We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building, great service, ask about hot water”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #33 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely building, great service, ask about hot water”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here for a work conference in July 2014. Overall, I give the service 5 stars, which includes every member of the staff from the front desk, to the restaurant, to the cleaning staff.

The room was relatively well appointed. I had room 212 which faced the entrance. I had two complaints: the water in the shower wasn't hot, but it turns out the trick is to turn the handle in the shower the opposite way you think it should work. Several other work colleagues complained about the lack of hot water so if your room doesn't have hot water in the shower, ask for someone to come to the room and test it (I did). The other complaint was that the bathroom sink did not drain quickly which made it hard to use it.

Singapore is hot and humid and it was difficult to feel comfortable in the room. I'd suggest getting two room keys so that you can always keep one in the socket near the door to keep the air conditioning running when you're not in the room (for short durations).

This is best for a romantic getaway, it's less attractive for a business traveler.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces north and overlooks the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Doug J,

Thank you for staying with us and for giving our service 5 stars!

We are glad you asked about the hot water and were shown how it works as we would be horrified if our guests went away shivering and thinking we have no hot water in our bathrooms! We only wish you had also mentioned the bathroom sink as we would have been able to fix that in a jiffy, too.

We hope you do come back, be it for a romantic holiday or a business trip, and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    365
    110
    43
    46
See reviews for
145
603
66
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Overall, a bad value and worse ever service I have experienced in Singapore. I stayed in HFC for 5 nights in end of July 2014 for a business meeting. I had many terrible experience, the staff is very experienced. Every day room cleaning had different problem - one day there was no water in the room, next day no towels at all, third day no coffee / tea.

Hotel isn't designed for business customers as they only 3 (yes 3) hangers to hand my week of suites and shirts!!!

And internet speed is slower than a dial-up account.

What a shame as it is beautiful building and very nice location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnhappyHFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear UnhappyHFC,

We are sorry you did not have a good stay with us.

We were rather surprised at your feedback as we were full house during your period of stay and none of the other guests have informed us that they experienced what you did. Our rooms are checked every day after cleaning, and any shortage of towels, bottled water or any other room amenities would have been replenished, so we are very sorry that you found something short in your room every day of your stay. Each room is also equipped with 6 hangers in the wardrobe and we are happy to provide guests with more if they need. If we had indeed inadvertantly left something out of your room, we certainly hope you asked for them from Front Office or Housekeeping.

We are glad that you appreciated the architecture and convenient location of the hotel.

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in Fort Canning at the beginning of June for 5 days in one of their garden courtyard rooms. The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. the reception desk staff helped us daily with any enquires we had regarding tours or directions. Breakfast was great with a large variety of food to choose from. Location of the hotel was great, next to the park and away from central Singapore so it was very quiet.Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Roslyn N,

Thank you for staying with us and for recommending us to other travellers with your very nice review!

We are thrilled that you found much to love about Hotel Fort Canning - the very comfortable and clean rooms, the very friendly and helpful staff, the large variety of food to choose from at breakfast, the convenient city park location, and the peace and quiet.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip to our office in Singapore. It is a superb location, very private and a bit of an oasis in a city state which is quite densely populated.
I arrived very late or probably more precisely very early in the morning and the welcome was warm and genuine and no hassle, which is much appreciated after 24+ hours of travel.
The room was superb, and probably the best shower I ever had, an almost essential to revive you after all that time imprisoned in a pressurized flying tube, or airplane :)
Close to good restaurants and of. Of course nowhere is far away in Singapore.
Travel advice, make sure you have Sing Dollars, SGD, for the taxi. In autopilot, I did not and had the US view that a credit card was "the norm", if is not and the hotel bailed me out by paying in cash and had it added to,my bill which was very helpful and eased the pain.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonTravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear HoustonTravel4,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you for your excellent review!

Here at Hotel Fort Canning, we will do whatever we can to make your sojourn a better one. We are very happy that you appreciated our convenient location, the privacy offered, the warm hospitality, the comfortable room amongst other things. We are also glad to have been able to help you resolve the small taxi payment problem without much fuss.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Husband and I finally had the chance to holiday without the kids and we loved every minute. Hotel Fort Canning lived up to expectations from the moment we arrived. Courteous staff who went out of their way to help us, gorgeous room with a city view as well.
Location was perfect - walked through lovely gardens to the MRT train station and a huge shopping mall with heaps of food options. Also really close to Clarke Quay, fabulous for bars and restaurants. Taxis were cheap if you needed to get to the other side of town and were always available quickly through the concierge.
Our Room was gorgeous, modern and clean. After sightseeing in the humidity, it was perfect to come back to your room and enjoy the air-conditioning. Superfast WIFI as well, complimentary with our room.
We enjoyed lovely daily breakfasts overlooking gardens and Grace was a highlight in the restaurant. She remembered us every day and couldn't do enough for us. Thankyou Grace !!!!
Loved the 6pm Drinks and Canapes, free for hotel guests. We met some lovely people.

Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 865Shar0n_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear 865Shar0n_P,

Thank you for staying with us and for the lovely review you have written!

We are delighted that your husband and you enjoyed your sojourn withd us - from the courteous and helpful staff to the gorgeous, modern and clean room with panoramic views, convenient location to breakfast amongst the tree tops at The Glass House. We were particularly thrilled by your kind comments about Grace, and we have shared your compliments with her and she thanks you for remembering her in your review.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding function today at the hotel, staff and food were fantastic . But the day was ruined by the poor air conditioning !!!!!! The staff spend their time in front of the little air con we had and when we tried to bring the problem to the attention of the manager we were told to fill out a guest comment card !!!!! Ready !!!! That's how you trail and empower your staff to deal with problems !!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dhcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear dhcox,

Thank you for your feedback on the wedding function you attended, and we are delighted that you found the staff and food to be fantastic .

We are equally sorry about the air conditioning problem that led to a less-than-perfect experience of the wedding celebration, and also for the response you received from the manager of the event. The manager has since been counselled and we have improved the air conditioning in the function room.

We hope that you will not let this negative experience discourage you from visiting us again, and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you well.

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The heat is great especially if traveling from an Australian winter. On arrival it feels like a building charming old building that boosts gorgeous amenities...this experience was upheld. The staff really go out of their way to help you.
Highlights having one of the team assist me re packing my bags so I didn't waste precious time on my business trip. A+ plus for attitude. Helping with my bill and generally trying hard to give a guest a good experience.

If I had to find a fault the service at the pool bar is via phone and once served excellent however a little more presence to clear away after the meal/drinks are served (albeit was a very hot day) could have resulted in a top score there too. Breakfast ample and perfect. Take your duty free if traveling for pleasure wine/drinks in Singapore is very expensive everywhere the hotel was on par for all hotels.

One final point if just looking for something was my bathroom had a very small amount of mould on the marble but not at all unclean very clean and housekeeping is great-possibly just due to the age of the area. Having said that it wouldn't deter me for a moment to stay there again and recommend for a quiet personal escape or business in a beautiful secluded position.

Fabulous attention to detail as a guest and very welcoming attentive service.

Location beautiful taxis super affordable around $10 Sing per trip you will be told how many minutes until a taxi arrives when ordering usually 4-10mins. Drivers prefer cash and if paying by card do NOT accept Visa in Singapore.



Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 315 in Singapore
2,229 reviews
1.1 mi away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#30 of 315 in Singapore
1,627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#49 of 315 in Singapore
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.9 mi away
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 315 in Singapore
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing