We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hill top 5 star resort stay in the city centre surrounded by National Park”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #33 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2011

a group of my friends and i stayed over a weekend at this fabulous hotel. we find it well appointed but some finishing could have been better. amenities provided are fantastic like nespresso machine, Ipod speakers, internet and media player system. the city view is wonderful and being in a Heritage building like Raffles Hotel and Fullerton Hotel, it has its Colonial feel. most definitely will return and recommend to friends who are visiting Singapore. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping centres, Entertainment and business areas. Central business district is only 5 mins away by taxi. There is also a great Sicilian restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Dear EuJ

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

A hidden gem in Fort Canning Park, a historical location in the heart of the Singapore city, walking distance to Clark Quay. The hotel building is colonial, most recently a private members club - you can still feel the old world charm walking on the lawns around the hotel building and on its central staircase. Recently renovated, the hotel provides free wifi, swimming pools and modern comforts expected from an upscale hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joycekwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Dear Joyce Kwong

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Actually never stayed at this hotel. Me and my wife shortlist 3 hotels which we consider to stay for our upcoming Singapore trip in Oct. Naumi, New Majestic and Fort Canning. First 2 hotels replied with our enquiry (via email) regards to the hotel rate almost immediately. After few attempts sending Hotel Fort Canning emails, still no reply and it has been more than a week. Looks like we are off to New Majestic or Naumi both replied promptly with professionalism and excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Helpless Reservation Manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DravenCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Dear DravenCC

We would like to express our sincerely apologies for the lapse of service. Our emails are reviewed daily; this is an isolated case which has not happened before. Please be assured that immediate measurement has been taken to prevent future reoccurrence.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Nice building, pretty gardens, tight reception, lift door smashed into my arm shoulder, staff member said nothing, put us in the wrong room first night, had to repack in morning and move, husband very annoyed with me for booking here, with the technology lights etc made stay most difficult. Party in room two doors up at after midnight had to call reception twice to get them to deal with the noise. So angry as young baby, sleep deprived anyway,looking forward to sleeping, then morning after that the cleaning guy is making sooomuch noise with his plastic bags outside room i had to go outside and complain. Let me tell you I hate complaining! It is not a pleasure for me. I spent hours and hours reviewing hotels and picking two for my husband who deserved more than this hotel provided. This hotel caused fights between us as we paid 400$ per night and it was not even worth half that. The breakfast buffet is very small, enough for us but still for the money you are paying not good enough. The staff are friendly but not professional and trained to five star standard. The pool has no service or pool attendant. I am so upset we wasted half out trip here. Now we have just checked into the shangri la and been upgraded to the valley wing for the same money
as the hfc! The difference is incomparable! I just hope my husband forgives me. What a joke, do not waste your money, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HkgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Dear HkgMelbourne

Thank you for staying at Hotel Fort Canning, and for your feedback on your stay.

We were dismayed to hear of our staff insensitive handling of your arm and wrong room was assigned to you on your arrival.

We have also addressed your other feedbacks to various departments concerned for immediate improvement to be made. We are utterly saddened for the disturbance and inconveniences caused to you. We hope that these incidents don’t mar your memories with us.

However, we appreciate your compliments on our hotel building and surroundings.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Taxi drivers don’t know the hotel and struggle to figure out how to get there even when provided with the address (highly unusual in Singapore). Front desk is only one person; works fine if you’re the only guest she has to serve but otherwise you’ll have to queue up and wait. Room looks good but it is equipped with technology for technologies sake and not because it works well; annoying system for controlling lightening, curtains and air-condition. Air-condition system is so loud and noisy it stressed me out so I couldn’t fall asleep. If you request privacy they will still knock on your door in the morning. And make sure you bring shower gel and soap and maybe some toilet paper for back up. They don’t necessarily refill. They don’t do late check-out. Not even if your request is followed with an offer to pay for it. Singapore hotels are usually a great experience so this hotel gets slammed partly because it cannot match the quality and service its competitors provides (in e.g. London it would have been great).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freeeequent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I was reading the reviews of HFC and was contemplating whether or not to celebrate my partner's birthday there. Luckily, I chose it! Totally no regrets.. Excellent getaway (in the heart of Orchard rd but yet totally secluded up on the hill), very nice room with a big garden patio.. Big fluffly bed, large flat screen internet tv, especially the big bathtub right in the middle of the room.. wow..
we went to the pool at nite and we have the whole pool all to ourselves.. it was such a romantic moment relaxing in the pool and gazing at the stars right above us.. simply amazing..
we had stayed in many boutique hotels in singapore, but this is by far the best that we both like.. i will love to be back again to check out the big round water bed in their suite rooms..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cow1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Dear Cow1331

We are delighted to know that you and your partner had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have had both of you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

It was totally different to any other hotel in Singapore located on top of a hill and away from the hustle and bustle but yet within a few minutes of walking to one end of Orchard road coming back to the hotel in the late evening might be more convenient by taxi. Howwever the walk down to Orchard road or Dhoby ghaut station is not too far away about five to ten minutes

The service at the front office was exceptional and very courteous we were ushered to our room which was very nice and comfortable with lovely clean bedlinen having been at the Marriot ,Fairmot, Hilton Etc during my previous stays this room looked far more apprealing and comfortable with boarded floors and free WIFI.
There is also happy hour from 6 to 8pm with canapies and alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages which is nice and simple

overall it was a beautiful small hotel with colonial architecture with great rooms and very friendly staff we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the city side was better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iroshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Dear Ironshaw

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 319 in Singapore
2,339 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 319 in Singapore
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SO Sofitel Singapore
#29 of 319 in Singapore
1,732 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 319 in Singapore
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £154 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing