We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Design Hotel in Singapore!”
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #95 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A few weeks ago I stayed at the Wanderlust Hotel. Everything about my stay was excellent - very clean, friendly staff, good coffee machine in my room, amazing food at the hotel's Cocette Restaurant and quirky design that's difficult to forget. I stayed in a room on the fourth floor. It was a loft room with a tree theme. Even though I'm not the biggest fan of the Little India area in which this hotel is located, I would definitely stay there again. AWESOME DESIGN HOTEL!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have two levels which might not be the best option for older people or those who...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilizna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Ilizna E,

Greetings from Wanderlust Hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back to stay with us! The Whimsical Loft rooms are definitely great fun to stay in with a friendly "monster" accompanying the "lonely" travellers behind each door.

Do check-out our sister hotel - the New Majestic Hotel situated in the historic Chinatown neighbourhood which is equally design-centric during your next visit!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
There are newer reviews for Wanderlust
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Interesting design to the rooms. We stayed in one of the Pantone rooms. Staff were professional and friendly. Location in Little India is good. Just a minor thing but the water temperature wasn't hot in the shower.

Room Tip: Pantone rooms are interesting.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mark K,

Thank you for your kind comment, we appreciate your review of your stay at Wanderlust.

Located within Little India, bustling with culture and colours, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location. Having said that, we are sorry to hear about the water heater not being up to standard, and will definitely look into that. We however hope to get a chance to prove our efficiency in error correction during your next visit to Singapore.


Have a great day!

Sincerely,
Shari Knott
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We found the staff at Wanderlust exceptional. Our arrival was met with professionalism and attention, and when our doona proved a little worse for wear they immediately replaced it. Although photographs make the rooms appear much larger, our orange Pantone room had everything one needs for a short stopover stay. I would recommend staying in larger rooms if you are planning a couple of days; there isn't a lot of room for bags etc. It's certainly a comfortable experience among the hustle of little India - and a cracker of a breakfast!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LAWWRUH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear LAWWRUH,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were well taken care of by our staff.

Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. Each level are done by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel. While our rooms are rather compact, they are brimming with character and personality.

We hope to get a chance to welcome you back in our sunny shore to try the other rooms!

Kindly,
Shari Knott
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is located very close to SimLim Plaza, and there are lots of restaurants around.

The hotel as a very unique design starting from the lobby. All the rooms in the hotel have different designs. But the room I've stayed in was in fact not good. First of all the room was very narrow and there was no place to put the luggage so I had to leave it on the floor. Also the complimentary coffe and tea was placed on a shelf where you can only reach by stepping on your bed. By the way the bed is built in to a raised floor so there's no wooden or metal frame for the bed which is also very challenging to get in and get out.

The breakfast was ok, not too much to select from. But the staff is friendly and trying to help to guests' requests.

Too much noise coming from the street food-courts which is a very very big negative.

I can recommend this hotel to travellers looking for some different accomodation experience. But certainly not good for businessmen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UmutA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear UnutA,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with us.

Designed for the intrepid travelers who appreciate unconventional hotel accommodations, we recognise that the rooms may not be to everybody's liking. Residing within an old chinese school that boast a long history and a beautiful old Singapore architecture, we try to minimise alteration of the interior to keep the features in its original form. Despite these limitations, with the help of local design companies, we created different themes for each floor of the hotel, and different decorations for each room.

We strive to ensure that all our guests have a fantastic time at Wanderlust and we are truly pleased to hear that our staff may your stay comfortable and worthy of a mention.

Till then, safe travels!

Sincerely,
Shari Knott,
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I only spent a few hours at Wanderlust, but they were great! I arrived in the evening needing a very early taxi (around 3:00 am). The staff was so helpful about arranging for the cab to pick me up. In addition, they offered me a breakfast to go, which was superb - a bowl of fruit, yogurt, and an oversized sandwich.
I stayed in a monochrome pink room which was funky and the bed was quite comfortable. The room was small, as indicated in other reviews, but I generally need a bed, a clean room, a shower, and a toilet in a hotel room, and all of that was available. The price was not inexpensive, but it was not overpriced. The location was near Little Italy, and although I did not go out into the surrounding area while I was there, I found that it was in a safe area.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would go back to stay there if I am ever in Singapore again.

Room Tip: I had a monochrome room, one of the least expensive, but it was clean and comfortable. I think other...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cad0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hi cad0808,

Greetings from sunny Singapore!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us albeit short. Do stay with us again when you next visit Singapore to fully enjoy the hotel and to soak up the vibrant neighbourhood which is bustling with activities.

The Pantone Rooms are indeed slightly compact but as you mentioned, it is equipped with all the necessities one would require - an in-room Nespresso machine, complimentary wifi, in-room mini-bar with complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and the luxurious Shanghai Tang toiletries which is a great way to enjoy a long shower after a long day.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Wanderlust Hotel!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

For me the most important part of travelling is the hotel,and I have to say one of the best hotels I ever been to. Maybe not much suitable for families but if you are couple,solo or friends give this hotel a try.
The staff was very friendly,they even made me breakfast for when I'm in the flight and helped me in booking the taxi and places to go in singapore
The rooms are so unique and nice,you can have normal lightening and those beautiful lights.
The design of the reception and even the elevator was great
Totally in love with this hotel

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Fatemeh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi Fatemeh A,

Greetings from Wanderlust!

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Singapore. We are heartened to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well.

Indeed the Origami Mono rooms are great fun to stay in with the interactive pads by the bedside allowing one to change the room's lightings as one's mood dictates.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Wanderlust and it is our pleasure to be of assistance during your stay with us!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked this hotel hoping for a more personal boutique experience. Right from the booking the service was poor. We contacted the hotel a whole week before our arrival to enquire whether it was possible to arrange for an early check in & whether there would be any charges associated with this. Received an email saying that they could not tell us??? Arriving in Singapore at 6:30am we were both tired from our flight so we decided to proceed to the hotel & just see whether we could check in or leave our bags with the concierge. On arrival we were told that we could check in for an additional rate of approx $140AUD- I don't know why they didn't advise us of this when I enquired via email. Anyway, we opted to pay the extra. Over our 2 day stay front desk staff were difficult about everything from calling taxis, to enquiries about whether we could have an early breakfast at 6:30am, about the broken Nespresso coffee machine in our room.... Just everything! It was quite bizarre how put out they were by actually having to assist their guests. The hotel itself has a cool design concept- but the "whimsical loft" rooms would be inaccessible to many due to the extremely narrow & steep slat staircases (basically a ladder) up to the loft level the bed is on. By contrast the house keeping staff who cleaned our room were friendly & lovely. Next time I'm in Singapore I will definitely opt for more mainstream accommodation where the standards of service are more dependable.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneysiderCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi SydneysiderCC,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Wanderlust, and kindly allow us to extend our sincere apologies. We try our utmost best to provide a personable service to our guests from the point of reservation up till check-out and we appreciate you taking the time to share honest feedback and will strive to further improve our service standards.

With regards to the few issues highlighted in your review, I believe that there might have been some miscommunication. Pertaining to the request for early check-in, the charge applicable would usually depend on the estimated time of check-in, and should the room be pre-occupied the night before it would then be subjected to availability. For early check-ins in the mornings, a full-day charge would apply.

Having looked into the matter regarding early breakfast, it is to my understanding that your request for early breakfast was made at 10pm.As the restaurant only opens for breakfast from 7.30am onwards, we were unable to accommodate your request for early breakfast at 6.30am. In such instances, we usually assist in arranging a simple pre-packed breakfast for requests made by 9pm the day before. However at the time of your request, the restaurant's kitchen has already closed for orders and hence we were not able to extend the option to you and instead suggested the option of having breakfast at the Changi Airport where there are numerous food outlets.

As for the Nespresso machine, the power plugs are not switched on upon check-in and for first time use of the machine, the power point has to be switched on. Upon switching it on, the machine's lights would blink for a period as it begins to warm up. The machine is ready for use once the light stops blinking. As for the water contained in the water compartment, despite being at room temperature the water will be heated up as it is processed through the machine and the machine will then dispense hot coffee.

We would like to apologise if the explanation regarding early breakfast and the Nespresso machine was poorly communicated and led to any misunderstandings. Nevertheless, we will continually work on our service provided and hope that you would be able to provide us with another opportunity to be able to better improve your impression of the Wanderlust Hotel.

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 316 in Singapore
1,561 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#129 of 316 in Singapore
227 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#60 of 316 in Singapore
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#9 of 316 in Singapore
1,245 reviews
Hotel YAN
#51 of 316 in Singapore
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#83 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#86 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £78 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing