We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A resort in the heart of Singapore”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #36 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed at Fort Canning for business. I was upgraded to a suite which may have made my experience of the hotel even better than it would have been but this is a fantastic hidden gem in Singapore. So hidden that most taxi driver cannot find it. It opened just about a year ago. The rooms are very modern and functional (although not unusual in Singapore) with views of the park that surrounds the hotel. The staff was really efficient whenever I asked for something. Had room service twice. It is very well presented. You may find the portions a little small. Very quiet room and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights while at a conference. Being Australian the history of the hotel was very interesting, yet we would never have considered staying here if is wasn't for the conference. Located in a central but quiet location - the gardens are just beautiful to wander through and the spice garden is heaven. Taxis from any shopping area are no more than $10 S. Rooms are a bit cozy but tastefully decorated with all the mod cons. Sitting back in the little sun room's comfy chair watching the joggers go by, looking out over the garden, sipping a lovely g&t from the mini bar (need I say more?). Breakfast was lovely and I really liked the individually cooked to request eggs/omelettes. I had the fluffy light pancakes and the lovely made to order coffee. Restaurant and bar are pleasant and service is of a high quality. A delightful find we would love to go back as a couple and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants something of tranquility and nostalgia in Singapore.
Best features - the pillows and the gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenbunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Set in the middle of Fort Canning Park this lovely hotel is a complete contrast to the general hustle of Singapore. Gorgeous rooms, superbly comfy beds, immaculately clean and although not cheap it is very good value. Free wine & canapes for guests between 6pm & 8pm is a lovely touch. Breakfast buffet is ok but not as good as the rest of the place - best to get there early. Ate in both the expensive Italian - excellent seafood, and the cheaper restaruant which does local food - both very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We have stayed in this fabulous boutique hotel couple of times, as the rates are reasonable and the staffs are warm & friendly. It is a colonial building in a hillside park surrounded by lush greenery, but right in the city centre. A hidden resort but within walking distance to civilization. It's a fairly new hotel to the taxis, just tell them it is in the same building as the former Fort Canning Club.

In-house guests are treated to espresso coffee & tea at the hotel lobby all day, with pre-dinner wine & snacks. One really feels at home here. There are 3 swimming pools with poolside shaded beds. The Glass House Cafe serves both local & western cuisine. My favourite is Curry Chicken - made with fresh coconut milk, and for dessert I picked Tao-suan - a local delicacy.

Housed in period building, the stylish rooms have latest gadgets & facilities. Adding to the lifestyle are the Nespresso machine with free espresso capsules, iPad docking station, rain shower & bathtub by the bed/window. I would say it best caters to the 21st Century travellers for a romantic getaway.

At the same time we felt nostalgic when the room service is delivered in this quaint 'tiffin' carrier (see photo) - reminds one of the good old days.

That's what I call 'Old World Charms'!

Room Tip: Get a room that's facing the park. Magnificent views of greenery in the parks with jogging paths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayed for one night only and it was a great experience. Very private, still good access to the city. Room/suite had everything you need incl a Nespresso machine and a jacuzzi. Internet took a while to get up, and the (only) bad part is their 3 star breakfast buffet. Nice to have a 6-8PM happy hour.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wimster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I recently stayed a week for business at the Fort Canning and i won't stay anywhere else now in Singapore. It is more like staying in a private members club than a hotel, ( What other htoel offer drinks and canops at 6pm) but with all the facilties that all top hotels offer. It is very central but being in the middle of the park and a very historicalal part of the city you feel away from the hustle and bustle but can be anywhere in 10 Mins. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, modern and with free Wi fi. The staff are soeme of the most helpful i have ever come across and nothing was too much trouble.
This is such a great hotel for a short or long stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbo12123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

If you are over the usual 5 star, high rise hotel andare looking for something different then this the Hotel Fort Canning is it !

Wonderful, secluded location away from the hussle and bustle of downtown Singapore

Very unique premises...i love that it's located in the old British Colonial Army HQ !

Kelson, Claire and the front office team are fantastic. They're not just helpful and knowledgeable...they enjoy their jobs. It makes a huge difference.

I will definately be back !

Room Tip: ask for a garden delux room....wonderful to have access to your own private outdoor garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 319 in Singapore
2,431 reviews
SO Sofitel Singapore
#27 of 319 in Singapore
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 319 in Singapore
1,309 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 319 in Singapore
8,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#36 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £150 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing