We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soo relaxing...”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #39 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Soo relaxing...”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful colonial style building, surrounded by greenery, creating an oasis in the middle of a busy city. We loved our room and really enjoyed breakfast, although we thought the range of food was limited. The staff on duty in The Glasshouse were very attentive and looked after us like an aunt or uncle you haven’t seen for years. One little gripe, with one exception in Little India, every time we’ve stayed in a Singapore hotel they’ve been quite stingy with the toiletries and this was true here too. We actually ran out of toilet paper at a very inconvenient moment! Please put two toilet rolls in the bathroom! Watch when booking on the website that rhymes with pagoda. On HFC’s website it clearly reads, “Aperitif Hour from 6pm to 7pm. Complimentary for all hotel room guests only.” However, on the website that rhymes with pagoda, higher prices are listed hand in hand with descriptions of rooms that include evening drinks; lower prices for rooms when evening drinks are not listed in the room description. This is implies the difference in room price is partly due to having the evening drinks, which can’t be true if the HFC website reads that they are free to all guests. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay and would visit again. We would also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelled1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear WellTravelled1892,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very nice review.

We are delighted that you found much to love at Hotel Fort Canning, from the beautiful colonial style building to the surrounding greenery, the lovely room and enjoyable breakfast, and most of all, the attentive staff in The Glasshouse.

All our rooms have a second roll of toilet paper in a leatherette toilet roll holder. Perhaps we should display it more prominently. We apologise for the inconvenience caused!

We have also checked the booking website you mentioned. The rooms with higher prices are for those which include breakfast, or for bookings which can be cancelled, or both. As all our guests are indeed entitled to complimentary drinks during the aperitif hour, we will be asking the said website to correct the impression that only some guests are entitled to the free drinks. We certainly thank you for bringing this discrepancy to our attention.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers and we look forward to serving you when you next stay with us!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    353
    108
    43
    45
See reviews for
133
575
65
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My boyfriend bought myself and him a trip to Singapore for my 21st birthday for the 2-6 June 2014 and he had chosen Fort Canning, seeing the pictures on your site made us so excited to see what the hotel was really like. When we arrived, we certainly wern't dissappointed! This hotel was the best hotel we have ever stayed at; It is so beautiful and elegant. All of your staff were so friendly and very helpful with anything that we needed and we hope the cleaners received our thank you note for their service too! Our room was amazing to say the least, the bathroom was beautiful with all that marble and the king bed was sooooo comfortable! My boyfriend especially loved all the touch features for the lights and blinds that you could control from the TV and the nespresso machine!
We really enjoyed coming back from a full day to complimentary canapes and drinks every evening, was very relaxing!
Unfortunately we ran out of time to have a proper look at Canning Park, we only managed to look at the large gates and had to run to the aiport straight after!
The only downside to the hotel is the million stairs and the hills!!!! We found the lift a couple of days after which was fine, but I think we definitely got a workout each day, which I guess we cant complain about!
You can count on us that we will be back as soon as we can!
Thank you Hotel Fort Canning!
Daniel & Tessa

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessaroselee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Tessaroselee,

We were very happy to be the birthday present for your 21st birthday, and thank you for a fabulous review!

We are very honoured to be the best hotel you have ever stayed at, and we are so glad that you had much to appreciate about Hotel Fort Canning - from the beauty and elegance of the building to the very friendly and helpful staff, the well-appointed rooms to the comfortable beds, the complimentary evening drinks to the heritage city park. Our Housekeeping department thanks you for your lovely note.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Decided to stay one night at the hotel over the weekend, just to get away from the busy city life of Singapore. Very nice location with lushest trees surround the property, really felt as if we have left Singapore. Check in was smooth. The first room that I was provided has a musty smell, the staff promptly switched me to another room which felt much better. The city view room was nice. Rooms are clean and decorated with very modern furniture and fixtures. The evening drinks was a nice surprise considering they provided a good selection of alcohol for free. The pool was well maintained, I really like the use of non-chlorine treatment system for the pools.Overall the service, facilities and room was fantastic. Highly recommended hotel in Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelking85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear hotelking85,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you for your excellent review!

We are delighted that you experienced so much to enhance your stay - the smooth check in, the lovely park location, the panoramic views, the clean and well-decorated rooms, the mineral salt cleansed swimming pools, the evening aperitif hour, and the excellent service.

Thank you also for highly recommending Hotel Fort Canning to other travellers, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My partner and I stayed for three nights on our first trip to Singapore. We found HFC to be beautiful in many ways, the service was first class, so very helpful and welcoming. The room was lovely, we had a garden view room although the city view was better. The bed and bedding was so comfortable. Every evening from 6-7pm we enjoyed drinks and canapés provided free for guests. We had a lovely late dinner in our room and a delightful lunch in the restaurant. The location was great, a peaceful location, great for walks to explore all the historical aspects of the fort with beautiful gardens and walking tracks and there was also a fully equipped gym. The pool area is also lovely with the choice of 2 pools. Access to the MTR (subway) and bus stations was a short walk away. Orchard road shopping was about 15mins walk. We had a great stay, thank you.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the city if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Lauren B,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning for your recent trip to Singapore and we are delighted you had a “delightful stay”.

We are thrilled that you found HFC to be beautiful in many ways - the service being first class, everyone being very helpful and welcoming, the lovely garden view room, comfortable bed, the evening aperitif hour, the peacful historical park setting, fully equipped gym, and two mineral salt cleansed pools.

We thank you for an excellent review and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Help out with a friend's wedding over the weekend.

The rooms we stayed in were amazing. Great view! Beautiful decor, and absolute gorgeous bathrooms.

The solemnization happened in the evening on the rooftop, having sunset as backdrop. It's simply breath taking.

Later on during the wedding dinner, i received helped from one of the manager Sufian to ensure everything was running smoothly.

Excellent service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear WhiteChase,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very complimentary review!

We are thrilled that you had an amazing stay with us and that you appreciated the great view, beautiful decor, and gorgeous bathrooms.

We are delighted that our park setting afforded a breath taking sunset as the backdrop to the wedding solemnization ceremony and we are more than happy to be part of your friends' special day.

Thank you for your kind compliments to our Banquet Operations Assistant Manager, Sufian, for his excellent service. We have shared them with him and he has been greatly motivated to do even better.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A luxurious colonial-style hotel situated on a hill, in one of Singapore's historical site. The beautiful furnishing and garden setting gives the peace and serenity that you seek, away from the hustle and bustle city. It is an excellent place to spend with your love ones especially if you are planning for a staycation. The location is convenient with several shopping malls and bars with just walking distance. The service was almost impeccable, except that there were some amenities that was missing in the room. Overall, the warm welcome and professional service extended to us were excellent! The stay with HFC was a pleasant one!

I like to extend my greatful thanks to Maggie Chow - Reservation Manager who had assisted and acceded to almost all my request. The response from her was speedy and communication are fuss-free.

Thank you all everyone at HFC and I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Do take note of rooms with "open" bathtubs. It smacks right in the middle of the room, jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotatoSpinach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear PotatoSpinach,

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent review, the title of which sums up our city oasis aspirations - “of peace and tranquility”.

We are delighted that you found so much to love about Hotel Fort Canning - the heritage building, the historical park setting, the peace and serenity, the beautiful funishings, the convenient location, the impeccable service, and the warm welcome.

Maggie Chow, our Reservations Manager, would like to thank your for your kind compliments, and has been greatly encouraged.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Fuss free check-in and check-out. Our deluxe room on 3rd floor was spacious and clean. The bathroom was exceptionally lovely.

I’m not sure if the hotel preferred a tad of old and rustic touch because the hotel was formally a colonial building. There was a slight lack of maintenance and cleanliness at the exterior area of the hotel.

We had the ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign on when we went out for dinner. When we came back from dinner, we saw a lovely cake on the writing desk from the hotel for my birthday. As much as we appreciate the lovely and kind gesture, we don’t appreciate the fact that the hotel staff entered our empty room despite us having the ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign on.

The breakfast at The Glass Lounge was (sorry to say) terrible. The choices were limited and 95% of the food was cold. Even the porridge was just very slightly warm. It was nothing but terrible.

Generally, we enjoyed our stay despite the minor hiccups.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayeonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear sobeckscxl,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us and for your review.

We are glad you had a good staycation experience, with a fuss free check-in and check-out, and that you appreciated your spacious and clean room with exceptionally lovely bathroom.

We thank you for your feedback on the maintenance and cleanliness of the exterior areas of the hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologise for the lapse in service when our staff delivered the birthday cake to your room when the DND sign was on. We would like to reassure you that this is not the standard operational procedure and the staff involved has been duly reprimanded and retrained.

We would also like to apologise for your experience at breakfast with cold food. We have investigated and found that the warmers were inadvertently switched off that morning. The Culinary team has since stepped up their checks to ensure this does not happen again.

We are glad that you still enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a much better experience.

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 312 in Singapore
2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 312 in Singapore
5,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
971 reviews
1.1 mi away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#31 of 312 in Singapore
1,551 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#20 of 312 in Singapore
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing