We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst of the worst”
Review of Pasir Panjang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pasir Panjang Inn
Ranked #263 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst of the worst”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This hotel is not a budget businessman's hotel, but as the name tells, an inn.
The rooms are dirty and very shabby. There was a TV (without a remote control), a small refrigerator (empty) and a water heater for making coffee or tea (not provided). You also get provided with two small soaps and two very used small towels.
Most other guests are Malay or Indian container ship or oil workers.
The staff is very un-friendly, and the Chinese man in the reception doesn't want to speak English, although I heard him doing so several times to the rest of the staff.
I stayed here with my Indonesian wife (I am caucasian), and directly the hotel thought my wife was a prostitute and treated her with no respect at all (she does not dress in a sexy way). The day after a sign was put up at the elevator that "female guests in the rooms is not allowed". Directed against us, as I think my wife was the only woman in the hotel except for the staff.
Don't even bother to try the lousy breakfast.
The price is not that low either, you can find three slightly cheaper hotels just beside (e.g. Fragrance hotel) and in Chinatown there are many much cheaper hotels, which is also much more central.
I will never ever stay in this place again. Beware!

Room Tip: Walk into Fragrance hotel beside instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TotoM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
1
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel and I think it is excellent value for money. It is a budget hotel, so don't stay here if you want luxury. However if you want a clean hotel with a bed you can sleep in at a rate that is quite low for Singapore, then this is your place. I paid S$148 for a superior room. The bed was firm but I slept like a log. The room is quite large for Singapore and has a bathroom with full bath and stone appearance vanity bench and good standard basin and toilet. The shower was fine, water plentiful and hot. The towels are on the thin and well used side, but perfectly adequate. The walls are not thin, there was no problem with noise. Most importantly for Singapore, the air conditioning was very good. The room does not have tea and coffee making or an iron, but an iron was supplied on request by 8am, and the room does contain a jug so if you get your own coffee etc you can make your own coffee.

Breakfast is basic but adequate, basically toast and your choice of fried or scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage. Coffee is from a coffee machine, but the milk is powdered, not real.

The area is quite ok and ranges from upmarket apartment blocks to hotels that rent by the hour (draw your own conclusions what for!). Pasir Panjang has a sign in the foyer saying they do not rent by the hour, so while it is a budget hotel, it is not low class.

The hotel includes a cafe with very cheap meals up to 10pm, and there are half a dozen restaurants only 100 metres away in Clementi Road.

The hotel appears to be run by a family, which possibly explains why they maintain good basic standards. Service is friendly and good.

Location is good, next to the University, on bus routes, and not far from the CBD.

I can recommend this hotel. I see there are some negative reviews but if you look up "Pasir Panjang Guest House" (same place) you will see good reviews. As I said, don't come here expecting luxury, but do come here if you want good value for money and a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Superior room was excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The rooms are very basic. Only 2 rough towels are given and a few tiny soap bars, that's it!

The complimentary breakfast is white bread toast with jam and butter, and a choice of fried egg or fried rice.

The area is located in a quiet university suburb. There are halal restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooldoc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Philadelphia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Dilapidated room and bath, unhelpful and resource-less front desk, poor breakfast. Especially miserable in view of the fact that it is in the highly developed Singapore. It is by the National University of Singapore campus but far from the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The Pasir Panjang Inn is a true gem of a hotel. It's located on the West side of Singapore, some 45 minutes away from the city centre by bus (there is a bus stop just outside the building - take the 143!) and about 15 minutes away by taxi. The rooms are spacious and clean with a decent sized bathroom, air conditioning (a total necessity in Singapore's sweltering temperatures!) TV, free WIFI connection, fridge and kettle. Unlike some other budget hotels in Singapore, the PP Inn does not rent rooms 'by the hour', so you're unlikely to be disturbed by the some of the seedier sights of the city!

Breakfast is included in the price and is served in the hotel's in-house coffee shop on the ground floor. There's a decent choice and it's all served with a smile. A lot of the guests at breakfast are long termers from PP cottage next door ; guys and girls working at the petrochemical complexes and port nearby.

The staff are what makes this average hotel so great. They are all so welcoming and treat guests as family, yet without being overly intrusive. If I were staying in Singapore again I would stay at the PP Inn without a moment's hesitation. If you're looking for a reasonable place to stay and don't mind not being in the city centre then I would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank sandboas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
#227 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Waterfront
Fragrance Hotel - Waterfront
#295 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Ocean View
Fragrance Hotel - Ocean View
#291 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
#83 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#208 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
6.6 mi away
Arena Country Club
Arena Country Club
#232 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pasir Panjang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasir Panjang Inn

Property: Pasir Panjang Inn
Address: 404 Pasir Panjang Road Pasir Panjang Hotel, Singapore 118741, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pasir Panjang Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pasir Panjang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasir Panjang Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing