We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River City Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A really nice hostel, great location, staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean and simple, nice common area, computers for use, unlimited water,tea, coffee and hot chocolate, would definitely recommend, especially for traveller, it's a great place to meet other people.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

the stay at river city inn hostel is awesome.
it is situated right next to the MRT station and is close to clarke quay - where you can find a lot of bars and nice restaurants.
nice staff, quiet and relaxing environment!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antlo1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nice place to live. Warm accommodations from the two attendants (Cindy and the other one, I forgot her name) is worth noting for. Clean place, with all the stuffs (wifi, hot shower, clean toilets, etc.). I would definitely choose River City Inn again on my next trip!!!!!! The location is excellent because a lot of places is near on it.!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Ayet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had a couple of days in Singapore between flights, and were worried about the legendary cost of the city. Luckily, we found River City Inn and booked a couple of nights in their hostel beds. We found the hostel's location very convenient, right in the heart of the city. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to, or take the metro when we needed to. The staff was incredibly friendly, and the beds were very clean and comfortable. There were lockers for each bed, and the wi-fi was quite good.
Security was good too, with keycards needed to access the hostel. Morning breakfast was basic but good, just make sure you wake up early enough (by 9am) to get some! We found most of the bread for toast had disappeared by that point.
We really enjoyed our stay there, and would recommend the hostel to anyone staying in Singapore on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivercityinn, Manager at River City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your review! Breakfast is available from 6am to 12 noon daily. If the dining area runs out of toast, just alert our friendly staff and we will bring you more any time. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed at the River City Inn for 4 nights in the 26-person room. Though I was worried about the number of people in a room together, I found it surprisingly comfortable and quiet, most of the guests were respectful of noise levels and lights in the room. I appreciated having a power outlet for each bed, with an adapter and small light. The common areas and bathroom were very clean.

I would say that the wifi internet was extremely slow when I was there so it wasn't very convenient when I was researching sites to visit on my phone or ipad. Also the common areas are a bit dark and quiet, so there wasn't too much socializing in the common areas beyond breakfast time. I think they can make it brighter, especially at night.

Apart from these two complaints, I had a wonderful stay. The lockers and key cards were easy to use, breakfast was a good addition, and it was very easy to get to Chinatown for a quick bite and also the MRT.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed there five nights last February and really enjoyed it. Prime location; 1 minute from Clarke Quay subway station and 10 minutes from chinatown (which is great by the way, don't miss out). I was out of breath after the 2 staircases we need to climb to get there and the first thing the receptionist did was to get me a glass of water.. What a nice gesture! highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed at River City Inn twice, total for three weeks. Its located in heart of the city and very convenient. Staffs are very nice and friendly. Facilities are clean and light breakfast served everyday. It was the first time to stay at hostel and I was worried, but it was comfortable and I stayed twice!
The only one problem is that it is located on 4th floor and there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noopythoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
#171 of 317 in Singapore
55 reviews
Quarters Hostel
#41 of 237 in Singapore
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Met A Space Pod - Boat Quay
#19 of 237 in Singapore
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £15 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Ctrip TA so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing