We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall very good”
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #92 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Poland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“overall very good”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had some doubts at the beginning of our stay in this hotel as I am crazy about details but after spending there almost 4 days I can say I am very glad that I had chosen it. I will start with disadvantages- rooms are very small and designed in a way I do not really like. There are some small things that my be important to someone- detail work of rooms could be definitely better and lighting is not the best. The area around is Little India. Little India is simply like little India, a bit grotty, sorry. And now advantages- this hotel with it's incredibly comfortable beds gives you a perfect relax after your busy day in this extremely nosy and hot city. Staff is very polite, I liked a lot lady serving in a restaurant for breakfasts, she was for me a perfect example of what asian politeness is. We had a flight back home late at night and they gave us a free room to take shower in late evening, this was very nice and hopeful especially that hotels usually do not care about their guests after check out. Hotel is situated just a couple of minutes away form a metro station and is very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Marzena D,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent to stay at the Wanderlust Hotel!

We acknowledge that being housed in a conservation building, our rooms are relatively compact but we do try to maximise the space available for guests to store their luggages. Perhaps you would like to try our Mono rooms or Whimsical Lofts during your next stay as the rooms are more spacious.

Despite your concerns mentioned, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and that you found the beds to your liking. The Ploh beddings definitely played a part in recreating the cloud-like fluffiness of our beds!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Singapore and we hope you had fun exploring the city!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    334
    102
    41
    19
See reviews for
57
453
101
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of "Little India". We started our trip there and were happy to see also "the other side" of Singapore. The part is not that clean and fancy like the other parts of the city, but it is full of life (especially in the evening). The hotel is modern, stylish and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful (Thanks for printing our boarding-cards!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedasen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi Pedasen85,

Thank you for your kind review of Wanderlust Hotel.

We are heartened to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel's location. Little India is indeed a very vibrant and dynamic neighbourhood with lots of bustling activities going on! With lots to discover around the area, you can even walk to Kampong Glam where the previous Malay-quarters once were for a cultural day trip!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wanderlust and wishing you safe travels till we meet again!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Boutique hotel just 5 mins walk from Little India MRT station. Interesting part of Singapore and being close to the underground a bonus. Hotel is modern and clean, nice to have free soft drinks in the room and free wifi. But we found our room a little on the small side with not much of a view. Also the toilet was separated from the bedroom with just a frosted glass door, not ideal. But it was a nice hotel overall, well decked out and good breakfast.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilythewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Emilythewanderer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Singapore!

Wanderlust is indeed well-situated between the Bugis and Little India MRT stations and the walk to either stations do bring you around the bustle of local activities in the area.

Being located in a conservation building we do acknowledge that our rooms might be slightly compact however we do try to maximise the space in each room.

Do check out our sister hotels in London - Town Hall Hotel & Apartments, One Leicester Street and 196 Bishopsgate and feel free to follow us at UnlistedC on Instagram for updates of our properties!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Singapore and wishing you an exciting year of travels!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Singapore is super costly in the terms of hotel prices, you get little for your money, Wunderlust was on my list of go try it out, great service, free upgrade on the room. had a minor issue with the coffee machine in the room, unit replaced in 5 mins, while they replaced the unit, the staff showed us a few other rooms, all unique, very very cool. Great nice sleep comfy bed. OK breakfast. Only issue is you like this section of town of Singapore.
if you want a try a super unique place, this is it!! No hotel in Singapore is a great value, but for a unique, get a high room to avoid noise for a great night sleep, comfy bed, worth a night or two, breakfast is nice, just small.

Room Tip: Get a high room to avoid noise for a great night sleep, comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughnhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi Vaughnhurst,

Greetings from Wanderlust Hotel!

We are glad to hear that you liked the hotel and that you had a pleasant experience with us. Taking pride in the service we provide to our guests, we strive to ensure that your stay with us is a comfortable one, akin to being at home.

Hope to see you during your next visit to Singapore and should you wish to try a different hotel, do check out our sister property the New Majestic Hotel or Hotel 1929 located in the historic Chinatown.

Till next time!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was totally thrilled by this experience. This hotel is very close to Little India.
Each room had a different theme. The room was small and a bit difficult to find a way to use my laptop. The lobby restaurant was amazing. The way the food was presented was also too good. The welcome kit called Passport was very innovative. Overall a superb experience where I continued to be amazed by the innovation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenkateshCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Greetings from Wanderlust!

Thank you for sharing your feedback VenkateshCR! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the food served at Cocotte. As mentioned, each floor has different themes (Eccentricity, Is it Black or White and Creatures of Comfort) which lends the hotel a quirkiness and is great fun to stay in!

Perhaps during your next visit to Singapore, you would like to try our sister hotel - New Majestic Hotel which houses bigger rooms (and might be easier for you to work within) and more facilities (a gym and outdoor swimming pool), situated in the historic Chinatown and just a stone's throw away from Outram Park MRT Station.

Nevertheless, we look forward to welcoming you back to Singapore and do feel free to dine at Cocotte and enjoy a discount of 15% off your total bill when you stay in any one of our Singapore hotels!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a funky boutique hotel located in Little India. Great decor in the lobby (if you like different) and there is a small rooftop terrace with a jacuzzi. The restaurant/bar downstairs serves breakfast in the morning. I stayed in a Pantone Room on Level 2 in Cyan colour. The little touches in the room were a bonus - Nespresso coffee maker, iPod dock and TV and free mini-bar (complimentary coke, coke zero, water and juice selection). Breakfast was included in the room rate with a choice of 1 out of 3 (Fruit bowl, pancakes or American breakfast), this is also complemented by Orange Juice, Toast, Yoghurt and cereals. I had the fruit bowl and it is a huge serve with yoghurt and lime zest. The lady in the restaurant couldn't be more attentive and friendly. Given the extras this makes it good value for Singapore. Pantone rooms are relatively small so may not suit everyone (look to upgrade to one of the larger rooms). My room was clean and the bed was really comfortable, showers and toilet are in cubicles and storage space is limited but none of this bothered me. Rooms back on to a lane which has a restaurant in it and although double glazed you can still here some street noise but none of this affected my sleep!!! Earplugs are provided for those really light sleepers. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to assist me - this can really make a difference to your stay. The Little India location will not suit everyone but the MRT station is within walking distance and I walked to the Kampong Glam area to visit the mosque etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel but if you like slightly larger rooms I would go for Levels 2 & 3 which I think have bigger rooms. If you are looking for a quirky hotel in a vibrant neighbourhood then you should book this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less street noise and larger rooms if you don't like small, neat spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hi TraceyC4,

Many thanks for your kind review of Wanderlust!

We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the rooms on the 3rd & 4th floor are bigger than the ones on the 2nd floor however the rooms on each floor has different characteristics and they are all equally great fun to stay in!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunny Singapore! Till next time!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

great place to stay , funky details that will catch your attention specially if you get one of the see through toilets ... this place might not be for everybody but it is a great experience and the service and location are just amazing ... plus the restaurant serves great breakky and the bar doesn't do it that bad either ...

Room Tip: ask for the details of the toilets if you travel in a couple ... you might find it odd otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola_Blabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Lola_Blabla!

We love to hear that you enjoyed the Wanderlust as we strive to make our guests' stay a unique and memorable experience.

Most of our bathrooms are actually fitted with frosted glass for the more private individuals but we do have some rooms which has explores the boundaries of private space.

Nevertheless, thank you for choosing to stay at the Wanderlust and we most definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Singapore!

Do check out our sister properties in London (Town Hall Hotel & Apartments, One Leicester Street, and 196 Bishopsgate) and we sure hope that you will love them as much as we do!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 315 in Singapore
1,546 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#58 of 315 in Singapore
804 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#133 of 315 in Singapore
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#54 of 315 in Singapore
388 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 315 in Singapore
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Property: Wanderlust
Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#81 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#86 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing