We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fort Canning
Nearby Hotels
US$449
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$279
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Orchard Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$919
US$637
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$358
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,420)
Filter reviews
1,420 results
Traveller rating
782
408
131
49
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
408
131
49
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass housepremium luxe roombattle boxcolonial buildingorchard roadhigh techbustling citydhoby ghaut mrtnespresso machinebeautiful hotelcomplimentary drinksboutique hotelevening drinksclarke quayplaza singapurahotel guestsrain shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
884 - 889 of 1,420 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Last Dec 2013, I booked 2 nights staycation for me and my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary. A really good hotel for a romantic getaway. Staff was polite and helpful. Hotel was really clean. It had an awesome rustic ambience. Loved the idea of the hotel was one of Singapore's pre-historic building which they cleverly converted into a small hotel. The concept of the rooms are really unique. Our bathroom is located where usually a hotel's balcony would normally be. Really cool.

To get a nearest mall or train you will need to walk out because the hotel is nestled within Fort Canning Park. Be prepared to do some stair climbing as you will need to climb a few flight of stairs to get to the hotel when you are coming back from all that shopping. But we love to take walks so we did not complain.

Breakfast was so so. Wish they had more choices.

Wish they pay attention more to details. After dinner at a nearby restaurant as we walked back to our room, we noticed there are some room service utensils outside a room. As we walked on we also noticed a small towel on the floor. The next morning went going for breakfast, the same items are still there. Perhaps the staff regardless whether you are a room service waiter or housekeeping could just clear it away quickly. It was quite unsightly.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. We definitely will return.

Room Tip: choose the rooms facing the city
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Nazhan Singapore,


Thank you for choosing our hotel for your staycation last December and for your review.

We are delighted to have been the venue of your wedding anniversary celebration and that you appreciated the hotel as "good...for a romantic getaway", the staff for being polite and helpful, and the cleanliness of the hotel.

We are also glad that you liked the colonial architecture and our conversion of the heritage building into a contemporary hotel.

You will be glad to know that since you stayed with us, we now have a new Executive Chef. Chef Randy Torres has been instrumental in improving the menu choices at The Glass House, and this includes breakfast, so we hope you will visit us again for another staycation to enjoy his culinary creations.

We are sorry that the room service basket and towel left behind on the corridor marred your experience of our hotel. We are pleased to inform you that since your stay, these service lapses have been taken care of.

We certainly hope to welcome you again to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here as stay-cation for 1 night.

Our entry level room (deluxe) on level 3 gave a feeling it was quite large, perhaps due to the high ceiling.

Bathroom was well appointed. Bedding and pillows were good. Slept like a charm.

TV good as well and allowed easy connecting to my players HDMI cable.

Room came with use of "cocktail hour". Nothing special there as it consisted of almost no food, white, red and bubbly wine. Nice to sit outside though while sipping on wine. Quite relaxing.

Building is a heritage building, giving a nice and unique touch to most things in and around the building.

Breakfast has limited choice, but as I eat eggs & bacon with toast only, I'm okee with that.

Only strange thing is that I requested an extra towel and 2 extra pillows. Hours later nothing has come yet, so again I asked. Then 1 towel and 1 pillow was delivered. I asked again for 1 extra pillow. Nothing came, so asked again. Again nothing came so I gave up. Very hands-on staff takes the request, but something goes wrong at housekeeping.

All in all, it was an evening well spend. Quite enjoyed.

Room Tip: Don't know about other rooms, but level 3 has high ceilings, giving a spacious feeling.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galore360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear galore360,

Thank you for staying with us on your "staycation", and for your review entitled "Pleasantly Surprised".

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found much to appreciate like the high ceilings, the well-appointed bathrooms and comfortable pillows and bedding, the evening cocktails, the heritage building and more.

We sincerely apologise for the miscommunication about your request for extra pillows and towel - we have a number of new members on our Housekeeping Team who understand limited English and this might have led to the miscommunication. They are currently attending English classes to prevent further issues with communication.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very accommodating service - we arrived at the hotel early am and our room wasn't (expectedly) ready. Although the hotel had 100% occupancy the night before they still manged to get us into our room by 10am - offering free coffee/tea/biscuits and fruit. The room was beautiful and one of the nicest bathrooms we have utilised. The views to the city from the bathrooms floor to ceiling windows and the glass doors between bedroom and bathroom (for privacy electric blockout blinds on both windows and doors) gave the room lots of natural light.The breakfast was wonderful and the staff delightful - we shall return if we get back to Singapore.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Beebee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear 22Beebee22,

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review!

We are so glad you had a good sojourn with us and that you appreciated our little touches to make you feel comfortable, the room confirguration, the breakfast at The Glass House, and most of all, our "delightful" staff. We have shared your comments with the team and we are greatly encouraged by you kind compliments.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were attending Hostess weekender at Fort Canning so this hotel was super convenient. Hotel rooms are small but well designed, we had a room with a terrace which was great. The location is fantastic, in the middle of the Botanical gardens so there is no traffic noise and relaxing by the pool is very nice, it is also a short walk to a lot of great Singapore attractions including art galleries and decent cafes and restaurants. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking of a slice of tranquility in Singapore.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Gus M,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very nice review!

We are so glad to read that the hotel location was "super convenient" for you and that you found our rooms well designed. We are also very gratified that you enjoyed the peace and quiet and you found "relaxing by the pool is very nice".

We would like to thank you for kindly recommending Hotel Fort Canning to anyone looking of a slice of tranquility in Singapore, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I brought my fiancee to this hotel for a single night staycation in early celebration of her birthday. We came with high hopes of this pleasant looking hotel. However, we soon got to experience our worst staycation with this supposedly "one of the finest" hotel in Singapore.

Firstly, despite low occupancy rates(manager claimed there were many rooms available), when we entered our deluxe room, we noticed that the house-keeping was not properly done. There were many strands of hair on the bathroom floor and bathtub.

Next, despite claiming that the rooms all came with WIFI, the connection was extremely unstable for usage. HFC claimed that all their rooms were smoke free. However, throughout the day, we could smell smoke in our room. Although the manager on duty kindly helped to rectify the issues by bringing in a router and ioniser to strengthen the WIFI signal and purify the air in the room when we left for dinner, that was not the end of our woes.

At around 3am, we could smell thick smoke entering into our room again. Our rest were disrupted and when we called the front desk, they took about half an hour before getting back to us. Meanwhile, my fiancee and I were waiting in the room, getting "smoked" alive. It was only after an entire hour before we were moved to another room to have some rest. At that point in time, the manager on duty merely explained that investigations were going on to find out from the neighbouring guest rooms.

The following morning, we woke up to find that the HFC doesn't provide newpapers. When we were checking out, the lady that served us also gave us rude stares when we requested for two paper bags to store our clothes. In addition, she gave us a lame explanation with regards to the "smoke" in our room. She mentioned that in one of the guest rooms beside ours, they were having a birthday celebration and had lit two candles. We were wondering how long and big were their candles? How is it possible that two candles caused thick smoke in our room at 4 pm in the day and 3am at night? In any case, we just let her know that we were very disappointed with HFC. She brushed us off with a unapologetic sorry and said that there was nothing she could do except to ask us to fill up the feedback form as her management was not around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JreJre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear JreJre,

We are shocked and sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel.

Our hotel is indeed a non-smoking hotel, and we suspect that the "smokey" smell you perceived in your room was due to the very hazy weather we have been having in the past few weeks. You mentioned that the smoke smell was worse around 3am, and we have noticed from NEA (National Environment Authority) reports that the PSI (Pollutants Standard Index) levels do get worse at night. We suspect the haze as the cause for the smell as we had thoroughly checked the rooms adjacent and opposite to yours and none of them had any smokey smell.

We are glad that we were able to help you resolve the problem with your acceptance of the free room upgrade to another higher category room and the complimentary late check-out.

We are also glad that the refreshing downpours we have been having have lessened the haze somewhat so that all travellers to Singapore can have a more pleasant time here.

We are sorry you did not have a good experience at our hotel this time, and we hope that your next stay with us will be a much better one.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews