We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Boutique!”
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #111 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very interesting, quirky boutique hotel in Little India section of Singapore. Great location, near MRT and bus lines. Our room, 2nd floor corner, facing Dickson Road, was a Pantone Deluxe room all in yellow, with a neon sign saying "Yellow Submarine" over the bed. Bed was very comfortable, but a little hard for the person sleeping next to the window to get in and out of because it is set into a raised platform. Looks neat, but hard to navigate. Great breakfast with several menu options. Little India is a gritty neighborhood of Indian shops and restaurants, that really feels like India, with its attendant smells and noises. We never felt threatened walking through the neighborhood at night, although I would advise avoiding some of the dark alleys we passed. The hotel has no pool, just a very shallow jacuzzi which we didn't use. Soft drinks and water in the room's fridge were complimentary - a nice touch when returning from slogging through Singapore's 95% humidity.

The only drawback was the street noise. On Saturday night, the noise level from the several open air restaurants adjoining or facing the hotel was significant. It continued unabated until a 4am thunderstorm chased the crowds home. Sunday night was better, but still rather noisy. Monday night was OK. The problem is that the windows on the 2nd floor do not block out street noise. Also, there is a lot of street construction going on now, which made taking a restorative afternoon nap a challenge. The hotel's management is aware of the problem, and placed a little card in the room offering us a gift to compensate us for the noise. Unfortunately, there was no gift in the room, and we never asked about it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of the rooms facing Dickson Road on weekend nights - too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonardas_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Leonardas_P,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel as well as what the surrounding area had to offer. The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane.

Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Situated in litle india near Bugis underground. It room are small but it is a big bummer that we book the most expensive room and that a bad idea because we have to climb a very steep stair to bed. The bed and pillow are not comfortable, I wake up in the morning with my sore neck and body. Like other comment the room is not quitet at night because the street downstairs.Very nice breakfast, tasty. Overall it is a interesting experience but i would prefer something a bit more normal and functional.

Oh there is no iron and iron board so not good for business traveler at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anqueetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Anqueetas,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are disappointed that did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Our guests’ ease and comfort is of utmost priority and we are taking measures to do what we can to eradicate/minimize the noise issue you experienced. We take our guests' feedback seriously and your feedback has been looked into and addressed with the relevant departments.

We do recognise that Wanderlust is not for every traveller, and perhaps you'd like to try our sister hotels, New Majestic Hotel or Hotel 1929 in the future.

The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore once again, we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here twice in March and couldn't be happier. First of all, the service is truly exceptional. Everyone who works there was helpful and friendly with anything we ever wanted. Second, the location is great. We are so happy we decided to stay in Little India, I think it's really the best area to stay. There is so much food and culture around there, I wish we could've stayed longer!! Third, we stayed in one of the loft rooms on the fourth floor. The stairs getting to the bed are quite steep so just be aware of that. But we loved our room and found it to be well designed and despite being small, we felt there was ample room for our stuff. All I can say is that we will definitely stay here the next time we are in Singapore!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tizemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear tizemple,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your generous compliments.
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel as well as what the surrounding area had to offer. Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. Each level is done by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel.

I am pleased you found the staff to be helpful and friendly.
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I loved my hotel room - it was unique, high quality and relatively cheap. It is located in Little India which isn't the nicest part of Singapore, but it added to the quirkiness of the hotel. The little things that the hotel thoughtfully added is what makes this hotel awesome - the Nespresso coffee machine, free drinks in the fridge, kiehls body products, slippers, robes, newspaper every morning. However, only downside is that it is quite noisy outside with bars and restaurants open all night - but even then, the hotel provided earplugs. It is definitely worth staying in Little India just to experience Wanderlust.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kyliec087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear kyliec087
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your generous compliments.
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and take pleasure in the amenities provided by the hotel. Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!

The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane. We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Its a french hotel in Little Indian, great location and now Id always stay in this area of Singapore if a where to travel to there again. Very good French breakfast, great small rooms, beds are futons which where to soft for our liking, great bath products, bath/shower excellent, Paid more than I realised when we got there, hip hotel, lovely staff, classy French restaurant, didnt eat in, to much fantastic food outside! Nice Thai next door, wonderful everywhere. The front counter staff very good at what the do, great help to us !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear emmcov,

Thank you for your generous compliments.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoy your stay with us in the hotel as well as the food and culturally rich surroundings. Do request for a different theme room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!

We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Dear Ed Y,

Thank you for your generous compliments.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do request for a different theme room for your next stay so that you may experience more of the New Majestic Hotel!

I am also glad that you found our staff nice and helpful and liked our central location.
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great staycation! Unique colour theme for every room. Our was a pretty turquoise theme (Pantone Room)!
Polite and very helpful staff who showed us the different colour themes when we were making a choice.
Awesome rain shower from the top of a ceiling makes bathing fun (although there's also a showerhead if you prefer). iPhone speaker/dock provided.
There's a small outdoor rainbow coloured jacuzzi on the 2nd floor. 6am - 9pm. I didn't get to try that though.
Complimentary (non-alcoholic) drinks, coffee, tea, and bathing stuff from Kiehls.
Breakfast was wonderful, with a choice of pancakes or eggs, AND unlimited cereal and bread.

The only downside: room might be a little too small for travellers with luaggage (especially the pantone room). Plus the backalley which we were facing was a little noisy at night from late night diners, but Wanderlust has preempted it and provided complimentary ear plugs. (Room 207)

Room Tip: check out the size of the room before deciding on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tengawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Delakrojx,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your generous compliments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and time with us at the hotel and found pleasure in the amenities provided. Do request for a different room theme for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!

Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. Each level is done by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel.

We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I booked the Space Theme Whimsical Room on the 4th floor and soon I found that it was a great choice. At first it was a little dark when the staff brought us to the room, but i guess it went with the theme (space). the blinds at the windows can be drawn to allow more light in.

This room in particular had a large bathtub and 2 separate cubicles for shower and toilet.

However, i wouldn't recommend this room for the elderly as the bed if located half a level up on the loft.

Other than that. i'd say this was a perfect choice for my girlfriend's birthday and i would definitely return to try out the other rooms!

Keep it up Wanderlust! The Staff was very warm and welcoming, not to mentioned super friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Daryl Y,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your kind compliments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and time with us at the hotel. Do request for a different room theme for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!

We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#130 of 317 in Singapore
242 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
1,600 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#53 of 317 in Singapore
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#61 of 317 in Singapore
455 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,199 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £86 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing