We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a home not a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
Ranked #144 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
jakarta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“its a home not a hostel”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

just staying 1 night last Friday at the hostel. Me and my husband booked private room for 2 person. the host is genuinely kind person and wanted to help you to enjoy your holiday by giving you advise at some attraction or shows in Singapore and you were welcome to ask him any question to made your holiday itinerary and we feel very welcome like its our home.
our room is very clean, the AC and the ventilation worked very well. the showers and the bathroom is big and very clean.
they also have free breakfast and free WIFI which works really good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank kittycat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    36
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
20
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked here initially fof 3 nights thinking i could find another hostel if i didn't like it. Stayed for a further three nights as it was clean, staff were brilliant and helpful, owner was the same, located near Little Indi there are tube stations nearby. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonTheSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Finding a good budget option in Singapore might feel like a quest for the "Holy Grail" (i.e. impossible). Travellers Inn is one of the options on that quest and we were pleasantly surprised. It is fairly close to the MTR-station and there are foods stalls in the same building as the hostel if you get hungry or thirsty. Room was clean and basic, and showers/toilets kept a good standard. Breakfast was basic with bread, jam/peanut butter and coffee. Staff was service minded and friendly. Only negative aspect: during our stay in beginning of September there were construction work going on right outside the hostel. So at 8am in the morning they would start with drills and heavy machinery. The work might be done by now..?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WollyMammoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stay 3 nights in this hostel, very friendly staff and clean bed and bathroom. Simple breakfast served from 8 to 10 daily, recent renovated, looked new. Air cond is switched off daily from 1100 to 1900, however very cold at the night. Currently is under promotional rate until end of the year. Walking distance to the MRT stations and bus stations. In front of the hostel, there is one bus station, take a local bus from the station, you can reach Bugis/City Hall area for shopping :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ckkhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I arrived with a late flight to Singapore, but we arranged a late check-in. We were a bit worried if there would be any problem, but when we arrived there was a friendly note on the door with a telephone-no for us to call so they could come and open up for us.

The hostel was clean and with nice common areas. The staff was really friendly and we had a great stay here! Location is good, only 5-10 minutes walk to Little India, maybe 15 min to the nearest MRT-station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived here with no booking after the hostel we'd booked had closed without telling us! They had no rooms available for us that night but allowed us to leave our heafty backpacks at the hostel until we searched around the local area for anywhere that had availability! When we returned having only found 1 nights accommodation elsewhere they let us know they had a cancellation for a private room for the following evening! When we checked in, one of the staff got us a map, asked us what we wanted to do and talked us through when was best to do what and places not to miss! We had already bought our zoo, night safari and universal studios tickets in advance, so it wasn't like he was trying to sell tours...just genuinely helpful! We also got laundry done for $12 whilst we were out for the day! It came back all clean and fresh! Breakfast time was busy with only two toasters....so my only recommendation would be to invest in more toasters or breakfast area....and also the coffee with condensed milk was awful! Aside from that, the place was ok, room was a bit like a cell, but the friendly staff sold it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraDee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Spent 3 nights in the female dorm. The staff is great, remember your name, help you with whatever you need. The showers are clean and pretty spacious compare to a lot of other hostels and they are clean. Breakfast could be a little better as it is only coffee, tea and bread with jam,, butter and peanut butter... The dorm is nice but a little small as if it is full, not much space to put your bags., But it has reading lights and a plug for every bed, air con and fan. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#163 of 227 in Singapore
56 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#52 of 227 in Singapore
290 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#43 of 227 in Singapore
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#38 of 227 in Singapore
402 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#13 of 227 in Singapore
484 reviews
Blue Jazz Hostel
#108 of 227 in Singapore
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar

Property: Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
Address: 290A Jalan Besar Travellers Inn, Singapore 208953, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Hotel Singapore
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing