We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Ranked #224 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Little can be critized about Service or the Quality of the room.
However it was not possible to Log into the W-lan with a Laptop. Others in the Hotel had the same Problems.
I vote the breakfast however the worst ever in the whole world: a tray with one in gladwrap wrapped Sandwich and one apple with no Drinks, delivered on a tray to the room is either the worst nightmare or the best joke. I couldn't decide which.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about our service and we have shared your concerns with the team for immediate attention to improve our guests' experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    128
    102
    37
    36
See reviews for
65
76
88
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Perfect Location for walking around china town and city center, and arab quarter and Gardens of the bay for those hwo like walking, and very near to MRT for those who wants to use the metro. There is no breakfast, but is not a big deal as there are a lot of places around. No real window in my room, but otherwise is ok. Complimentary coffee and cacao at the main area which is good. In my point of view a little bit too much money but seems it`s any way expensive in Singapore to find something good enough for less price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank moonrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We welcome your feedback and will definitely share your concern with the team to improve our guests' experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to having you back again at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I spent 2 weeks at Santa Grand Hotel in Chinatown. The location is perfect, it's in the city and just 3-5 minutes walk to the MRT which is very convenient. There are a lot of local cuisine in the area, tons of souvenir shops, malls and temples, so it would be a perfect hotel for you if you want to experience Singapore. The staff are really friendly and very helpful to attend your needs. The hotel looks old and very Chinese, it's like an old warehouse converted into a hotel, coz I noticed that the materials used are made up of wood and it's a bit dark inside. But don't worry, the hotel is well-maintained and is very clean!!! They make sure that they clean the rooms every day, change the towels and supply you free water!! The only thing I didn't like is that rooms are very small, even the washrooms. Since the hotel is old and the flooring is made up of wood, I could hear the people next to my room, I could even hear their shower!!!! Overall this is a hotel good value for money and recommend it to everyone!! perfect for travelers!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeZander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our service and we have shared your concerns with the team for immediate attention to improve our guests' experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Good
hotel is very near to MRT which make it a convenience stay.
a lot of nearby restaurant and shop selling souvenir, so you don't have to walk that far to buy souvenir.

The not Good
Not many taxi know where the hotel is so that could be trouble.
I booked family room but it was a bit smaller than how it look in the picture.

Overall it was a good stay, but I expected more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will work hard to improve our service and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products consistently.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to having you back again at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I have just spent the last 2 months traveling accross SE Asia with my boyfriend and this is the worst, most inconsiderate hotel we have come across.
Tiny, tiny rooms, less that a foot between the bed corner and the wall, meaning we climb an obstacle course to get into bed.
We ordered a room chnage due to the loud street construction outside. Couldnt even hear ourselves speak to each other in the room.
During the change they completly broke the wheels off my suite case. Making it impossible! To move. Also the main handle was broken too, so its now a 25kg lump of impossible to move clothes. How am I meant to take it through the airport?!
What they did to help, write a note about it to tell the bell boy to take better care.
Pathetic.
It also reaks of Durian fruit and cheap bleach. Burning our nostrils.
The showers are covered in slime.
Paper thin walls.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The hotel is a refurbished conservation house that was built in the early years where the nostalgic Chinatown’s look and feel are retained, including the layout and size of our rooms. We regret the construction noise outside the hotel due to the upgrading of the Chinatown Street commissioned by the Singapore Tourism Board, something really beyond our control. I am glad that the change of room resolved this issue. It is unfortunate that your suite case wheels were coming loose as our bellhop had highlighted to you during check-in, and it eventually broke in the process of moving. For the convenience of continuing your journey, we had out of goodwill replaced a brand new case on our account.
We appreciate your feedback about the showers and housekeeping standard and will strive for further improvement. We thank you for your patronage.
Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Location is great, in the center of Chinatown, close to many public transport facilities, restaurants and night market. Wifi speed is excellent.

Rooms/bathrooms are very small, but in Singapore this is quite general. There were some cockroaches in the bathroom during the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szilva_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We are sorry to hear about your pest encounter during your stay.

All our hotels are contracted with a pest control company to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. We have since stepped up the pest control activities, and we thank you for the feedback.

We thank you for your understanding and look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nice and clean, great location, next to shopping and great eating. Interesting decoration with sitting area and a great coffee/tea machine for free coffee. The room very small, nice bed and clean and well lighted bathroom, with plenty of hot water. We were going on a cruise and wanted to go spend a few days in Singapore first. The Xmas decoration on Orchard road are great and they have finished the Gardens by the Bay which was super. We never spent 5 hours in a greenhouse before, yes it is that big..... The Rainforest dome was huge also, so big we did not have enough time to look at the outside gardens, it would be a two day visit. Then we walked to the Sands hotel/casino for shopping and lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomloughney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotels location. Yes indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown features a relaxed and open "Hacienda Personality" of the Spanish countryside.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#165 of 306 in Singapore
338 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#255 of 306 in Singapore
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#191 of 306 in Singapore
92 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#268 of 306 in Singapore
190 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#175 of 306 in Singapore
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown

Property: Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Address: 20 Trengganu Street Jinshan Hotel, Singapore 058479, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is located in the highly dynamic Chinatown precinct. Fully intertwined with the rich history and industriousness of Singapore's early pioneers, this location brings forth the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and customs of the Chinese community. Blended into the history and culture of Chinatown will be the tourism and sightseeing benefits that make modern day Chinatown a must visit. Featuring relaxed and open "Hacienda Personality" of the Spanish countryside and in a location that immerses guests in a new experience, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is pitched to appeal to the western individual traveler who wants to experience all that Singapore has to offer - from the kampong sweetness and famous Chicken Rice to the exotic local delights Kway Chup noodles, Chilli Crab, Roti Prata and many more. Adding diversity are the nearby historic Sri Mariamman Indian Temples and newly opened Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum along with the many Chinese Medical Halls and shops that pepper Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing