We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Valentine getaway in the garden city”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #39 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Romantic Valentine getaway in the garden city”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

“Quiet, romantic, friendly smile all found in this garden in the city” This is something to get you reader started on this review. I have spent a romantic night over the Valentine day this year (2014) in Hotel Fort Canning (HFC). While searching for my ideal Valentine staycation, this hotel caught my eye with their greenery.

I have written a long review for HFC, if you looking for a short review this paragraph would help. HFC is located ideally near shopping districts of Singapore with Fort Canning Park behind them. It’s easily accessed via public transport with places for a drink near them. Clean, quiet and classy boutique hotel with private lounge at the lobby. Excellent and friendly service provided by the English speaking staffs. Comfortable beds and pillows in each room, you may select your type of pillow. Free flow Nespresso coffee and TWG are provides in each room. Cable TV channels and means for internet surfing is available in each room. Basic toiletries are provided in each room. International breakfast buffet is provided. HFC is a 4 star hotel with a slightly high price tag, ranges from 282SGD to 940SGD per night excluding taxes.

HFC is ideally located in the heart of the place where shopping, dining, wine and not to forget a walk in the park can be found. Hotel Fort Canning can be easily reached by taking a MRT train (subway train) and stop at Dhoby Ghaut station. A short walk of 8-15mins towards Park Mall shopping centre you will find the hidden paradise.

Entering the lobby you can find the friendly concierges greeting and helping you with your check in. If the counter concierges are busy with incoming guest, you may take seat at the private lounge with the comfortable sofa seats provide. Drinks and Nespresso coffee are available for waiting guest. The lounge also leads to a garden where you can take a seat and bask in the warm tropical sun.

Upon receiving your keycard, you will be escorted by the concierges to your room. All rooms in HFC are controlled by keycards for means of access. The concierges will explain the room controls before leaving. From here on you can experience the ubiquitous blend of technology with the guest in mind.

In the room you can indicate the need for “House Keeping” or “Do Not Disturb” with a touch of button without opening your door. Controls of all the lighting, I do mean all of the lightings can be control via a single remote controller. Controls of the air conditioning and curtains are also combined in the same controller. Cable TV and local TV programs are available for viewing. Feel like watching a movie, this hotel also provide rental of movie to watch. Want to surf the web, not an issue. You can surf the web via the TV with the wireless keyboard provided. This keyboard can acts as a secondary means of control like the remote controller.

I stayed in the junior suite that had the perfect view of the swimming pool out the window. There is only one type of this room in the hotel, special request need to be put up in advance for this room. It comes with a living room for you to have coffee and relax while watching the TV. The room comes with free flow of Nespresso coffee and TWG tea for your enjoyment. This suite comes with two toilets which is useful when the need arises.

The living room holds a comfortable L-shaped sofa together with an excellent view of the swimming pool and surrounding trees. You won’t realize you are in the city, a prefect getaway from the busy city life. The bath tub is located beside the bed which you can enjoy a romantic bubble bath with your romantic other half. You can lower the curtain with a touch of a button on the panel beside your bed; you will have no worries of people looking in. These simple white panels beside both side of the bed control the bedside lights and the curtains. These white panels lights up in the dark when it sense a hand above it, you won’t have to search blindly for the controls when you need it in the middle of the night. If you are the type that is concern about looks, you won’t have to worry about the lack of mirrors. The bathroom doors, wardrobe and the table top have mirrors on them. No needs to fight over the mirrors.

The toilets are clean and HFC provide basic toiletries for guests who forget them. You can choose enjoy a monsoon rain shower or normal shower head style for a quick shower. HFC provides a safe for your important belongings and laundry services are available as well. Do remember to lower the curtains while showering as some rooms are facing the park directly.

The next morning you can enjoy an excellent international breakfast buffet at the Glasshouse. It has a wide range of items for you to choose from. Like dim sums, toast, yogurts and salad are available for you to choose. At a corner you will find chefs who will cook eggs, pancakes and bacon for you. Tell the chef how you like your eggs to be done and it will be served to your table, freshly made. There is something to mention, the lovable restaurant manager of Glasshouse, Mr Gaugga. He looks after the guest a lot, on the lookout if the guest requires any assistance. An outspoken person, he have kept me entertain for my breakfast. Smile and say “Hi” for me if you visit the Glasshouse.

If you are looking for a comfortable getaway in the city or finding an ideal place for lodging for a vacation in Singapore, don’t miss out HFC. Experience the serenity and peace in the bustle lion city Singapore. Have a good day and welcome you to Singapore.

*note: All above points mentioned are my own personal experience with the mentioned hotel.

Room Tip: You choose the park view for the nature scenery or city view for the city night lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HydroSoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear HydroSoh,

Thank you for staying with us over Valentine's Day and for your very positive and comprehensive review!

We are glad you found so much to love about Hotel Fort Canning - the room, location, breakfast, Nespresso machine in room, and most importantly, the warm, friendly service.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    353
    108
    43
    45
See reviews for
133
575
65
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at end of Jan.2014. Quiet , extremely clean with awesome helpful staff. Was an old historical bldg converted to a hotel. The bathrooms were added to where the balcony's used to be, as such the views are from your bathroom. Quirky but effective. Located up the hill from major streets so if lots of steps are not your thing beware. For the price this hotel is a great buy for the offering.

Room Tip: 1 floor is the handiest. Facing down the hill is best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Bernie B,

It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and we would like to thank you for doing so and for your excellent review!

We are very happy to read the sentence "Quiet, extremely clean with awesome helpful staff" as that sums up a large part of what we strive to offer our guests. We are also thrilled that you appreciated our "quirky" room layouts and the value for money we offer.

We certainly look forward to your next stay with Hotel Fort Canning!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It was a staycation for 2 nights. I was quite happy to be allocated to a corner room on the ground floor, facing the slope. The twin bed room is very clean, including the bathtub! Was impressed as not all house keeping makes an effort to scrub the bathtub to sparkling clean! I was surprised to see a nespresso machine in the room! In fact, I noticed that they served nespresso coffee in their hotel lobby too, complimentary to guests! Nice nice! The hotel has great swimming pools too, not packed and very clean.

Having a corner room would be fantastic if not for the noise from
1) the refuse collector every morning for 2 mornings. Never fail to wake me up in early morning when they come to collect refuse. Now, I am really guessing its the refuse collector, if not why would there be cart pushing noise in early morning. If you are light sleeper, I would recommend that you request for rooms facing the shopping mall - park mall.

2) the pipes in both the toilet and shower room. Not sure why but I can hear the water running from the pipes from toilet and shower room every morning. That's my second alarm clock for 2 mornings. can't imagine if the sound comes at night.. would be very eerie..

3) the rooms are not that sound proof, I believe HFC is a popular hotel for celebrations, be it weddings, birthdays. If only the rooms are sound proof bcos I can literally hear the birthday party going on in a room 2 doors away.

Was looking forward to a quiet weekend but it did not turn out to be what I though it would be.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ing121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear ing121,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning for your 2-night staycation and for your review.

We are delighted that you appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel, the nespresso machine in each room, and our mineral-cleansed swimming pools.

We were very concerned about your feedback on the noise that inconvenienced you during your stay. We are so sorry to hear that your sojourn with us was marred by it. We are certainly looking into your feedback to resolve the noise problems in the room you were staying in which, thankfully, are isolated and not found in any of the other rooms in the hotel.

We hope that you will give us another chance for a fabulous staycation soon.

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting an exhibition in Singapore. It is what I would call a "Club Hotel" in that one has the feeling of being in a private club. It seems to have been an old colonial government building at the beginning of its life, set in a lovely tropical park and all of the trees and bushes seem to be naturally grown around the building.
As the hotel is not so big, it is not busy. This helps in part with the peaceful feeling.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. One should at peak times allow some time when ordering a taxi. We actually had a couple of taxi's that had never been there before
The rooms are converted offices, tastefully and interestingly done, plenty of technology included. It may not be to some tastes as the conversion has been interestingly done with the bathroom being transparent, and fitted into the old balcony's. Electric blinds can be used to make the bathroom private.
The breakfast room is not large but we were never there with more that 4 other tables being used. As is usual in this class of hotel there is a chef in attendance. The buffet is adequate and attention is perfect.
I cannot comment on the quality of the restaurants as during our stay the Italian restaurant was closed "for renovations" and the Glass House restaurant was closed due to a private function!
This was a bit disappointing for an Hotel not is walking distance of another restaurant. In compensation I must say there is a club like happy hour between 18:00 and 20:00 with complimentary wine and canapé's.
The position of the hotel is such that it is elevated in the park. Orchard road is on one side and Clarks Quay is on the other side. It is some minutes by foot to Orchard Road.
I must say that despite perhaps the restaurant issue I could not consider staying at another hotel in Singapore in the future.

Room Tip: Park side or town side. Everything is green!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klopstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear klopstock,

What a pleasure it was to read your lovely review! Thank you for that and for staying with us.

We are very gladdened to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the greenery, peacefulness and convenience of our city park setting, the quirky hotel room layout with state-of-the-art electronics, our complimentary evening drinks, and the breakfast at The Glass House.

We are delighted that our staff, both at the Hotel as well as at The Glass House, added postively to your experience of Hotel Fort Canning.

We are thrilled that you "could not consider staying at another hotel in Singapore in the future", and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Staycation as they called it, I had a great time staying here.
It was my birthday and I was deciding where to go. Made the right choice!!
Room was beautiful. I had one overlooking the greenery, simply beautiful.
The bathtub was huge and I enjoy soaking in them and relaxing to music and scented candles.
Room service was prompt and our meals were yummy.
I also enjoyed the complimentary evening canapes and champagne.
Definitely a hotel I would recommend.
Location is great, in the city area, while you are a little hidden away from the hustle and bustle surrounded by greenary.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MolaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear MolaGirl,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your birthday, and for writing such a nice review!

We are so glad you had a great time, and that you enjoyed your room with its beautiful views of the park greenery and its huge bath tub, and the prompt and delicious room service meals.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We chose this hotel again on our return visit to Singapore as we had such a good stay the last time and it did not disappoint. It is located on the edge of Fort Canning Park and as such is away from the hectic surroundings of the city in Singapore. It is amazing sitting around a pool in the middle of the city that is shaded by trees. Loved the complimentary drinks and canapes at night as well as the complimentary Nespresso coffee and newspaper each morning. We recognised a few of the original staff members and they remembered us as well and went out of their way to make sure we were looked after. Special mention to the breakfast staff (including restaurant supervisors who do an amazing job) at the Glasshouse restaurant especially the chef who came and asked us personally every morning if we wanted him to cook us an omelette or fresh pancakes. We met Gungar, one of the male restaurant supervisors on this visit and he was fantastic as well and often chatted to us and made us feel like special guests. I remember remarking that when we come back again we can only stay at this hotel as it would be hard to beat. it is located only about a 10 minute easy walk to Dhoby Ghaut MRT which makes it so easy to travel easily around Singapore.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the city rather than the park if possible but all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungtydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear hungtydiner,

It was lovely having you stay with us again, and thank you for your very complimentary review!

We are elated that you listed so many things you loved about Hotel Fort Canning - the quiet yet convenient location in a city park, the swimming pools, the evening drinks. We are particularly thrilled that our staff made a great impression on you and that that enhanced your stay with us. We have shared your kind comments with the team and they wish to thank you for recognising them.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back yet again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife Anna and I stayed at the Fort Canning from the 28 of January to the 4 of February, it was our first time at this hotel, Our stay was the most comfortable as well as enjoyable one could hope for, The rooms were always well maintained consequently spotless and extremely clean, the breakfast at the Glass House was excellent with a variety of food all first class. What really impressed us was the Guest Relation Team headed by the ever so smiling Cielo Rainalda, the manager, this team was an extremely professional group of people one could deal with.
We found the locality of the hotel very peaceful and quite, very central located with buses and trains a very short distance.
Our experience at the Hotel Fort Canning was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed, we most certainly would recommend this experience to any one that wants to be dealt with the utmost professionalism. We will definitely come back to the Hotel Fort Canning.
Mr and Mrs Malu from Perth - Western Australia

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Martin M,

Thank you for staying with us and for your fabulous review!

We are delighted that you and your wife, Anna, had a most comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We are gladdened that you appreciated the cleanliness of the property, the excellent breakfast at The Glass House, the peaceful yet convenient location of the hotel. Most importantly, we are very happy that Cielo and the Front Office team impressed you - we have shared your compliments with the whole Front Office team and they have been greatly motivated by your kind words.

Thank you for recommending Hotel Fort Canning to other travellers, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 312 in Singapore
2,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 312 in Singapore
5,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
978 reviews
1.1 mi away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#31 of 312 in Singapore
1,559 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#19 of 312 in Singapore
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing