong.
I believe She has accomplished leading a team that works together well and always be willing to do more for the customers, which,in my idea, become the most important value to a hotel at your level.
Marina Bay Sand is really lucky to have such great staff and personnel in both management team and front line staff.
I will be very glad to book in again, if I may, in the future and introduce my friends to stay in your hotel.

Best Regards,
Eugene Chou
05/Nov./2012

Room Tip: Must Select the City-View Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pek_ChinSiong, Executive Director of Hotel Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Eugene C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here. There is no greater satisfaction than receiving kind words from a valued guest and I am happy to learn that our Team Members contributed to making your visit to Marina Bay Sands a comfortable one.

As a result of your kind compliments, we are delighted to present Miss Alice Wong, Miss Tang Dang, Miss Huang Ying, Miss Lu Xia, Miss Evon and Mr. Huang Lei with Grazie Awards, a Marina Bay Sands Rewards and Recognition initiative we have for our Team Members, to celebrate their success in creating Magnificent experiences for our valued guests.

Thank you again for your kind compliments and I hope to welcome you back to Marina Bay Sands soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 317 in Singapore
7,658 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#25 of 317 in Singapore
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#41 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £270 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing