We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Colonial Garden”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #34 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secret Colonial Garden”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a great renovation, seems like nobody is here but it was fully booked when we stayed. Simple, Colonial, with a peaceful bar, lobby and pool. Sweeping staircase, Rooms have city outlooks and 20 ft ceilings. Outdoor garden lounges are bug free. love the free wifi, free coffee and fruit in the guest lounge, evening drinks and mini canapés; very relax- lah. morning walks through the park and swimming in a 25m lap pool separate to paddle and lounge pools. 5 min walk to Dhoby Ghaut MRT/ Orchard road. The greatest place to holiday stay in Singapore. A weekend wedding venue, several bridal parties swanning thru was a bit of fun. Some "plumbing quirks" in the bathrooms, but you do soak in a mega tub looking at the skyline, you have to stay to find out for yourself! Otherwise, worth every penny. Other reviews here are accurate.

Room Tip: City view is better, garden view overlooks taxi entrance and aircon plant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaugeste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Beaugeste L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Fort Canning and for your lovely review.

Your description of what the hotel offers - we couldn't say it better ourselves! We especially like "The greatest place to holiday stay in Singapore".

We are sorry about the "plumbing quirks" in your bathroom and hope they did not detract from your enjoyment of your hotel experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    359
    108
    43
    45
See reviews for
139
587
66
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is very beautiful and quiet. I think it's very fancy and luxurious. The staff are very helpful and provide the fine service. Very impressed, the room is very stunning, not far from Orchard road. When I got back to Thailand and I forgot to ask for the receipt to get a refund, the staff helped me a lot. I asked them to send me the receipt to Thailand and they did it as well. I'm really impressed and next time if I go to Singapore, I'll stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laphatrada88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Laphatrada88,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Hotel Fort Canning and for your lovely review!

We are very happy to hear from you that our "staff are very helpful and provide fine service". At Hotel Fort Canning, we do our best to make our guests feel welcome and have a fantastic stay. We are very gratified that our staff were able to help you with your receipt. I have shared your kind comments with them to encourge them further.

We are also proud of our ambience and location, like you mentioned, "very beautiful and quiet", yet "not far from Orchard Road".

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laupasat
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Located at Fort Canning Park, it is relatively quiet without any crowds associated with city hotels. Lots of greenery being next to a park. But it is also just about 5 mins walk to dhoby ghaut mrt and PS shopping centre- easy access to shopping, food, and transport .
Rooms are of good size, with huge king size bed, a couch, writing table, nespresso machine. Design is modern and room looks relatively new ... Bathroom is good size with separate standing shower and a huge bath tub. U can sit in the tub and stare out into the sky....for this room type, ask for room that faces in the direction of Orchard Road
Being a boutique hotel, dining options in hotel are limited but there are so many options within short walk from hotel.
There is a spa and gym in an adjacent building
Overall a very nice, quiet and pleasant boutique hotel. Not as convenient as the hotels along orchard road but much quieter and peaceful. Recommended especially for couples.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Casper65,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Fort Canning and for your positive review.

Yes, indeed our location is one of our Unique Selling Points - the only hotel in a heritage city park enjoying the peace,quiet and greenery, yet just a short walk to the Orchard Road shopping belt and the Clarke Quay entertainment district.

Thank you for your appreciative comments about our room size, design and amenities, and the facilities at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to our "very nice, quiet and pleasant boutique hotel" soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our arrival from along flight our greeting was very welcoming, and trouble free, on first appearances the room was great, but there were little things that could have been improved vanity area was small,no storage, lighting poor, shower blocked,noisy air conditioning, but saying this the reception staff were over and above excellent and efficient . Ruby was outstanding in her job and sightseeing information and the hotel porter, Micheal gave really good directions which helped us on our traveling around Singapore. The grounds and cleanliness of the hotel were outstanding, overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Jean,

Thank you for complimenting Ruby and Michael for their excellent service and for your "great overall experience" with Hotel Fort Canning, despite the areas for improvements I noted.
You may want to contact me directly on here so you could share your room number with me, and we will act upon immediately.

Again, thank you for your excellent rating,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hotel Fort Canning is a very, very comfortable hotel. Being in the park in the middle of a busy city just enhances the natural feeling of tranquillity this hotel offers. The advantage if being a small hotel is well and truly felt with little or no noise, relaxed and elegant atmosphere and a sense of being a sanctuary with leafy surrounds. Very nicely fitted out and furnished to suit the colonial architecture. Two very nice pools to choose from. We had a garden courtyard room which for us was the best option. The ability to walk out of the room into a quite private courtyard with chairs and a day bed added to the relaxed feel.

The only word against was that some staff could be a little more thorough (housekeeping & general staff) as a few little things could be improved upon. Splitting hairs on this but I'm sure with a little push it would not even be a factor.

Canapes in the evening is a nice touch also. All in all a lovely building, grounds & park are very well served by the Hotel Fort Canning product. Easy walk to Orchard Road and Clarke Quay.

If you want to stay in a big hotel with lots of action this is not for you. But if you want to avoid check in queues, lifts, lines and tourists you'll love it here.

Room Tip: Go for the garden courtyard rooms. They add an extra dimension to your room. Bathroom a little tig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you so much on behalf of the team at Hotel Fort Canning for your excellent review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the tranquil and serene side of our location.
I will ensure that I personally check the few rooms we have with a private courtyard to ensure "all the little things" are improved and looked at.
I am glad you enjoyed the fact that despite our "leafy surrounds", we are only a 5 minute walking distance to Orchard Road.

Again, thank you for commenting greatly on our hotel,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel Fort Canning offers an exquisite experience atop Fort Canning Hill. The modernistic theme of the hotel was very welcoming and niche. It provided an interesting depth as the hotel was something modern amidst the historical environment it was in. The interior decor was splendid and very welcoming. From the paintings to the lighting and even to the carpetry, one can feel the warmth and allure the hotel provides.

I spent a staycation of 2 days and 1 night with my girlfirend here and we were both impressed and delighted by the level of service and the friendliness of the staff. From the moment you stepped into the hotel lobby till the time you check out, service staff are ever ready to assist with directions and help provide helpful suggestions. Furthermore, they do it with a smile :) I had trouble finding where the gym was and one of the lobby staff was kind enough to walk me to the gym. I was also assured that I could contact them should I need anything at all.

The room itself was amazing. The 'open' and modern concept meant that there were many mirrors and clear glass sectioning the room. It was very spacious and accommodating. It was super high tech as well, with automatic blinders and a smart tv among many things. Everything could be controlled via a centralised remote.

The facilities of the hotel was good as well. The gym was well-equipped with the latest technology and there was ample machines and space for the guests. Furthermore, towels and refreshments were also provided. It was also staffed with gym instructors.

We had a buffet breakfast and the spread was good too.

Overall, I would say it would be a top destination to go to for a staycation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliusLimZhiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Julius,

Thank you so much for your beautiful write up about Hotel Fort Canning and I enjoyed reading your choice of words, such as "warmth and allure the hotel provides" or "provided an interesting depth as the hotel was something modern amidst the historical environment it was in"
I am so happy our team made a difference at all time and that our room was "amazing and super high tech".
It's great to hear that our gym and gym instructors wrapped up nicely your excellent experience with us and that Hotel Fort Canning is "a top destination to go to for a staycation".

Thank you so much,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleppo, Syria
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Amazing Place in every aspect, from staff to design to location.
High tech solutions and a very clean and nice swimming pool filled with mineral water!!! wow
The Location is a plus, its in the middle of the city and close to almost everything is the city and taxi's is almost every 5 minutes available.

Room Tip: Take the standard room for better city view and room deign. no need for upgrade..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostyfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck-Hardy-GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review of Hotel Fort Canning, we are so happy you enjoyed the combination of "amazing" staff, location and design.
I am glad you recognise that we are merely a 5 minute walk from Orchard and that taxis are fast to reach our hotel.

Warm regards from the team,

Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
1.1 mi away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#31 of 312 in Singapore
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,826 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#21 of 312 in Singapore
2,804 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing