We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and central.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
Ranked #145 of 234 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Nowhere is cheap in Singapore but you can save a few pennies by staying here. We had a room (2 bunk beds). Clean linen, good air con, clean shared bathroom. It was quiet and just a place to lay our heads but no character. If you are looking for atmosphere try somewhere else. Staff were helpful and lots of amenities nearby.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for New Society Backpackers' Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed once due to recommendation but never regretted my choice as the people there are awfully friendly and helpful. With the latest renovation, the place is really making every penny I spent worth..will never doubt if I ever go Singapore in future, Society Backpackers' will be the first choice :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I want to promote and to congratulate to the Society Backpackers Hotel in Singapore, Personally I was there and I give him a very special vote, for being cozy, wonderfully ... in every sense. To give the congratulation to his manager Terence Chong for s or amiability, comity, dedication ... and to his wonderful family. To all those that work there, being persons special and dedicated to the necedidades of the client for point, for his confidence, his help, in end that to say of a company that it cultivates clients based on love, discipline, cleanliness, generosity, amiability.......Also, like the facilities of the Society Backpackers do not forget Hotel in Singapore?, in general it is the situated brilliant one where you find a great comfort for his magnificent decoration and his marvellous distribution. Common zones where to be able to have breakfast, speak, share friendship with everything that one that comes there. Wide bedrooms shared with persons of the whole world, a meeting of culture, of friendship ...... Really not you podeis to lose if at some time decidiis to go to Singapour. A city with a captivation and a very sensual glamour that captivates you for the quantity of marvels that has, his people .... everything there shines, is spectacular, his port, his beaches, which to say of Singapour!!!.I thank for having found this hotel where his manager Terence Chong Is very special since personally he devotes himself that everything that one that comes places Singaopur's great smile, for his attention, for his simplicity, sharm, for doing that all sintamos as in house, it detaches his peace, harmony ...., you eat dudaria in returning to happen there my nights and days in the Society. I captivate this Spanish woman and I her fill with enthusiasm each and every of the presents there. Thank you for everything and you I give my mas congratulation for your hotel, facilities and the confidence, captivation and the love that becomes detached there. Teresa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess24_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

stayed here with 4 other friends for new year's eve. We made a booking at one of the hotel, same row with this hotel, but the room was given away and they refund our money. So we randomly picked Ark259 Lodge and it was an awesome stay. we got a room at the ground level, right next to lobby, shared bathroom, and pantry.

It was a big dorm for us only, comfortable beds, aircond, new lockers, and clean bathrooms. Its just that the location was a bit too far from city center - orchard rd, marina bay, etc. but its short-walk to nearest MRT station and good restaurants / cafes. overall, i would recommend all travelers to stay here and enjoy singapore.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haikal_Hazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the dorm room and really enjoyed the the air conditioning and the price. The staff at Society are really helpful and friendly. They were very knowledgeable about Singapore. My all time favorite thing was the blackberry jam for breakfast and the cheap beer.

Thank you for making our stay comfortable and pleasant.

We will definitely be back.

Julia and Tom

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A big thank you to the family team at 'Society backpackers Hotel'. You guys made my 7 nights stay in your hotel a very comfortable and enjoyable one. Your personal care and concerns for the guests much impressed me as many hostels or hotels are just too commercialised.
This hotel is just newly renovated 2 months ago and everythng here is almost perfect for a backpackers hotel calibre (cannot compare to a 4*star hotel but this would be a 4* standard to a budget traveler). Its simple and warmth decor with nice clean white walls, newly replace timber flooring, almost spotless clean envirmonement and most importantly clean beddings and linens got my uptmost vote. Good locale, close to MRT and shops. Friendly and ever-ready to assist staff.
A big thank you to hotel owner, Terence in allowing me to charge to his credit card to facilitate my air-ticket booking as my card did not work. Thank you once again and I will definately spread the good words of your hotel to the world. Keep up the great service and wish your hotel great success.

Cheers.
Ingrid

Room Tip: There are some long term stayers on the 3rd level but overall is ok. I was given the 2nd floor dorm...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Liked:

This is a very good hostel where we can have a good rest and a decent sleep at night. I slept here 2 nights with my friend and overall, we like it. We were given a 20-bed dorm and it is divided into 2 i.e. 10 beds and 10 beds by a curtain in the middle.

The location is nice as it is near the Farrer Park station where you can just enter the City Square Mall to go to the station. The cleanliness is also good and the toilets are fine. You will be given a locker with key [no need to bring own padlocks] and the toilet is attached to the dorm which make it convenient to go to the toilet and/or bathroom.

Hot shower is available and to enter the room, you will have a key card which means, security is also good. The staff is also friendly and the best part is it has free breakfast and you can have plain water at any time of the day. There is also a place for you to chill and relax in the front balcony which is also a smoking area. WiFi is also doing great.

Met fellow travellers from Indonesia, Japan and Germany apart from those staying for work.

Overall, this hostel is good and you can have a good sleep and/or rest with a cheap price.

Comments:

Overall, I liked this hostel. But several things that I want to comment are:

1. There is no individual reading lamp at your bed. However, this is not a big problem as at night, I am only here to sleep and have a rest.

2. The aircond is not 24-H. It is on from 7.00 pm to 10.00 am. I am fine with this, but I think an alternative such as fan should be provided so that travellers who need rest in the afternoon will have a breeze.

3. My mattress is quite old and thin. On my last day, I sat at the bed beside me and it feels that the mattress is so comfortable as compared to mine. But this is no big issue as I still have a decent and good night sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for bed which is a little bit further from the door, the curtain or the bathroom door as it is q...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kairulizwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#49 of 234 in Singapore
298 reviews
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
#165 of 234 in Singapore
106 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#40 of 234 in Singapore
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#48 of 234 in Singapore
508 reviews
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
#185 of 234 in Singapore
178 reviews
Coziee Lodge
#100 of 234 in Singapore
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Society Backpackers' Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Society Backpackers' Hotel

Address: 259A Jalan Besar, Singapore 208934, Singapore (Formerly Society Backpackers' Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 234 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £11 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Society Backpackers' Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New society backpacker's hostel is a clean, safe, friendly hostel centrally situated along the main road of Jalan Besar, five minutes walk from Farrer Park MRT station, and tucked amidst the colourful and vibrant food and shopping area of Little India. The hostel is in an old style building with a rooftop terrace that overlooks old charmed pre-war shops, modern buildings, condominiums and shopping malls. We provide a range of services to ensure your stay is comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your New Society Backpackers' Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Society Backpackers' Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing