We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really for travellers...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
Ranked #137 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This place is mostly filled with long term stayers that are working in Singapore and need a place to live. We were the only people there for a visit.

The price was ok, but the breakfast was terrible, there was a mouse that seemed to have taken up residence in the kitchen and the bins in the communal toilets were continually overflowing. We did not have a problem with noise though and the staff were friendly, knowledgable and helpful.

Despite that I definitely would NOT stay there again and would only recommend it to people that I didn't like too much!!

Room Tip: choose another backpackers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seastar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

Ark 259 lodge very affordable and the facilities on the satisfaction level. A great place to stay and the people just lovely !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khairi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Security is very bad. I lost my I-pad and HTC cell phone there. I never come again.
Bye

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank HoaiVungTau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Staff very friendly. WiFi did not work well...had some late, noisy roomates. room kept nice and cool.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratonmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I am European and spent some time in SG looking for a job after my RTW. I tried a few hostels and Ark259 is where i 'settled' for a few weeks. The beds were comfortable and have proper bedding (duvet). The staff was always friendly and helpful and the location is good, only a few minutes walk to Mustafa centre. This place has a mixture of locals living there temporarily and Western backpackers. I understand some backpackers do not like mixing with locals but in all honesty i went to 4 other hostels and it was the same there, i think that's a SG thing,many Indians and Asians come to SG looking for work so are staying in hostels all over the city; so if you are European on your Round The World, just don't expect a typical fun backpacker's hostel and you won't be disappointed.
I would definitely recommend Ark259, it is a friendly place to stay and meet people and good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseaker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

someone in singapore told to me thi hotel . and everything in there is really nice . all of tourist and hotel crew is friendly . i hope i can come to there again :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDipta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I stayed there 2 nights and basically enjoyed. The staffs are very nice, friendly and helpful...Location is very good as right on main road and walk not too far to MRT...Bed is good, including mattress, blanket, cover, pillow...All smelled good...Bathroom was pretty clean...The only problem is 12 beds in one room and the door in my room is the common door for 2 other rooms also...My bed is right at the door, and any time any one get in/out then always made noise and couldnt sleep...though the location is on the main road but very quite at night, except in room due to so many people get in/out...
Anyway, except that problem then i would love even to stay there again, as the owner is very nice though....

Room Tip: the bed stuffs are good, the people there nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quyen224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#60 of 244 in Singapore
304 reviews
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
#170 of 244 in Singapore
108 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#41 of 244 in Singapore
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
#188 of 244 in Singapore
178 reviews
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#104 of 244 in Singapore
81 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#29 of 244 in Singapore
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Society Backpackers' Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Society Backpackers' Hotel

Address: 259A Jalan Besar, Singapore 208934, Singapore (Formerly Society Backpackers' Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £10 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Society Backpackers' Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New society backpacker's hostel is a clean, safe, friendly hostel centrally situated along the main road of Jalan Besar, five minutes walk from Farrer Park MRT station, and tucked amidst the colourful and vibrant food and shopping area of Little India. The hostel is in an old style building with a rooftop terrace that overlooks old charmed pre-war shops, modern buildings, condominiums and shopping malls. We provide a range of services to ensure your stay is comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your New Society Backpackers' Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Society Backpackers' Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing