We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great stay from 18/07 - 20/07/14”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #33 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a 3 day 2 night staycation recently at Fort Canning. Stayed in the hotel for the 2nd time and we chose the Deluxe Garden Room, 1st floor (the last time we chose the Deluxe Room, 2nd floor).

Atmosphere of the place is fantastic, every night we had a wonderful sleep and even in the day, the room is so cozy it took me and my partner a lot of effort to make ourselves walk out of the room. The only down side was that the outdoor garden was a little run down with the sundecks covered in stains as well.

Again, the service in the hotel is top notch, for both nights, everything was in order and the toiletries were replenished even though the first batch of toiletries were not completely used up. The staff were even able to assist me in purchasing a bouquet of roses in the night within very short notice. The initiative of the staff is deeply appreciated.

On the whole, I will definitely return to this hotel again for another staycation. But I will either choose back the Deluxe Room or try something different.

Z.m.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ZMChiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear ZMChiew,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and thank you for your very nice review!

We are so happy that you like the fantastic atmosphere of the hotel, the wonderful sleep quality afforded by the bedding, the cosy room and top notch service. We are so glad we were able to exceed your expectations on the bouquet of roses.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning for yet another fabulous staycation soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile



It started badly and got worse. It should have been so good, they have a wonderful building in Fort Canning Park, near Orchard Road but if you have no food, no wine, no brunch, no cafe and no staff then you're onto a loser immediately. Don't waste your time here there a million better hotels to stay at in Singapore.


We stayed here for a staycation as we do in many hotels on Singapore so have some experience of the great and the bad hotels of Singaore. This was one of the worst.


When booking they didn't confirm that their acclainmed Italian restaurant which did a great brunch and supplied all the wines and food for the lounge had in fact closed down until it was too late to find somewhere else and when we arrived this restaurant still has it's bottles of champagne and wine in the window and yet it hasn't operated for 6 months. It was like a ghost restaurant, always there, a reminder of what you could be having. Why haven't they cleaned it up and found a replacement? They need it.


HFC gives the impressions of not wanting to pay any money for anything, there was a considerable lack of staff anywhere from housekeeping to concierge. Maybe they didn't want to pay the Italan restaurant which has gone elsewhere for trade. Housekpeeing was veyr late twice, there were not enough towels in the rooms or at the pool, there was no one to call people a taxi, so guests who didn't have the taxi app used locally had no where to go to get one. A complete lack of care and service all round.


Their acclaimed lounge is a joke. On a Friday night of a long weekend it was literally empty. We were going to have champagne/wine/food here with friends but they couldn't do any decent champagne and only Chilean wines by the glass from a very small list of other wines and no proper food. Plus the atmosphere was terrible, emptyness. I have seen busier and more atmospheric libraries. So we went elsewhere after all you are spoilt for choice for great champagne, wine and food in Singapore but not apparently at Hotel Fort Canning.


The Glass House restaurant is also trying to be something it is not. I had to argue first with a member of staff then a manager in order to get one glass of wine that was Chilean! Seriously, in a supposed 5 star hotel? Eventually he found a glass from an Italian bottle from the outside area of the Glass House. What happened to what a customer wants? To compound this the manager even had the nerve to say that they were changing the wine list next week. Exactly how does that help me at that moment in time? Plus he admitted that people didn't like the Chilean wines and wanted the other ones on the menu, sparse as it was.


Their swimming pool would be so much better if they had more shaded areas, especially over the kids pool and a bar or something that at least distributed drinks and towels and not self service towels or worse you have to ring as we did three times and you had to ring for any drinks/food and even then they couldn't cope and said that they had to stop taking orders. Again no one at the pool to provide the service suggests cost cutting all round. Why no bar at pool side? There's plenty of space for it.


The brunch is a joke too. In a city that competes on the best in champagne brunches and the best in meat and fish they offer sandwiches, cakes and no alcohol. A joke.


Their big business is weddings and events and if you want a really dry wedding but terrible service this is the place to come. They could use many of the areas here for drinks, food but seem to squander it for guests who appear to be treated like second class citizens compared to those hiring the place for weddings and events or the "legends" club that shares the facilities.


The place is also not child friendly or family friendly at all. When it rains there is no where for kids to go. The rooms are also not cot friendly at all, literally no where to put them to enable a child to have sleep.


Don't stay here if you want to have any kind of good food or good wine or geod service  a good time!


Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
10  Thank ChrisJR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear ChrisJR2013,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your staycation with us. Perhaps what we offer does not suit you. Never-the-less, we have taken your feedback and will do our best to improve in areas that are relevant.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here for a work conference in July 2014. Overall, I give the service 5 stars, which includes every member of the staff from the front desk, to the restaurant, to the cleaning staff.

The room was relatively well appointed. I had room 212 which faced the entrance. I had two complaints: the water in the shower wasn't hot, but it turns out the trick is to turn the handle in the shower the opposite way you think it should work. Several other work colleagues complained about the lack of hot water so if your room doesn't have hot water in the shower, ask for someone to come to the room and test it (I did). The other complaint was that the bathroom sink did not drain quickly which made it hard to use it.

Singapore is hot and humid and it was difficult to feel comfortable in the room. I'd suggest getting two room keys so that you can always keep one in the socket near the door to keep the air conditioning running when you're not in the room (for short durations).

This is best for a romantic getaway, it's less attractive for a business traveler.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces north and overlooks the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Doug J,

Thank you for staying with us and for giving our service 5 stars!

We are glad you asked about the hot water and were shown how it works as we would be horrified if our guests went away shivering and thinking we have no hot water in our bathrooms! We only wish you had also mentioned the bathroom sink as we would have been able to fix that in a jiffy, too.

We hope you do come back, be it for a romantic holiday or a business trip, and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Overall, a bad value and worse ever service I have experienced in Singapore. I stayed in HFC for 5 nights in end of July 2014 for a business meeting. I had many terrible experience, the staff is very experienced. Every day room cleaning had different problem - one day there was no water in the room, next day no towels at all, third day no coffee / tea.

Hotel isn't designed for business customers as they only 3 (yes 3) hangers to hand my week of suites and shirts!!!

And internet speed is slower than a dial-up account.

What a shame as it is beautiful building and very nice location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UnhappyHFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear UnhappyHFC,

We are sorry you did not have a good stay with us.

We were rather surprised at your feedback as we were full house during your period of stay and none of the other guests have informed us that they experienced what you did. Our rooms are checked every day after cleaning, and any shortage of towels, bottled water or any other room amenities would have been replenished, so we are very sorry that you found something short in your room every day of your stay. Each room is also equipped with 6 hangers in the wardrobe and we are happy to provide guests with more if they need. If we had indeed inadvertantly left something out of your room, we certainly hope you asked for them from Front Office or Housekeeping.

We are glad that you appreciated the architecture and convenient location of the hotel.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in Fort Canning at the beginning of June for 5 days in one of their garden courtyard rooms. The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. the reception desk staff helped us daily with any enquires we had regarding tours or directions. Breakfast was great with a large variety of food to choose from. Location of the hotel was great, next to the park and away from central Singapore so it was very quiet.Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roslyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Roslyn N,

Thank you for staying with us and for recommending us to other travellers with your very nice review!

We are thrilled that you found much to love about Hotel Fort Canning - the very comfortable and clean rooms, the very friendly and helpful staff, the large variety of food to choose from at breakfast, the convenient city park location, and the peace and quiet.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip to our office in Singapore. It is a superb location, very private and a bit of an oasis in a city state which is quite densely populated.
I arrived very late or probably more precisely very early in the morning and the welcome was warm and genuine and no hassle, which is much appreciated after 24+ hours of travel.
The room was superb, and probably the best shower I ever had, an almost essential to revive you after all that time imprisoned in a pressurized flying tube, or airplane :)
Close to good restaurants and of. Of course nowhere is far away in Singapore.
Travel advice, make sure you have Sing Dollars, SGD, for the taxi. In autopilot, I did not and had the US view that a credit card was "the norm", if is not and the hotel bailed me out by paying in cash and had it added to,my bill which was very helpful and eased the pain.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank HoustonTravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear HoustonTravel4,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you for your excellent review!

Here at Hotel Fort Canning, we will do whatever we can to make your sojourn a better one. We are very happy that you appreciated our convenient location, the privacy offered, the warm hospitality, the comfortable room amongst other things. We are also glad to have been able to help you resolve the small taxi payment problem without much fuss.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Husband and I finally had the chance to holiday without the kids and we loved every minute. Hotel Fort Canning lived up to expectations from the moment we arrived. Courteous staff who went out of their way to help us, gorgeous room with a city view as well.
Location was perfect - walked through lovely gardens to the MRT train station and a huge shopping mall with heaps of food options. Also really close to Clarke Quay, fabulous for bars and restaurants. Taxis were cheap if you needed to get to the other side of town and were always available quickly through the concierge.
Our Room was gorgeous, modern and clean. After sightseeing in the humidity, it was perfect to come back to your room and enjoy the air-conditioning. Superfast WIFI as well, complimentary with our room.
We enjoyed lovely daily breakfasts overlooking gardens and Grace was a highlight in the restaurant. She remembered us every day and couldn't do enough for us. Thankyou Grace !!!!
Loved the 6pm Drinks and Canapes, free for hotel guests. We met some lovely people.

Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 865Shar0n_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear 865Shar0n_P,

Thank you for staying with us and for the lovely review you have written!

We are delighted that your husband and you enjoyed your sojourn withd us - from the courteous and helpful staff to the gorgeous, modern and clean room with panoramic views, convenient location to breakfast amongst the tree tops at The Glass House. We were particularly thrilled by your kind comments about Grace, and we have shared your compliments with her and she thanks you for remembering her in your review.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,359 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 317 in Singapore
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SO Sofitel Singapore
#30 of 317 in Singapore
1,746 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £153 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing