We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #30 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My partner and I stayed for three nights on our first trip to Singapore. We found HFC to be beautiful in many ways, the service was first class, so very helpful and welcoming. The room was lovely, we had a garden view room although the city view was better. The bed and bedding was so comfortable. Every evening from 6-7pm we enjoyed drinks and canapés provided free for guests. We had a lovely late dinner in our room and a delightful lunch in the restaurant. The location was great, a peaceful location, great for walks to explore all the historical aspects of the fort with beautiful gardens and walking tracks and there was also a fully equipped gym. The pool area is also lovely with the choice of 2 pools. Access to the MTR (subway) and bus stations was a short walk away. Orchard road shopping was about 15mins walk. We had a great stay, thank you.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the city if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Lauren B,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning for your recent trip to Singapore and we are delighted you had a “delightful stay”.

We are thrilled that you found HFC to be beautiful in many ways - the service being first class, everyone being very helpful and welcoming, the lovely garden view room, comfortable bed, the evening aperitif hour, the peacful historical park setting, fully equipped gym, and two mineral salt cleansed pools.

We thank you for an excellent review and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Help out with a friend's wedding over the weekend.

The rooms we stayed in were amazing. Great view! Beautiful decor, and absolute gorgeous bathrooms.

The solemnization happened in the evening on the rooftop, having sunset as backdrop. It's simply breath taking.

Later on during the wedding dinner, i received helped from one of the manager Sufian to ensure everything was running smoothly.

Excellent service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear WhiteChase,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very complimentary review!

We are thrilled that you had an amazing stay with us and that you appreciated the great view, beautiful decor, and gorgeous bathrooms.

We are delighted that our park setting afforded a breath taking sunset as the backdrop to the wedding solemnization ceremony and we are more than happy to be part of your friends' special day.

Thank you for your kind compliments to our Banquet Operations Assistant Manager, Sufian, for his excellent service. We have shared them with him and he has been greatly motivated to do even better.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A luxurious colonial-style hotel situated on a hill, in one of Singapore's historical site. The beautiful furnishing and garden setting gives the peace and serenity that you seek, away from the hustle and bustle city. It is an excellent place to spend with your love ones especially if you are planning for a staycation. The location is convenient with several shopping malls and bars with just walking distance. The service was almost impeccable, except that there were some amenities that was missing in the room. Overall, the warm welcome and professional service extended to us were excellent! The stay with HFC was a pleasant one!

I like to extend my greatful thanks to Maggie Chow - Reservation Manager who had assisted and acceded to almost all my request. The response from her was speedy and communication are fuss-free.

Thank you all everyone at HFC and I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Do take note of rooms with "open" bathtubs. It smacks right in the middle of the room, jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotatoSpinach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear PotatoSpinach,

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent review, the title of which sums up our city oasis aspirations - “of peace and tranquility”.

We are delighted that you found so much to love about Hotel Fort Canning - the heritage building, the historical park setting, the peace and serenity, the beautiful funishings, the convenient location, the impeccable service, and the warm welcome.

Maggie Chow, our Reservations Manager, would like to thank your for your kind compliments, and has been greatly encouraged.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Fuss free check-in and check-out. Our deluxe room on 3rd floor was spacious and clean. The bathroom was exceptionally lovely.

I’m not sure if the hotel preferred a tad of old and rustic touch because the hotel was formally a colonial building. There was a slight lack of maintenance and cleanliness at the exterior area of the hotel.

We had the ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign on when we went out for dinner. When we came back from dinner, we saw a lovely cake on the writing desk from the hotel for my birthday. As much as we appreciate the lovely and kind gesture, we don’t appreciate the fact that the hotel staff entered our empty room despite us having the ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign on.

The breakfast at The Glass Lounge was (sorry to say) terrible. The choices were limited and 95% of the food was cold. Even the porridge was just very slightly warm. It was nothing but terrible.

Generally, we enjoyed our stay despite the minor hiccups.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayeonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear sobeckscxl,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us and for your review.

We are glad you had a good staycation experience, with a fuss free check-in and check-out, and that you appreciated your spacious and clean room with exceptionally lovely bathroom.

We thank you for your feedback on the maintenance and cleanliness of the exterior areas of the hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologise for the lapse in service when our staff delivered the birthday cake to your room when the DND sign was on. We would like to reassure you that this is not the standard operational procedure and the staff involved has been duly reprimanded and retrained.

We would also like to apologise for your experience at breakfast with cold food. We have investigated and found that the warmers were inadvertently switched off that morning. The Culinary team has since stepped up their checks to ensure this does not happen again.

We are glad that you still enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a much better experience.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you have read the other reports, yes its really in the middle of the park. Think of a hotel in Central Park, NYC, yep that"s what this place is.

Very ideal for runners as you walk out and there's your route, no crossing streets, unless your looking to do more than an 8K run. If you want a harder workout, there's plenty of stair climbing for you.

The hotel room has all the modern necessities, everything you need to do is on the wall, from lowering the shades/curtains to powering all the electricals. Only advice for those that like to charge devices and leave the room, get an extra keycard as power automatically goes out once you take your key off the holder by the door.

Its certainly a fancy place but when I was there, it wasn't busy and seemed like staffing was also adjusted to the number of guest. I found myself looking for staff when I needed directions in the main lobby. When they were there, they were very friendly and helpful.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edjavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear edjavy,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you for your lovely review!

Yes, indeed one of our Unique Selling Points is out city park location and we are so glad you appreciate it. Many of our guests have enjoyed walks and running in the park exactly as what you have described.

We are glad that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, and we apologise for the occasion when there was no one in the Lobby to assist you with directions - as a small boutique hotel, we do not have a large team, and very occasionally, all our staff would be occupied with guest requests. We thank you for your kind indulgence when this happens.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel Fort Canningis a beautiful refurbished heritage hotel set in a glorious park. my room had a lovely glassed in sitting room and luxurious bathroom both of which looked out to the park. room was spacious and tastefully furnished . staff service was in the main excellent with a couple of exceptions. breakfast and service excellent, lunch menu , food and service not so good. bar food and in room dining menu not so good either. Daily afternoon drinks and canapés, a welcome and welcoming touch. Easy access to downtown and at the same time a world away from the hustle and bustle. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear carol t ,

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. We are indeed pleased with the title of your review - "a perfect oasis - hotel fort canning"!

We are so happy to know that you had much to love at our hotel - the beautiful heritage building in a glorious city park setting, your spacious and tastefully furnished room with panoramic views and luxurious bathroom, the excellent staff service, and evening aperitif hour.

We thank you for your feedback on the F&B offerings and service at The Glass House which we are looking into seriously.

Thank you also for kindly recommending Hotel Fort Canning to other travellers and we certainly hope to welcome you back again in your next trip to Singapore.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The garden setting was such a change from all of the hotels I've stayed at in Singapore. It's a short and pleasant walk to Dhoby Ghaut station and Orchard Road and also to Clarke Quay. the staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself is peaceful and beautiful and the only caveat I would add is: beware of the "concept" room. This essentially involves a bathtub in the middle of your room and a kind of "open plan" toilet/shower arrangement with glass dividers and doors.

Room Tip: Think carefully before choosing a "concept" room. The bathtub in the middle of your room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAR_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear DAR_Sydney,

It was lovely having you stay with us and thank you for your excellent review!

We are so glad you enjoyed our garden setting - our Unique Selling Point - as we are Singapore's only hotel in a convenient city park location. We are also delighted that you found the staff to be incredibly friendly and that "nothing was too much trouble", and that the hotel itself is peaceful and beautiful.

While some of our rooms are set out with the "concept design" as you described, we do have rooms with conventional bathrooms and toilets for guests who prefer that.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#17 of 317 in Singapore
2,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
1.1 mi away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#27 of 317 in Singapore
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#54 of 317 in Singapore
2,499 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Quincy Hotel by Far East Hospitality
0.9 mi away
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#30 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £156 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing