We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hostel@River City Inn”
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River City Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Friendly reception, who are helpful every thing in the hostel. Great location to go especially, MRT, shopping mall, chinatown, Singapore river (Clarke Quay). Opposite with 7/11 hehehe. You can update your photo every night with free internet (2 PC). The noise level of people in dorm is very low.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajjima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for River City Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great place near Clarke quay and Chinatown. MRT is also near. Staff are really helpful and friendly. I slept in 26 bed dorm. However the noice was still quite low. Good common area with computers, sofa's, tv and fridge. Rooms and bathrooms are kept clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Antti_KP_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Location: Great Location! Near MRT (most important), near mall, near everything.
Staff: All of them are really helpful and genuinely friendly
Room: Clean and aircon is working fine!
Bathroom: Shared but clean enough. Not congested with people as i first expected.

Keep it up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Nice and clean place just around the corner of clarke quay. Slept in the 26-bed-dorm. Use earplugs and youll sleep just fine. Breakfast is nice, staff was rather distant and not too friendly when I arrived but the next morning they interacted friendly and very helpful with all the guests, so I guess everyone has a bad day. Nice place to crash.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

* Easy to find as very close to the Clarke Quay metro station.
* Friendly staff who 'live-in'.
* Great communal area with fridge, computers, TV and sofa's.
* Considering there are 24/(6?) beds in the main dorm, the noise levels were very low. My only gripe would be that the air-con wasn't very good and I had a terrible first nights sleep.
*Good location next to the Chinatown and Clarke Quay metro station, also, walking distance to many local sites, including Clarke Quay itself and Fort Canning Park.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpsbeechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I've been 1 month in Indonesia before I came to Singapore. The city is clean and so is this hostel! It's great. You have everything you need, Tea, Coffee, Breakfast, a hot shower, a great bed, very friendly, helpful people - great!

Room Tip: Its a dorm!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The service is bad,I asked the staff how do I go to Maxwell food center and she pointed me a wrong direction.I took off at wrong station,waste my time to take MRT again and money.
And when I checked out,I can't find any staff help me.I don't like the service.Hope it can be better and better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivihuangtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivercityinn, Owner at River City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Our staff is in the hostel all the time. We have staff who "stay-in" as well in the office. The guest did not knock on the office door when there was no one at the reception early in the morning at 6-7am. We also have bells for guests to ring should they need assistance at anytime. Moreover, we usually recommend guests to walk to Maxwell food centre (10 minutes walk). We have never asked guests to take the MRT there. There might be some miscommunication because there is not MRT station close to the Maxwell food centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Quarters Hostel
#38 of 234 in Singapore
277 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 234 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £14 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing