We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Ranked #223 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“NIce and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

It was actually a pretty good stay with the exception of the male staff who was at the reception the next day. We asked if the restaurant upstairs is open and he impatiently told us to go check ourselves and returned back to whatever he was doing. Even if the restaurant is not part of your hotel, you could have at least spoken to us politely being a staff at the reception. I guess that's Singaporean hospitality.

The room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated though the TV can be slightly bigger. The bathroom is reasonably clean but can see that it's not that well maintained as you can see stains already. Probably will need a refurbishment in a year or two if this is not taken care of or the standards of the hotel will drop.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silveryz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your time to write us a review. Please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.
We are constantly working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we value your feedback to help us improve our service quality consistently.
We sincerely hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again.
Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    127
    102
    37
    36
See reviews for
65
76
88
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

it was my first time to visit singapore and i called santa grand from the airport to make sure of my booking. when i got inside the hotel, i was greeted by the staff by my first name (i forgot his name, I arrived at nov 29 2am)!. the location is very convenient. my room is small but very cozy and clean. i was greeted again by another staff in the morning and gave me a map on singapore. if i'll visit singapore, i'll stay at santa grand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jengalarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable. We appreciate your feedback that will help us improve our guest experience consistently.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!
Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The room was quite small and door lock problem in the comfort room. I requested for extra pillow by 3pm and the pillow reaches my room at 10:35pm. The location was great, near shops, all you need is just a few steps. I must say, its what you get for what you paid for,but then they should at least attend to every guests needs and be attentive to guests concers.:-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank princess_avenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad to know that you liked our hotel's location. Please accept our apologies that some of the areas did not meet your expectation during your stay with us. We have counselled our housekeeping team and encouraged them to take more initiative in addressing the needs of our guests. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we value your feedback to help us improve our service quality consistently.
I sincerely hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again.
Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Insects (probably ants) started running on the walls and my luggage !!!The room was incredibly small and stink. The carpet's so dirty that I didn't even want to step on it.The bathroom is a combined space of the toilet, sink and shower (you take shower standing on the floor getting the toilet wet and soaking the rest of the bathroom floor). .I didn't sleep well and was tired. The hotel is on Temple St in the middle of Chinatown and in a very convenient location.The staff was friendly. The price at SGD100 with taxes is too high. I wouldn't stay there again. I can deal with a small room and the layout of the bathroom but the insects are deal breakers for me. I

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding the condition of the room.

As the humidity level in Singapore is high throughout the whole year, we get the smell from the constant humidity. We have ionizer purifier available and activated during every housekeeping cleaning process. All our hotels are contracted with a pest control company to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. Thank you for bringing these issues to our management's attention and we have since stepped up our housekeeping and pest control effort.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

After I encountered a big cockroach in the bathroom on the first night, I went to the reception. The receptionist did not seem really surprised and sprayed some anti-insect spray into the bathroom.

During the night, I woke up twice because there were cockroaches in my bed crawling over my hand! I went to the reception again in the middle of the night, and got upgraded to another room (with windows and a safe, the old one did not had any of those). The next 2,5 nights, I "only" saw 1 more small cockroach.

I can only recommend this hotel to people who have no problem with sharing their room and bed with cockroaches.

Room Tip: Rooms with Windows are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 661Morbitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our management’s attention. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

All our hotels are contracted with a pest control company to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. We have since stepped up the pest control activities, and we thank you for the feedback.

We have reviewed the approach of our service crew towards our hotel guests and shall continue to strive for better customer service and relations through guidance and retraining.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We are a senior couple and stayed two nights in a Deluxe room in September and one night in a Superb room in October.
The hotel is very well located close to the Chinatown MRT station and restaurants of the Chinatown area. Street noise seemed to finish before 11.00 pm in September and was virtually non existent for our October stay. Noise isolation of the room from the rest of the hotel was good.
As for the rooms themselves we would advise taking a Deluxe room for stays over one night as the Superior room sizes is quite small. The beds are very comfortable and even in the smaller Superb room the position of the air conditioning unit was well chosen in relation to the bed.
Our only complaint was with the shower design in the renovated rooms of both types. The standard shower compartments have been removed and "open plan" bathrooms with no shower curtains have been substituted with the result that shower water goes everywhere and drains towards the entrance door and basin area where you want have to stand after showering.
The deodoriser smell evident in the hallway was quite noticeable and management might like to take a look at improving this aspect.
The provision of a free coffee and tea making machine with comfortable chairs adjacent is a boon for sightseers and was greatly appreciated by us.
Friendly and helpful staff in the reception and in the lobby areas was also a feature of this hotel and certainly adds positively to the experience. The room was cleaned and refreshed everyday.
In summery the hotels offers good value for money in a premium location in Singapore with the close proximity of excellent restaurants, shopping areas and the MRT.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our review only covers 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteanDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your comprehensive and objective review on Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown.

While we delight in your generous compliments, we have noted the improvement needed to our hotel premise so as to provide a more comfortable stay for our guests. Your affirmation to our reception and housekeeping team is very encouraging and we will continue to keep up the effort.

We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcome you back at Santa Grand.

Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The located hotel is very good one minute to MRT statiion and nearly to restaurant. The room is big for 3 people but the smell is not impress for us the bed is comfortable the bath room is small. The wifi connetion is a little bit slow sometime but overall it's OK.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Poko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel's location.

Please accept our apologies that some of the areas did not meet your expectation during your stay with us. We are constantly working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met and your feedback helps us to do better.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and we sincerely hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#168 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#252 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#195 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#187 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#269 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown

Property: Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Address: 20 Trengganu Street Jinshan Hotel, Singapore 058479, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is located in the highly dynamic Chinatown precinct. Fully intertwined with the rich history and industriousness of Singapore's early pioneers, this location brings forth the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and customs of the Chinese community. Blended into the history and culture of Chinatown will be the tourism and sightseeing benefits that make modern day Chinatown a must visit. Featuring relaxed and open "Hacienda Personality" of the Spanish countryside and in a location that immerses guests in a new experience, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is pitched to appeal to the western individual traveler who wants to experience all that Singapore has to offer - from the kampong sweetness and famous Chicken Rice to the exotic local delights Kway Chup noodles, Chilli Crab, Roti Prata and many more. Adding diversity are the nearby historic Sri Mariamman Indian Temples and newly opened Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum along with the many Chinese Medical Halls and shops that pepper Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing