We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't expect good service when hotel doesn't even Reply emails” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #40 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't expect good service when hotel doesn't even Reply emails”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Actually never stayed at this hotel. Me and my wife shortlist 3 hotels which we consider to stay for our upcoming Singapore trip in Oct. Naumi, New Majestic and Fort Canning. First 2 hotels replied with our enquiry (via email) regards to the hotel rate almost immediately. After few attempts sending Hotel Fort Canning emails, still no reply and it has been more than a week. Looks like we are off to New Majestic or Naumi both replied promptly with professionalism and excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Helpless Reservation Manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DravenCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear DravenCC

We would like to express our sincerely apologies for the lapse of service. Our emails are reviewed daily; this is an isolated case which has not happened before. Please be assured that immediate measurement has been taken to prevent future reoccurrence.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    321
    105
    42
    44
See reviews for
125
537
61
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Nice building, pretty gardens, tight reception, lift door smashed into my arm shoulder, staff member said nothing, put us in the wrong room first night, had to repack in morning and move, husband very annoyed with me for booking here, with the technology lights etc made stay most difficult. Party in room two doors up at after midnight had to call reception twice to get them to deal with the noise. So angry as young baby, sleep deprived anyway,looking forward to sleeping, then morning after that the cleaning guy is making sooomuch noise with his plastic bags outside room i had to go outside and complain. Let me tell you I hate complaining! It is not a pleasure for me. I spent hours and hours reviewing hotels and picking two for my husband who deserved more than this hotel provided. This hotel caused fights between us as we paid 400$ per night and it was not even worth half that. The breakfast buffet is very small, enough for us but still for the money you are paying not good enough. The staff are friendly but not professional and trained to five star standard. The pool has no service or pool attendant. I am so upset we wasted half out trip here. Now we have just checked into the shangri la and been upgraded to the valley wing for the same money
as the hfc! The difference is incomparable! I just hope my husband forgives me. What a joke, do not waste your money, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HkgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear HkgMelbourne

Thank you for staying at Hotel Fort Canning, and for your feedback on your stay.

We were dismayed to hear of our staff insensitive handling of your arm and wrong room was assigned to you on your arrival.

We have also addressed your other feedbacks to various departments concerned for immediate improvement to be made. We are utterly saddened for the disturbance and inconveniences caused to you. We hope that these incidents don’t mar your memories with us.

However, we appreciate your compliments on our hotel building and surroundings.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Taxi drivers don’t know the hotel and struggle to figure out how to get there even when provided with the address (highly unusual in Singapore). Front desk is only one person; works fine if you’re the only guest she has to serve but otherwise you’ll have to queue up and wait. Room looks good but it is equipped with technology for technologies sake and not because it works well; annoying system for controlling lightening, curtains and air-condition. Air-condition system is so loud and noisy it stressed me out so I couldn’t fall asleep. If you request privacy they will still knock on your door in the morning. And make sure you bring shower gel and soap and maybe some toilet paper for back up. They don’t necessarily refill. They don’t do late check-out. Not even if your request is followed with an offer to pay for it. Singapore hotels are usually a great experience so this hotel gets slammed partly because it cannot match the quality and service its competitors provides (in e.g. London it would have been great).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freeeequent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

I was reading the reviews of HFC and was contemplating whether or not to celebrate my partner's birthday there. Luckily, I chose it! Totally no regrets.. Excellent getaway (in the heart of Orchard rd but yet totally secluded up on the hill), very nice room with a big garden patio.. Big fluffly bed, large flat screen internet tv, especially the big bathtub right in the middle of the room.. wow..
we went to the pool at nite and we have the whole pool all to ourselves.. it was such a romantic moment relaxing in the pool and gazing at the stars right above us.. simply amazing..
we had stayed in many boutique hotels in singapore, but this is by far the best that we both like.. i will love to be back again to check out the big round water bed in their suite rooms..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cow1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear Cow1331

We are delighted to know that you and your partner had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have had both of you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

It was totally different to any other hotel in Singapore located on top of a hill and away from the hustle and bustle but yet within a few minutes of walking to one end of Orchard road coming back to the hotel in the late evening might be more convenient by taxi. Howwever the walk down to Orchard road or Dhoby ghaut station is not too far away about five to ten minutes

The service at the front office was exceptional and very courteous we were ushered to our room which was very nice and comfortable with lovely clean bedlinen having been at the Marriot ,Fairmot, Hilton Etc during my previous stays this room looked far more apprealing and comfortable with boarded floors and free WIFI.
There is also happy hour from 6 to 8pm with canapies and alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages which is nice and simple

overall it was a beautiful small hotel with colonial architecture with great rooms and very friendly staff we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the city side was better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iroshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear Ironshaw

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

I was on a short holiday in Singapore with my husband, and at the last moment we decided to extend our stay. The hotel we were staying at was full for the extra nights, and so were most of the other hotels we tried (we looked at quite a few!). We stumbled upon Hotel Fort Canning by chance on the internet and decided to give it a try, despite the negative reviews we saw, as at that point we did not have any other option.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, it became apparent that we would be getting our money’s worth. As an unexpected bonus, we were upgraded to a Premium Luxe room as the hotel was full. The room was great – the décor and design were both tasteful and luxurious; the bed was extremely comfortable and the ‘pillow menu’ was a nice touch! The hotel staff were extremely courteous and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast at the Glass House was also quite good, and all in all we really enjoyed our time at the hotel.

The only downside would be the walk to/from Orchard road. While it is not far, the route is quite steep and cuts through a parking lot and across the road to Dhoby Ghaut station. Actually, getting to Orchard road is easy as the hotel provides shuttle transport to ION Orchard and Takashimaya SC; the difficult part is getting back (as there is no return shuttle). For shopaholics like us, climbing up the hill back to the hotel was quite hard, especially considering we were laden down with shopping bags! For more senior guests I would recommend just taking a cab.

All in all, I think that the problems mentioned in the earlier reviews have been sorted out. Given the hotel is quite new, I would say that those were probably just teething problems. The hotel is great and certainly worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruwani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear Ruwaniebell

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

I am a frequent traveller to Singapore and have stayed in many hotels in town. Heard about Hotel Fort Canning and decided to give it a go.

Upon check-in I was informed that I was to stay in a premium room.
Check-in was good, with a welcome drink being offered. Nice touch.

The room was well layed out with a large bathroom with rain shower, nice amenities and a large bath tub.
Wireless internet is free and fast. This should be standard in all hotels!

A Nespresso machine is available. I love that as I am a Nespresso fan and dislike staying in hotels without one. Gone should be the days with the terrible instant coffee!

The separate sitting area is nice and well appointed.

I had no issues with the touch panel lighting system or the airconditioning so it seems the previously reported issues may have been sorted.

The pool area is quiet large for an 80 room hotel, giving it a bit of a resort feel.
The bar is good with friendly staff and italian restaurant is simpy excellent.

Breakfast in the glass house is good and again, staff is friendly and helpful.

Throughout the stay, staff has been good.

The location in Singapore is excellent. In the Fort Canning Park, very quiet for a good night sleep, yet in the centre of the city.

I highly recommend this hotel and as a matter of fact, booked my next stay.
(I am NOT a PR firm...) just love good boutique hotels and see through some of the teething issues...

Room Tip: stay in a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear Dutchkiwi

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Quincy Hotel by Far East Hospitality
0.4 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#46 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing