We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very Homy Hostel”
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River City Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

over all.. this place is nice, homy, clean and very friendly people and staff. even for the mixed dorm, i still feel that i'm at home :)
i stayed from 1 october till 3 october 2011. and i wish i could stay there more longer. me and my husband love the over all, the room..the bathroom the living room.
the only thing minus is.. river inn is at 3 floor. so my advice, keep ur things short and not heavy. cause the stairs killing me

Room Tip: i am staying here from1 oct to 3 oct 2011. i think the place is very warm. is like living in my own...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikamarizka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for River City Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

All of staff were very friendly.
Close MRT and Marina bay.
Wifi very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im_business8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I stayed River City Inn 6N7D in female room. I had a experience staying in other guest house before, but recentry it has been not cozy and decided to change my bed in Singapore. Clark Quay station is closest station, but you also can use buses and MRT Raffules Place station in 10 min less walk. Wifi also works well. I must stay again my visit on next September.

Room Tip: it located on the 4 th story without lift, but there are so many kind people who help you to carry y...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronin_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hostel is well-kept, clean and has a helpful staff. I would definitely miss the girl at the reception she was very friendly and accomodating to us.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed in River City Inn 2nd time from 29th to 31th of Aug , 2 nights 3 days in Mixed Dormitory room. First stay was 2011 Feb. River city Inn is located just behind Qlark Quay MRT station and attraction like pub area which is along the river is close.
Along the river , you can see the Marian park what Singapore's representative sightseeing place. It takes from River City Inn by walking 30 minutes. You need to just enjoy view for 30 minutes and finally you can meet lion statue.
River city Inn serves free breakfast but yummy and Toilet , shower facility is so clean.
You can also use free internet included free Wi-fi.
Staff is too much friendly. Moreover Staff surely remember your face. It means Staff remember each guest face sincerely. River city Inn is clean and cool and peaceful.
You wanna travelling Singapore ?? Don't forget River City Inn.
They will serve great place for you.
I hope I can stay in there 3rd time in the future.

Room Tip: River City Inn has only dormtory room fo female and mixed one. Mixed dormitory room is available f...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoya0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We arrived at River city inn around 1:00 in the morning. Though it was really late, we didnt find the location scary for girls travelling in a foreign country. Once we entered the inn, though 'Ice' (not sure if the spelling is correct) is a bit sleepy then considering it was past midnight, she greeted us with a smile and provided each one of us with a glass of water to drink. She even helped us with our luggage and accomodated us very well. Our first impression of the inn is that it is indeed a very clean place, what we saw in the picture is the same as what we actually saw when we were there.The place is so ‘homey’. It was like an extension of our home here in the Philippines. The room is so clean, we were even provided with a blanket which is enough to keep us warm at night. The toilets and baths are also clean. For a shared bathroom/toilet, we never expect that it would be that clean since its considered ‘public’. These toilets/baths are even enough to accommodate guests without waiting too long. We also love having a free use of their desktop computers. Big thumbs up to the cleanliness of River City Inn, I believe this is one their advantage over other hostels/inns. We even saw ‘Ice’ cleaning the inn (like a general cleaning) one time when we go back at the inn during noon. The owners, Ice, Nicholas and his girlfriend were all accomodating esp. Ice who became our friend. By the way, the location is also really great, very convenient, very near the mrt station. One more thing about the free breakfast, we really love it esp the variety of sandwich spreads..I so love the blueberry..This is not just my review but what my friends experienced as well when we were there. Definitely, we'll stay again at River City Inn when we go back to Singapore. Cheers to River City Inn and more power! =)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevsyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The location is great! It's near Clark Quay and a walking distance to Chinatown and other major sights. A good place to stay as it felt homey and comfy. There's no lift and you have to climb three floors to get up there. But it's all good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is until 12pm in the morning. If you need to get a good quality of sleep, it's advisable to stay in a 4-bedroom or a private room, or bring along your earplugs as snoring roommates are unavoidable at times. There are three shower rooms, two bathrooms, and one changing room. Shower gel and shampoo will be provided. And lockers are available in each room for each traveler. But oversize backpacks will have to be stored in the storage area. Overall, we had a great stay and will come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoongPoongKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Quarters Hostel
#39 of 234 in Singapore
277 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 234 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £14 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing