We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for the price/etc”
Review of Moon 23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon 23 Hotel
Ranked #270 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It's a little out of the way, more towards the Little India end of town, and the rooms are pretty small, but hey - for the price it's a nice spot to rest your head.

Bed was comfy, room was neat and tidy and the breakfast selection was OK enough to get you started.

As I say, for the price, you get a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pancreas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Read from various recent reviews that were rather poor but really what are you expecting when it's already stated as a boutique hotel? Some 4-5stars hotel? Given the size of Singapore, you can't expect the rooms to be humongous. I'm not saying that the hotel was that good, there are the negative stuff but there are still positive stuff about it. Just stayed at the hotel for a night and here is my own opinion.

Pros:
- Small but cosy room
- Amenities were in good working condition (Air-con, water heater, tv reception, boiler, electrical sockets)
- Toiletries were sufficient
- Room was clean
- Design was posh
- Rain shower was unique, heater working fine.
- Bed was soft and comfy
- Staff were friendly
- Bugis is within walking distance so you can find lots of eateries around.


Cons:
- Only suitable for couples or solo traveler unless you are open to other guest seeing you in the bathroom. The only thing separating the bathroom and platform bed was a see through glass and there's no lock for the bathroom door. No binds/cover-up for the see through glass.
- NOT suitable for kids, the platform can be quite dangerous.
- Not suitable for business as well since there's no chair given the limited space, the built-in table is right beside the bed. Lights were dim so not advisable for work.
- The corridor does have a weird smell and the room did smell of smoke the moment we went in, but this can be resolved after turning on the air-conditioner after a few minutes the smoke smell will be gone.
- Website images are not truthful. No colourful LED so don't bother searching.
- Room can only fit two, literally.
- Breakfast too limited
- Location is in the middle of Little India and Bugis station, about 10minutes walk from either.


Many commented about windows. I stayed in a room without windows and I see absolutely no problem with it. Seriously, would you bother flipping open the curtains if there's a window behind it? or would you even open the windows and let the air-conditioning seep out? I see no point in a window especially in a place like this when there's no view around. We had a 'fake curtain' that covers a blank wall but if like i said you don't bother flipping open curtains, you might not even notice that it was a wall behind it.


My advise would be that you really have to consider about who you are staying with, given the toilet privacy issue, the leveled platform and small room space.

It really wasn't that bad. I had a pretty pleasant stay.
Would i consider it again, maybe, since it only cost $120SGD for a night with such good room condition.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Hotel itself is very clean but the Executive Rooms are soooooooooooooooooooo small you hardly have room for your cases or yourself !!!!. What you see on the net makes the rooms look much bigger than what they really are. The bed on one side sits against the wall making it very difficult for the other person to get in and out of bed - for an Executive Room you would expect a larger area. The price is outrageous - but then most of the accommodation prices in Singapore are. The Bathroom has no place to put anything like toiletries, the shower itself is excellent, but water ends up all over the floor had to ask for top up of shampoo conditioner not automatically done. There is a very musty/wet smell in the corridors these also need a paint. The hotel has a mini bar which is free and replenished daily and free cocktails - we didn't have time to partake of those.

Staff were friendly - hotel located in Little India - not that far a walk to the Little India MRT

Room Tip: Have to have an Executive Room otherwise you cant move
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeygirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Possibly the most disappointing hotel i've stayed at yet! I was thinking i'd booked into a hip little boutique hotel in the Indian quarter, but in reality I was only right about the 'little' part! The pics on their website are seemingly cropped and photoshopped and are nothing like the actual room, which was barely bigger than a shoe box and wore the subtle fragrance of stale cigarettes! Fortunately I was alone and stayed one night only as the room could in no way cater for more than one person and a small bag. On the upside they do offer 'free' cocktails in the evening, but I feel this serves as nothing more than to provide patrons with the inebriation required to tolerate this windowless hovel.

Room Tip: a good room will be found anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ariwahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

It was shocking, nothing likes those pics we saw on their website. We booked a middle type of room (not standard one nor suite whatever) called deluxe if I remember correctly. 2 seconds after enter the room: sit down, breath, shock. Smelly and super small room, no window, air con didn't work as I wanted: couldn't control the temperature.

I went down and willing to pay more to get a better room: staff responded impossible as fully book.

I booked for 2 person and she only cut 1 key even I questioned her, she said it's our policy.

Mid night, the room was freezing as air con running max, we couldn't stand any more, night staff moved us to a better type room (which was answer that hotel fully booked in the arvo): room a bit bigger, mouldy smell, no window and very dark.

Went to friend's room which was standard type, cheaper rate and he had a real window with natural light. Amazing.

All staff need to learn to smile, except the dark skin Thai guy I guess, the rest are all young, beautiful and COLD.

It made my 2 days in SG terrible.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was a trip on a budget and I looked for a hotel to suit. I choose the Moon Hotel as from the website it looked upbeat and funky. Damn I should have read reviews of the hotel. Nothing was upbeat about it at all and the only funky aspect was the funky musty stale tropical smell in the corridors. The room was average in size, unusual layout and took getting used to stepping up to get the platform bed area (and the step up is higher than a normal step size). BUT PLEASE TAKE NOTE. THE MAJORITY OF THE ROOMS IN THIS HOTEL DO NOT HAVE WINDOWS. This was not mentioned at the time of booking online nor when I checked in. I guess this was because only the rooms at the front and rear of the hotel have windows. I had checked-in in the evening and didn't bother opening the "curtains" until the following morning, and when I did was only to be confronted with a wall. I did ask for the possibility to be room moved to a room with a window. A staff member showed me an alternative but the room (at the rear) which was incredibly small (just enough room to walk around the bed) and no room for luggage at all. (Note, do not bring your dead cat to swing around in this room - not possible.) The stay was only for a few days, so I resided myself to being incarcerated in the windowless room. The only upside to this hotel - the staff are very very friendly and helpful. On a tight budget? Don't mind the dark? Only need the room to sleep? Then the hotel would be okay for you, otherwise I'd recommend somewhere else - that has windows.

Room Tip: The only best rooms are the suites at the front of the hotel. The rest, forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is modern, clean with a young staff. The room are quiet small but well furnished. The bed is extremely comfortable. If you don't have to work, it'll be sufficient and could recommend it for a short leisure trip in Singapore.
The breakfast buffet could be improved but once more is sufficient for a good start of the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DidierSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#153 of 317 in Singapore
273 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#160 of 317 in Singapore
569 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#96 of 317 in Singapore
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
#191 of 317 in Singapore
27 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#125 of 317 in Singapore
231 reviews
Little India
Mayo Inn
Mayo Inn
#190 of 317 in Singapore
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon 23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon 23 Hotel

Address: 23 Dickson Road | Little India/ Bugis, Singapore 209507, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £56 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon 23 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moon 23, a Boutique hotel nested along Dickson Road. Moon 23, provide 80 keys with various décor of either designer bed frame or the contemporary design both providing a TRENDY comfort, CLASSY modern & COSY feelings. We are connected via three main MRT (Mass Rapid Transit) line in Singapore all within 10 minute walk Little India Station- NE Line (Purple), Bugis Station- EW Line (Green) & Rochor Station- Downtown Line (Blue) . Walking distance mall include Bugis Junction, Bugis+, Bugis Village, Sim Lim Square & 24 hour Mustafa Shopping Centre. For the business traveler we are 15 minutes ride to major commercial buildings within the CBD. For the shoppers a mere 15 minutes train ride will take you to the fame Orchard Road shopping belt or Marina Bay Area (Marina Square, Singapore Flyers & Marina Bay Sands). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moon 23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon 23 Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing