We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #39 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

What a great hotel. And the staff are even better going out of their way to help and be of service. Such a beautiful setting – loved being in the park surroundings. We stayed here twice on our recent Asian trip and enjoyed our stay on both occasions. Loved eating in the Glasshouse restaurant. Food was of excellent quality - Gangga, asst restaurant manager and Chef Charles were fantastic. Kelson, guest relations manager, made us feel so welcome and was there to help and advise whenever we asked. Not far to the MRT station and Orchard Road so very convenient. I agree that the are issues in the design of the rooms (impractical really) but everything else well and truly made up for that.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear Oztraveller51

Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.


Yours sincerely

Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    347
    108
    43
    45
See reviews for
131
568
64
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I have stayed in many top hotels in Singapore for long stays and staying at HFC was one of the best experience I have had in Singapore for a long time. The GM Supriya and staff are very helpful and willing to go extra mile. There are some shortfall in design of the rooms like towel racks are not there but I was provided with portable rack which is great. Room is large, I personally like the DLX rooms without open concept and you should make this clear during reservation. Breakfast selection is large and cook to order eggs! They even offered to make TehC during my stay. Evening drinks with small cheese plate, fruits are a welcome change. Fresh air, no noise in Singapore is welcome change for this city.

The in-house Italian place earns 5 star for food and service.

Highly recommended hotel if you want to have old Heritage Style hotel in Singapore.

Room Tip: Ask for DLX room non open concept or Premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear SQguy

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated. We are pleased to inform you that we are in the process of including floor plan of our rooms on the website for easy reference.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback and experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.


Yours sincerely

Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Booked the hotel for a party after confirming with 2 staffs that it was appropriate. 1 week later, the assistant director of sales contacted me telling me that it was not allowed and spoke with a rude tone. She did not even bother to apologize until I told her I was very upset and disappointed with the management.

When I told her to ask the GM to write to me to answer for such horrible service, I get zero response. I wanted to let it go but looking at the attitude of the staff and poor management, I'd suggest that you don't even consider this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockandromance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear rockandromance

Thank you for your feedback and we would like to apologise for the miscommunication. Our Assistant Director of Sales noted the faux pas and has immediately rectified the issue by informing you via telephone call. Unfortunately, the firm tone was taken as rudeness after much further explanation.

We would like to inform you that according to the hotel licensing regularities, a double room should not allowed more than two adults except that in the case of a family occupying a double room two adults and two children under 16 years of age may be allowed to occupy the room. Hence, a party is strictly prohibited. The hotel offers various sizes of function rooms and attractive packages for parties and celebrations.

We hope this incident does not mar your memories of Hotel Fort Canning. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely

Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

a group of my friends and i stayed over a weekend at this fabulous hotel. we find it well appointed but some finishing could have been better. amenities provided are fantastic like nespresso machine, Ipod speakers, internet and media player system. the city view is wonderful and being in a Heritage building like Raffles Hotel and Fullerton Hotel, it has its Colonial feel. most definitely will return and recommend to friends who are visiting Singapore. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping centres, Entertainment and business areas. Central business district is only 5 mins away by taxi. There is also a great Sicilian restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear EuJ

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

A hidden gem in Fort Canning Park, a historical location in the heart of the Singapore city, walking distance to Clark Quay. The hotel building is colonial, most recently a private members club - you can still feel the old world charm walking on the lawns around the hotel building and on its central staircase. Recently renovated, the hotel provides free wifi, swimming pools and modern comforts expected from an upscale hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycekwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear Joyce Kwong

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Actually never stayed at this hotel. Me and my wife shortlist 3 hotels which we consider to stay for our upcoming Singapore trip in Oct. Naumi, New Majestic and Fort Canning. First 2 hotels replied with our enquiry (via email) regards to the hotel rate almost immediately. After few attempts sending Hotel Fort Canning emails, still no reply and it has been more than a week. Looks like we are off to New Majestic or Naumi both replied promptly with professionalism and excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Helpless Reservation Manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DravenCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear DravenCC

We would like to express our sincerely apologies for the lapse of service. Our emails are reviewed daily; this is an isolated case which has not happened before. Please be assured that immediate measurement has been taken to prevent future reoccurrence.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Nice building, pretty gardens, tight reception, lift door smashed into my arm shoulder, staff member said nothing, put us in the wrong room first night, had to repack in morning and move, husband very annoyed with me for booking here, with the technology lights etc made stay most difficult. Party in room two doors up at after midnight had to call reception twice to get them to deal with the noise. So angry as young baby, sleep deprived anyway,looking forward to sleeping, then morning after that the cleaning guy is making sooomuch noise with his plastic bags outside room i had to go outside and complain. Let me tell you I hate complaining! It is not a pleasure for me. I spent hours and hours reviewing hotels and picking two for my husband who deserved more than this hotel provided. This hotel caused fights between us as we paid 400$ per night and it was not even worth half that. The breakfast buffet is very small, enough for us but still for the money you are paying not good enough. The staff are friendly but not professional and trained to five star standard. The pool has no service or pool attendant. I am so upset we wasted half out trip here. Now we have just checked into the shangri la and been upgraded to the valley wing for the same money
as the hfc! The difference is incomparable! I just hope my husband forgives me. What a joke, do not waste your money, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HkgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear HkgMelbourne

Thank you for staying at Hotel Fort Canning, and for your feedback on your stay.

We were dismayed to hear of our staff insensitive handling of your arm and wrong room was assigned to you on your arrival.

We have also addressed your other feedbacks to various departments concerned for immediate improvement to be made. We are utterly saddened for the disturbance and inconveniences caused to you. We hope that these incidents don’t mar your memories with us.

However, we appreciate your compliments on our hotel building and surroundings.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing