We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River City Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are looking for a hostel where you can feel as comfortable as at home, that's the one you should choose. Very cozy, clean place, near to the mrt and city center. Very friendlly staff. Deffinetly worth recommending.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Considering the prices of accommodation in SG, this one's really worth the money. Although the room I stayed in is quite small (and I had to share it with 6 other guests), the friendliness of the staff and its location in the city were able to compensate. The hostel in Chinatown near Clarke Quay, and if you want to go to tourist spots, such as the Merlion and the Marina Bay Sands, they're fairly walking distance. Besides, with SG's highly organised public transportation, it's easy to go around the city as the hostel is also near a number of train stations.

Room Tip: Airconditioning is usually turned off during the day, so it may get really hot in the rooms. Just go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guillermojose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Second time I've stayed here. It's in a great location to explore the city and the staff are very helpful. Able to store my bags and get changed before my evening flight, on the day of checkout. Very clean and tidy, only downside is it's not the most social of backpackers but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in the 6-bed dorm. The place is very clean. The showers are equipped with shampoo and body soap. It was a blessing because i didn't bring any. The hostel managers were fun and friendly. Had a great time playing Xbox with them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rollni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed there for a couple of night. a big common room seems very big but after a whole day of walking you have nothing on your mind but taking a sleep. Though I with they have small towels (i forgot mine and had to sporadically look for one in Singapore...). Breakfasts are very good! Overall: I would stay there more next time when I come)

Room Tip: no tips. just depends on the people with whom u stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oleg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

i've stayed 3nights at river city inn singapore. the hostel is clean,safe with security key card to enter. the location is very good and most of the guests keep quiet in the sleeping hall,except some who talk nonsense matters in the hall, they should be talk outside. may be better if the hostel has a line to listen and to warn them. the host Cindy and Christie are nice and helpful. the price is reasonable and value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patarapong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great location, clean environment but TERRIBLE service. Staff, namely Cindy, were very unfriendly and would communicate with each other very loudly and abruptly. They would point and whisper at guests like children and would leave one feeling rather singled out. Other staff were just lounging around all day doing nothing. When trying to sleep at night, noise levels were beyond ridiculous - even for concrete walls! I was recommended to stay here by a family member of mine but would not recommend this place to anyone else. Take your money somewhere else!!

Room Tip: Go for the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rmak009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivercityinn, Manager at River City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We have checked with our staff and there may be some misunderstanding. We have dropped the guest an Email to clarify. We hope that he can reply our Email to clarify the complain so that we can look into the matter. We would love to hear your views and we take your views seriously as we are constantly striving to improve ourselves to make your next stay with us even better. Your satisfaction is our priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Quarters Hostel
#48 of 240 in Singapore
284 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 240 in Singapore
428 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 240 in Singapore
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#24 of 240 in Singapore
250 reviews
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £16 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing