We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool boutique hotel”
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #93 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool boutique hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stay for one night just for the experience. Was fascinated by the retro deco and individually themed rooms. Stayed on the fourth floor where my room was jungle themed with loft bed like a treehouse and fake decorative leaves on the ceiling. There was a coffee maker with nespresso coffee provided and even an iPhone dock. 2 tvs were provided - one at the bedside and seating area so you could watch in bed or at the sofa. Best part I like is all the beverages were complimentary! There is a small jacuzzi at level 2 for guests but the water strangely wasn't warm enough. We skipped it.

There is a complimentary breakfast the next morning at the French restaurant at level 1. Luckily if not it would cost $25++. A semi buffet breakfast with cereal and beverages free flow and one main course. Food was not bad actually.

Overall quite a nice exp

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chewkoksheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear chewkoksheng,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your kind compliments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Each level is done by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel. Do request for a different themed room the next time you visit, so that you may experience more of Wanderlust!

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    326
    99
    40
    18
See reviews for
56
440
97
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Checked in for two nights at Wanderlust in Little India. Check in was quick and efficient. We were given our requested room (Black Pantone). Room rate was quite good (although was annoying having preauthorisation of 50% taken off my credit card 4 days before arrival, and then another full authorisation taken when checking in - paid cash to settle on bill upon check out thus have paid almost 3 times value of the room until the credit per authorisations are cancelled)

The room was nice - bigger than expected, and had a window looking out over the spa area. The bed was amazingly comfortable! The shower was great, rainfall shower head. Everything in the mini bard (juice,soft drink, water) was free which was a nice touch.

Breakfast at the Cocette restaurant was excellent - and built into the price of the room which was great value. There were a few menu options to choose from - only thing I would suggest would be mixing it up on different days.

The area so Little India was cool. Wish we had more time to journey around. It's a 5 minute walk to Little India MRT. There is a great Hawker Centre (food court) next to the MRT station with a variety of Asian, Indian, Malay stalls (each rated with an A,B,C that relates to its cleanliness)

Great hotel - wish I could have checked out some of the other rooms!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Alexander R,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

The hotel pre-authorises all credit cards for before the guests’ arrival to check for validity and sufficiency of funds. Pre-authorised cards are held as security for reservations and may be utilised for any applicable charges, including cancellation and non-arrival fees. The pre-authorised amount is set aside by the credit card company and may affect the available funds balance or spending limit. At check-in, the card is also pre-authorised for the entire stay as well as incidental charges. We do accept cash deposit at check-in and would have accepted this alternative if we were informed that you’d like to settle by cash instead. We do regret for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for your generous compliments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as what the surrounding area has to offer.

Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Mines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Wanderlust is a very funky hotel with a very different slant from the conventional. The character, the decor, just very different and a breath of fresh air (check out the room pics on their website). Staff are extremely helpful and hospitable. It is a pity that it is located in Little India because it tends to be very crowded and dirty presumably due to the predominantly immigrant population. The footpaths in Little India are very narrow and like an obstacle path if you are travelling with a little one in a pram. Most of the time we ended up walking on the road and dodging car traffic. On balance the helpful and cheerful staff made up for the not-so-great location and made it a pleasant holiday overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonbonjovi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Jonbonjovi_12,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your generous compliments.
I am glad that you found our staff extremely helpful and hospitiable.

Just as how our sister hotels, Hotel 1929 and New Majestic Hotel are housed in culturally rich Chinatown, Wanderlust is located in Little India, culturally rich with so much to explore. This adds to the quirkiness of the boutique hotel, making it more unique

Alternatively, you might want to try our sister hotels, New Majestic Hotel and Hotel 1929, which might provide a more viable option for your future stay

Should your travel plans take you to Singapore once again, we hope you would offer us the opportunity to be of service once again to you.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our room was smallish but very funky. The whole hotel is cool and stylish, shows lots of imagination.
Staff were excellent as was breakfast except for very ordinary coffee on a couple of mornings - to us this was the hotel's only flaw (and good coffee is important!).
Ate in the hotel's french restaurant on our last evening - not cheap but we had a truly great meal!! Excellent cheap eats everywhere in the neighbourhood, including Hotel 81's outdoor eatery straight across the road, and the thai place next door.
We loved being in Little India, great curries at every turn and close to chinatown and train stations. As with rest of singapore, the area felt very safe too. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizgordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear lizgordie,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your generous compliments.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in the hotel as well as what the surrounding area has to offer.

Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromont, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We spent only one night there but we had a very nice time ! We had the "Space Room", a little bit more expensive but it was worth it. The room was nothing compared to any other hotel ! We felt like children again: there was a spaceship, a nice egg-chair and black walls with sparkling stars everywhere ! There is a separate area for the toilet and the shower, but the bath is pretty much IN the living room, which we loved ! The coffee machine and complimentary drinks in the fridge were very appreciated. The restaurant and the communal area were great, the included breakfast was very good too. I highly recommend this hotel for the price. The only bad thing I can say is about the location: it's very noisy and not nice for walking, but the hotel is close to public transport so it's not a big problem. Also, because you have to climb very steep stairs to get to the bed, I wouldn't recommend this room for older people.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valérie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear GLAMOUROUSVEE,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your generous compliments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The whimsical lofts were designed exactly with the idea to bring out the child in you. I am pleased that you found pleasure in the amenities provided by the hotel as well as the breakfast spread.

The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane.

Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great location. Fantastic breakfast and communal area. Unique and interesting rooms that make you want to stay indoors. The only reason it wasn't amazing is that the staff were nice but didn't seem to want to or actually go out of their way to help you experience Singapore. I would stay there again for the quirky room and location but wouldnt for the service - the latter you would get better from a bigger hotel,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Steven P,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We take our guests' feedback seriously and your feedback has been looked into and addressed with the relevant departments.

I am however glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel rooms and the breakfast spread.

Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very interesting, quirky boutique hotel in Little India section of Singapore. Great location, near MRT and bus lines. Our room, 2nd floor corner, facing Dickson Road, was a Pantone Deluxe room all in yellow, with a neon sign saying "Yellow Submarine" over the bed. Bed was very comfortable, but a little hard for the person sleeping next to the window to get in and out of because it is set into a raised platform. Looks neat, but hard to navigate. Great breakfast with several menu options. Little India is a gritty neighborhood of Indian shops and restaurants, that really feels like India, with its attendant smells and noises. We never felt threatened walking through the neighborhood at night, although I would advise avoiding some of the dark alleys we passed. The hotel has no pool, just a very shallow jacuzzi which we didn't use. Soft drinks and water in the room's fridge were complimentary - a nice touch when returning from slogging through Singapore's 95% humidity.

The only drawback was the street noise. On Saturday night, the noise level from the several open air restaurants adjoining or facing the hotel was significant. It continued unabated until a 4am thunderstorm chased the crowds home. Sunday night was better, but still rather noisy. Monday night was OK. The problem is that the windows on the 2nd floor do not block out street noise. Also, there is a lot of street construction going on now, which made taking a restorative afternoon nap a challenge. The hotel's management is aware of the problem, and placed a little card in the room offering us a gift to compensate us for the noise. Unfortunately, there was no gift in the room, and we never asked about it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of the rooms facing Dickson Road on weekend nights - too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardas_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Leonardas_P,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel as well as what the surrounding area had to offer. The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane.

Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#58 of 312 in Singapore
784 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#134 of 312 in Singapore
213 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#47 of 312 in Singapore
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#57 of 312 in Singapore
333 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 312 in Singapore
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Property: Wanderlust
Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#82 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#86 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing