We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Straightforward and value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ark Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ark Hostel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Straightforward and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Nice and clean hostel and, best of all, the price was very cheap considering its excellent location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KelvinAndLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkHostelSingapore, Guest Relations Manager at Ark Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
There has since been a refurbishment and change of management since Dec 2015. This review is outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    11
    12
    6
See reviews for
15
11
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

We really enjoyed staying at Ideal backpackers Hostel early November. Arriving in the early morning from Amsterdam, we were tired and kind of on the edge. So we considered our self lucky to have found this backpacker (introduced by a taxi drive- a very good man). This hostel in good condition, basic within itself: clean, the bed comfortable and neat in standard room. Off course the best thing is rate.
I suggest it to anybody who's looking for a nice hostel in Singapore!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkHostelSingapore, Guest Relations Manager at Ark Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
There has since been a refurbishment and change of management since Dec 2015. This review is outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Great location and price... Ideal for those who just need somewhere to sleep comfortably. Great place to hang out with frenz. :D

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alika89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkHostelSingapore, Guest Relations Manager at Ark Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
There has since been a refurbishment and change of management since Dec 2015. This review is outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

They have good location and friendly staff. The rooms are quite cozy and there is TV inside.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denhaagflyingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkHostelSingapore, Guest Relations Manager at Ark Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
There has since been a refurbishment and change of management since Dec 2015. This review is outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel 81 Fuji
#282 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel 81 Kovan
Hotel 81 Kovan
#183 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.4 mi away
ABC Premium Hostel
ABC Premium Hostel
#87 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blanc Inn
Blanc Inn
#46 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blissful Loft
Blissful Loft
#176 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Joyfor Singapore
Joyfor Singapore
#85 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Hostel

Property: Ark Hostel
Address: 89 Geylang Road, Singapore 389203, Singapore (Formerly Ideal Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ark Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air-conditioned family and dormitory rooms are available at Ark Hostel, a short 3-minute walk from Kallang MRT Station. With free WiFi available throughout the property, the hostel is minutes' from famous local eateries at Geylang Road that include both halal and non-halal options. Self-service laundry facilities are available at an extra charge. The air-conditioned rooms all come with a flat-screen TV. Lockers are available outside the room. Bathroom facilities are shared and equipped with a shower. Most rooms do not come with windows. Ark Hostel is also 5-minute walk from Stadium MRT Station. By train, it is within 10 minutes' from City Hall or Dhoby Ghaut MRT Stations. Changi International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. This property is also rated for the best value in Singapore! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ark Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Backpackers Hotel Singapore
Ark Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing