We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the search!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NUS Baba House

NUS Baba House
Ranked #123 of 804 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An architectural icon and Singapore's first heritage house, the NUS Baba House showcases the interior of a Peranakan family home in the 1920s. Heritage Tours are held four times a week and are about an hour each. Tours are limited to 13 participants per session and advanced booking is required. Tours are offered on: Mondays - 2pm Tuesdays - 2pm & 6.30pm Thursdays - 10am Saturdays - 11am
banbury
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the search!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked a tour having read about it in the Rough Guide and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It's not the easiest place in Singapore to find as it's a bit out of the way and even the taxi drivers don't seem to have heard of it, but once there it's time well spent.

Tours are by appointment only and are at different times each day, which could be a problem, however looking on the bright side that means that you have a choice of morning, afternoon or early evening. Our guide was first class and was able to answer all our questions and the house itself was beautifully presented.

A possible improvement? - we would have liked to have been able to buy a booklet containing photographs (photography inside the Baba House is forbidden) and at least some of the information our guide gave us. As it is we remember bits and pieces of the history of the house but I know from bitter experience that in 12 months time my memories will be distressingly vague!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peranakan Culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a "by appointment only" museum but I had no problem contacting them by e-mail before my trip to arrange a visit. The house itself is a little out of the normal tourist traffic routes but an easy walk from Chinatown and worth it. The guides are from the University and very knowledgeable, with lots of interesting facts about Peranakan daily life.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Another excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This museum is another of the interesting museums showing the history and development of Singapore. You need to book in advance as they'd only take small groups of about 15. The tour times seem to vary from tour book to book. The guide was extremely knowledgable and her passion for the place was very evident. We went on the 6.30pm tour and then wandered down the road to Maxwell Hawker Centre for dinner. The museum itself is over three stories and you can get an excellent picture of how the family lived. It has been excellently restored.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good tour, combine with visit to Chinatown.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Free tour which requires advance booking. Very interesting look at the lifestyle of the elite Peranakans. Take the tour and then wander into Chinatown for lunch at the Maxwell Street Hawker (Tian Tian booth).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Chicago999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A fascinating home to visit and learn of the Peranakan Culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our tour (free) was a very small group with an knowledgeable, attentive guide.
It was an extremely hot and humid day but the walk to it was well worth it.
It helped us understand part of the history of the multicultural development of this special city.
You need to book in advance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean-Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NUS Baba House also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to NUS Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing